Montana Car Insurance
If you are seeking details about auto insurance in Montana, you are in the right place. Here you will find information about the kind of coverage you need to drive in Montana, as well as the penalties that apply for driving without the correct insurance. This page will give you all the information you need to help you purchase suitable auto insurance in Montana.
Mandatory insurance laws in Montana
Everyone who drives in Montana is required by law to have insurance. In the following situations, you must be able to prove that you have a suitable insurance policy:
- When a police officer asks to see proof of insurance
- After an auto accident
- When you register your car
- When you renew your car registration
- When you have your car inspected
During traffic stops, Montana troopers can either request a proof of insurance card or use the Montana Insurance Verification System (MITVS). This online system provides information about the insurance status of vehicles according to their registered Vehicle Number and plate number.
Minimum Montana coverage requirements
Montana law requires drivers to have insurance policies that provide a minimum amount of coverage. Here are the minimum required liability limits in this state:
|Type of Coverage||Required Minimum|
|Bodily injury||$25,000 per person|
|Bodily injury||$50,000 per accident|
The purpose of liability coverage is to cover the costs of repairing property and paying hospital bills for people who are injured. In the event that you or someone driving your car is responsible for causing an accident, liability coverage will ensure that these costs are met. All insurance policies have a cap on the amount of liability coverage that the insurance company will provide.
In Montana, all auto insurance policies must have a cap of at least $50,000 on bodily injury liability coverage. They must also provide at least $20,000 of property liability coverage.
The table above shows the minimum requirements for liability coverage. However, it might be a good idea to purchase an auto insurance policy that provides more than the state's legal minimum. Insurance policies that provide more liability coverage can give you peace of mind that you will never be left facing costs that are not covered by your policy.
In addition to liability coverage, which only covers the accident victims' medical bills and repair costs, you may also want to purchase a policy that provides coverage for your vehicle and your medical bills if you are responsible for the accident.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Montana
If you drive without the correct level of auto insurance in Montana, you could end up having to pay out of pocket for the medical bills and repair costs experienced by any victims in an accident you cause. Fines and other penalties could also apply.
Driving with no auto insurance in Montana is a misdemeanor. The penalty for a first offense can be anywhere between $250 and $500. Penalties increase for subsequent offenses increase dramatically. A second offense could result in 10 days in jail or a minimum fine of $250. You'll get five points on your driving record, a significant fraction of the 30 points that results in the license being revoked.
A third offense can result in both a fine of $500 and a jail term of up to six months.
How auto insurance claims work in Montana
Montana uses a fault-based system of assigning financial responsibilities following an auto accident. The person who caused the car accident is responsible for all resulting harms. That means that if you are responsible for an accident, anyone who is hurt can claim damages from you. Therefore, it is important to have adequate insurance coverage in place to cover this liability.
If you are hurt in an accident in Montana, you can file a claim with your own insurance company. If the accident was the other driver's fault, your insurer will file a claim to recoup the costs from the at-fault driver's insurance. You can alternatively file a third-party claim with the other driver's insurance carrier. There is also the option to pursue a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
Montana auto insurance rates
The good news for Montana drivers is that auto insurance rates here are on the lower side of average. You will pay less for auto insurance in Montana than in most other states. However, there are several factors that can affect how much you individually pay.
- Driving record
- Years of driving
- Annual mileage
- Vehicle make and model
- Credit history
- Claims history
Auto insurance discounts in Montana
AARP members can get discounts on many auto insurance policies in Montana. By joining this organization, you can save money on your insurance as an older American.
As in all states, the best way to reduce your auto insurance rates is to shop around for Montana insurance quotes. Every time you renew your insurance, take the time to check out the alternatives to your current policy. There are insurers out there who can offer excellent deals on auto insurance to drivers of all backgrounds, including drivers who are relatively inexperienced or who have a patchy credit history. Start looking now for the best auto insurance prices in Montana.