Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: September 27, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Insurance in Texas

Plus, how to get a ticket dismissed and keep your rates low

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In 2021, 36 percent of all drivers involved in fatal crashes in Texas were speeding, more than a third. While it may seem OK to speed on expansive highways and desolate roads, speeding can cost you not only in injuries, deaths, and property damages, but also in fines, imprisonment, and higher car insurance prices. Just how much will a speeding ticket raise your car insurance rates in Texas? We’re here to tell you via our proprietary data.

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Texas

You can expect premiums for car insurance in Texas to increase by an average of 13 percent following a speeding ticket, a relatively low increase compared to other states.

Average annual auto insurance rate for Texas drivers Clean driving record Driving record with a speeding ticket Percentage increase
Average across all providers $2,083 $2,354 13%
Allstate $3,034 $3,059 1%
Chubb $2,809 $3,052 9%
Geico $1,678 $1,829 9%
Mercury $1,837 $2,607 42%
National General $2,096 $2,590 24%
Nationwide $1,860 $2,016 8%
State Farm $1,713 $1,924 12%
USAA $1,800 $2,038 13%

Keep in mind that these are just averages and will vary based on the provider, your driving history, credit score, ZIP code, sex, and many other factors. Also, expect to pay higher average car insurance rates the more miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit you were driving. In addition, coverage matters: Full coverage after a speeding ticket will cost more than the minimum car insurance after a speeding ticket.

Get an insurance quote from a specific company to find a more accurate estimate of your insurance cost.

Finding Affordable Rates for Drivers With Speeding Tickets

Finding the best Texas car insurance companies with a speeding ticket on your record will be difficult, as it designates you as a high-risk driver who will cost insurance companies more money. In the expectation of more claims, companies will charge you a higher premium. So how can you find cheap auto insurance after a speeding conviction?

  1. Get minimum coverage. The minimum car insurance required in Texas is liability coverage, specifically $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 of property damage coverage.1 Getting minimum coverage will cost you the least in premiums, although it may cost you more if you cause an accident, as liability coverage pays for costs outside of your vehicle only.
  2. Take a driving safety class. If you receive a notice from the Texas court system that you are eligible to get a ticket dismissed by taking a  driving safety class, it’s the best option. Classes are six hours long, and you can find one online. While you’ll still have to pay any fines or fees associated with the speeding violation, sending a certificate of completion to your insurance provider and the court system will keep your rates low.2

Penalties for Speeding in Texas

Speeding in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor with the following penalties:

  • First or second offense: $500 fine maximum
  • Third offense or subsequent within 24 months: $2,000 fine maximum, jail for a maximum of 180 days, or both3

Your exact fine will depend on where the offense occurred. For example, in Houston, the fines for speeding are as follows:

Miles per hour over the speed limit Posted zone School zone Construction zone where workers are present
1-5 $170 $220 $235
6-9 $180 $235 $260
10-14 $200 $250 $295
15-19 $245 $270 $380
20-29 $265 $295 $430
30 or more $300 $325 $500


Violations in Houston could also lead to points on your driving record: two points if you were 10 percent or more over the speed limit or if the speeding occurred in a school zone.4

What to Do After a Speeding Ticket

To avoid trial, plead guilty or no contest. However, if you believe that you didn’t break the law, you can plead not guilty and go to trial.

Plead Guilty or No Contest

With a plea of guilty or no contest, you’ll simply pay the fine. For violations that occurred on Texas highways, you can pay them online at the Texas Department of Public Safety. For violations that occurred on municipal streets, your traffic ticket should have information on how to pay it.

Not Guilty Plea

If you plead not guilty, the state will have to prove “beyond reasonable doubt” that you are guilty in order to convict you. From there, the process will have two parts:

  • Pre-trial conference: You’ll be able to decide if you want a trial by judge or jury, and whether you want to hire an attorney to represent you. You’ll have a chance to explain your side of the story, and the prosecutor will give you options like a plea bargain or a driving safety course. They may recommend that the state dismiss the charge. The pre-trial is your last chance to accept the plea bargain. If you don’t, you’ll continue to a trial.
  • Trial: During the trial, the state files a sworn complaint against you. You can either represent yourself (pro se) or hire an attorney. If you’re found guilty, you may have to pay the maximum fine plus any additional fees for office overtime, jury fees, etc. If you’re found not guilty, you won’t have to pay any fines or fees.5

Other Traffic Violations That Affect Car Insurance

If finding cheap car insurance in Texas is difficult with a speeding ticket on your record, the following violations will make it even harder:

  • Running a red light or stop sign
  • Failure to obey a sign or signal
  • Driving at night without lights on
  • Not wearing a seatbelt
  • Having an open container of alcohol
  • Driving without a driver’s license, registration, or inspection sticker
  • Driving without insurance


Driving without insurance in Texas could cost you a fine of $175 to $1,000, a $250 surcharge, vehicle impoundment, and license suspension for second and subsequent offenses.6


Following the posted speed limits is important, but when you’re driving in Texas, you also want to make sure you have the necessary documentation. For example, you need car insurance to register a car in Texas. Next time you’re driving in the Lone Star State, make sure you’re familiar with all the rules of the road.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is considered a clean driving record in Texas?

A clean driving record in Texas is one that does not include any accidents or moving violations.

What shows up on a driving record in Texas?

A driving record in Texas can include the following:

  • Accidents
  • Current address
  • Date of birth
  • License status
  • Moving violations
  • Name

How much does a Texas driving record cost?

A Texas driving record costs $4.50 to $22 to access online or $4 to $20 to access by mail, depending on what kind of record you want. Here is a list from the Texas Department of Public Safety:

Driving record code Driving record name What it includes Price to access online Price to access by mail
1 Status record Name, date of birth, license status, current address $4.50 $4
2 3-year driving history Name, date of birth, license status, list of accidents/moving violations in past 3 years $6.50 $6
2A Certified 3-year driving history Certified information, including name, date of birth, license status, list of accidents/moving violations in past 3 years $12 $10
3 Complete driving history Name, date of birth, license status, list of all accidents/moving violations on record $7.50 $7
3A Certified complete driving history Certified information, including name, date of birth, license status, list of all accidents/moving violations on record $12 $10
AR Abstract driver record Certified abstract of complete driving record $22 $20


  1. Auto insurance guide. Texas Department of Insurance. (2023).

  2. Taking a Driving Safety (Defensive Driving) Course. Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation. (2023).

  3. Penal Code Section 12.43. Texas Public Law. (203).

  4. SCHEDULE OF FINES. Houston Texas. (2010, Jan).

  5. NOT GUILTY PLEA. City of Boerne. (2023).

  6. Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act. Texas Capitol Statutes. (1995, Sep 1).