The FR-44 is the little-known cousin of the SR-22 and is available only in Virginia and Florida (although Virginia has SR-22s for certain convictions).
An FR-44 is a form that provides proof of motor vehicle liability insurance, much like an SR-22. The major difference is that while an SR-22 requires only the state’s minimum liability requirements, an FR-44 requires additional coverage as mandated by the state and is used for more serious convictions.
For example, in Virginia, you will have to get an SR-22 if you have falsified your insurance certification. But if you were convicted of a more serious crime like a DUI, you’ll have to get an FR-44, which indicates double the minimum coverage in the state.
In Florida, an FR-44 means that you have to have liability coverage for $10,000/$20,000/$10,0000, i.e bodily injury liability per person/ bodily injury liability per accident/ property damage liability for DUI convictions on or before October 1, 2007. For convictions after this date, the requirements are even higher at $100,000/$300,000/$50,000. This is much more than minimum car insurance in Florida, where bodily injury liability isn’t required and only $10,000 worth of property damage liability is required.
In Virginia, people must have $50,000/$100,000/$40,000 worth of liability coverage, twice as much as the state minimum coverage.
How Does an FR-44 Work?
In Virginia, you’ll be required to get an FR-44 if you are convicted of:
- Maiming someone while under the influence
- Driving while under the influence of drugs or intoxicants
- Driving while your license has been forfeited for a conviction; if you’re a juvenile, you’ve been found “not innocent”
- Violating a federal law or the law of any other state or local ordinance similar to the above crimes
Even if you live outside of Virginia currently, you’ll still need an FR-44 from your insurance provider proving that you meet double the minimum requirements. You’ll have to submit a letter to the DMV on your insurance company’s letterhead stating your coverage that’s double the minimum.2
In Florida, if you have a DUI conviction, you’ll be required to get an FR-44 for three years after the date your license is reinstated and your driving privileges are restored.3 This applies to both in-state and out-of-state drivers.