Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: November 7, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Connecticut

Speeding is a traffic infraction in the Constitution State

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In Connecticut, a whopping 110 out of 283 fatal motor vehicle crashes in 2021 involved speeding — a rate of nearly 40 percent. But speeding isn’t just dangerous; it’s also illegal and costly, both in terms of fines and increased car insurance rates. Given that Connecticut already has higher-than-average car insurance costs, getting car insurance as a high-risk driver is even more expensive.

How Speeding Tickets Affect Insurance Rates for Drivers

Connecticut car insurance premiums increase by an average of 25 percent after a driver gets a speeding ticket. However, your exact increase might range anywhere from 3 to 86 percent, and prices will differ based on your demographics, ZIP code, and the rest of your driving history. Compare rates from multiple car insurance companies to see which can give you the lowest auto insurance quote after you’ve been caught speeding.

Average annual cost of car insurance in Connecticut by provider With clean record With speeding ticket on record Percentage difference
Overall $1,637 $2,042 25%
Allstate $1,003 $1,515 51%
Amica $932 $1,255 35%
GEICO $771 $934 21%
Nationwide $1,113 $1,146 3%
Progressive $1,286 $2,395 86%
State Farm $1,050 $1,216 16%
USAA $882 $1,425 62%


While USAA has the lowest average prices by a long shot, keep in mind that its insurance is available only to military members, veterans, and their families.

How to Lower the Cost of Car Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

Now that you have a speeding violation on your record, insurance companies will view you as a high-risk driver, justifying higher rates. But there are ways to lower the cost of auto insurance even after getting a speeding ticket.

  1. Buy minimum coverage. The cheapest option is getting the minimum coverage required only, which in Connecticut is as follows:
    • Bodily injury liability per person: $25,000
    • Bodily injury liability per accident: $50,000
    • Property damage liability per accident: $25,000
    • Uninsured/underinsured motorist per person: $25,000
    • Uninsured/underinsured motorist per accident: $50,0001
      But keep in mind that minimum coverage will not cover your property damages or medical payments from accidents you cause. For that, you’d need full coverage, which includes medical payments, comprehensive, and collision coverage, and thus costs more money.
  2. Ask for discounts. Insurance providers will charge you less for various actions. For example, there’s a good driver discount available with many companies, as well as a discount for not having a single insurance claim in a given period of time. Check your insurer’s website or ask your insurance agent to see what’s available.
  3. Take a senior accident prevention course. Per Connecticut law, senior drivers age 60 and older can take accident prevention courses to receive insurance discounts of at least 5 percent for at least two years.2 Make sure you complete the course within one year of applying for the discount.

If you aren’t happy with your current insurance provider, comparing quotes is easy and free, and it won’t affect your credit score.

Cost of Speeding Ticket in Connecticut

Speeding is a traffic infraction in Connecticut, meaning it’s punishable by fines only. See below for the fines by speed, but keep in mind that these don’t include fines for trucks on state highways.3

Miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit Fine Fine for speeding in a construction, utility, traffic, fire station, or school zone Fine for speeding in a construction, utility, traffic, or fire station zone and a school zone
1-9 $162 $212 $262
10 $167 $220 $273
11 $171 $227 $283
12 $177 $236 $295
13 $181 $243 $305
14 $187 $252 $317
15 $191 $259 $327
16 $196 $267 $338
17 $201 $275 $349
18 $206 $283 $360
19 $210 $290 $370
20 $216 $299 $382
21 $220 $306 $392
22 and over $226 $316 $406

If you’re driving on a multiple-lane, limited-access highway, you can get fined based on your actual speed as opposed to how many miles per hour over the limit you were going.

Actual speed in miles per hour on multiple-lane, limited-access highways Fine Fine in a construction, utility, traffic, or fire station zone
71-75 $228 $328
76-80 $269 $394
81-85 $309 $459
Endangering occupants of motor vehicles other than trucks $328 $428

For speeding teen drivers age 16 to 17 who drive 20 miles per hour or more over the limit, the police will seize their license or permit for 48 hours and could even impound their vehicle.4

What to Do If You Get a Speeding Ticket

Once you receive a speeding ticket, you must respond to it by the answer date listed on the citation. If you don’t, the DMV will suspend your license, and you’ll owe an additional $60 on top of your fines. Plus, the prosecutor will charge you with“failure to pay or plead” and will issue a warrant for your arrest. Below are your response options.

Pay the Ticket

For most people, paying for the ticket is the easiest route. You can do so in one of two ways:

  • Online:
  • Mail: Pay by check or money order, which should include your ticket number and be made payable to “Clerk of Superior Court.” Send it, along with your ticket, to the following address:
    • Centralized Infractions Bureau
    • P.O. Box 5044
    • Hartford, Connecticut 06102-5044

Paying the ticket means you’re pleading no contest, which means you’re neither admitting nor denying the charges. Legally, however, it’s similar to a guilty plea.


Paying the fine means no points will be added to your driving record. Still, insurance companies will be able to see if you have paid a fine and been found guilty, so they could still raise your rates even without any additional points.

Do the Online Ticket Review Program

Think you didn’t deserve the speeding ticket? To avoid going to court to fight it, you can check if you’re eligible for the Online Ticket Review Program. Using the same link you would to pay your ticket, you can see if you’re eligible.

If you are, a prosecutor will review the facts of the case online, and you’ll get notified of their decision in four to five weeks. Below are the possible outcomes:

  • Noelle: The courts will dispose of your case and will not prosecute you, meaning you don’t have to pay anything or appear in court.
  • Transfer: The prosecutor is transferring your case to the court, where it will be tried.
  • Offer: The prosecutor makes you an offer, like reduced fees or fines.

You can choose to accept or decline your offer. If you reject it, your ticket will be transferred to the courts, and you’ll get a court date via mail.

Plead Not Guilty

Plead not guilty using the same link you can pay your ticket with, via the mailing address on the back of your ticket, or by calling the Centralized Infractions Bureau at 860-263-2750 (weekdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET). You will receive a court date several months out. If you’re found guilty at the hearing, you’ll have to pay court costs and other fees in addition to the fines.

Other Traffic Violations That Affect Car Insurance

Speeding isn’t the only traffic violation that can lead to higher insurance rates in Connecticut. Here is just a sample of other violations from the state’s Motor Vehicle Code:

  • Driving without insurance
  • Driving without a license
  • Negligent homicide
  • Traveling unreasonably fast
  • Slow speed
  • Reckless driving
  • Failing to stop when signaled by a police officer
  • Operating while intoxicated
  • Passing5


Given that nearly 4 out of every 10 fatal motor vehicle crashes in Connecticut involved speeding in 2021, staying under the posted limit is your best bet for getting where you need to go safely. Not to mention, you’ll see much lower rates on car insurance with a clean driving record. Keep reading our frequently asked questions below to learn more about speeding in the Constitution State.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does a speeding ticket stay on your driving record in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, most traffic violations, like speeding tickets, remain on your record for three years. However, more serious speeding violations, like endangering other vehicle occupants with your speed, could stay on your record for up to 10 years, according to the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

How do I get out of a speeding ticket in Connecticut?

To potentially get out of a speeding ticket in Connecticut, participate in the Online Ticket Review Program if you’re eligible. Check your eligibility at

In the best-case scenario, the prosecutor will review the ticket and throw out the case. However, if you’re not eligible or you want to fight a guilty outcome, you will have to reject any offer you receive and go to court. But keep in mind that anytime you go to court, if you’re found guilty, you’ll have to pay court costs and other fees in addition to your speeding penalty.

What speed is considered reckless driving in Connecticut?

Driving 85 miles per hour or more is considered reckless driving in Connecticut, according to the Connecticut General Statutes § 14-222.

How much over the speed limit can you drive in Connecticut?

You cannot drive any amount over the speed limit in Connecticut. Even driving one mile per hour over can result in a fine of $162 at a minimum — more if it occurred in a construction, utility, traffic, fire station, and/or school zone.


  1. State Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements. Office of Legislative Research. (2023, Mar 6).

  2. Gov. Rell Signs Bill to Encourage People Aged 60 and Up to Take Accident Prevention Courses. M. Jodi Rell Governor of Connectivut. (2007, Apr 27).

  3. Mail-In Violations and Infractions Schedule Penalties to be Accepted by the Centralized Infractions Bureau. State of Connecticut Superior Court. (2023, Oct 1).

  4. Reinstate your CT driver’s license after a suspension. Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles. (2023).

  5. 2022 Connecticut General Statutes Title 14 – Motor Vehicles. Use of the Highway by Vehicles. Gasoline Chapter 248 – Vehicle Highway Use. JUSTIA US Law. (2022).