Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: September 6, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Car Insurance in Rhode Island

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In 2021, 30 percent of all fatal motor vehicle crashes in Rhode Island involved speeding, resulting in the deaths of 20 people. Not only is speeding dangerous, but it can also result in a license suspension, fines, and higher car insurance premiums by nearly a quarter. Let’s see just how speeding will affect your car insurance, and your wallet, in the smallest state in the U.S.

How Premiums Increase After a Speeding Ticket in Rhode Island

On average, expect car insurance rates to increase by 24 percent after a speeding ticket in Rhode Island. You’ll see these inflated rates as long as the traffic ticket stays on your driving record. Here are the average rates from specific companies:

Insurance company Average annual cost of car insurance before speeding ticket Average annual cost of car insurance after speeding ticket Increase
GEICO $2,459 $3,102 26%
Nationwide $2,421 $2,927 21%
Travelers $2,388 $3,391 42%
USAA $1,411 $1,609 14%

Comparing rates is difficult because companies use many factors aside from your driving history to determine car insurance rates. Auto insurance rates are not only based on your driving, but also your ZIP code, credit score, marital status, gender, and other factors. For example, a bad credit score could raise your car insurance premium just as much as a ticket.

How to Find Cheap Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

If you have a speeding ticket on your record, car insurance companies consider you to be a high-risk driver and thus more likely to get into an accident and cost them money. As a result, the companies will charge you a higher premium. However, it’s still possible for you to find cheap car insurance after a speeding ticket in Rhode Island.

  1. Drive less. Twenty-seven percent of Rhode Islanders who travel to work have commutes that are less than 15 minutes long. Another 18 percent of Rhode Island adults work from home, as of the 2021 U.S. Census.1 If you fall into either category, consider pay-per-mile insurance so you pay only for the miles you drive, plus a low daily rate.
  2. Get minimum coverage. Legally, you need only the following types of coverage and limits to drive in Rhode Island:
    • Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
    • Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident
    • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident

    Buying minimum coverage will result in the cheapest premium with any company.

  3. Improve your credit score. Car insurance companies licensed in Rhode Island give lower rates to people with good credit.
  4. Get discounts. Look for discounts for taking a driver’s education course, for older and younger drivers, for having good grades, for having safety devices like anti-lock brakes, or for having multiple vehicles on your policy.
  5. Join the Assigned Risk Pool. If you can’t find insurance anywhere else, you can join the Assigned Risk Pool, a last resort for high-risk drivers. However, once you go three years with a satisfactory driving record, you’ll be removed from the plan after one year.
  6. Choose a higher deductible. Choose a deductible of up to $1,000 on collision and comprehensive coverage.
  7. Drop coverages. Some coverages that may not be necessary for everyone include:
  8. Get the charge dismissed. Once you’ve had no moving violations within the past three years, you can request a dismissal of the charge and of fees, minus a $35 administrative fee and a $25 surcharge that you’ll have to pay for the dismissal. However, this policy does not include:
    • Violations involving accidents with property damage or personal injury
    • Speeding violations of going 14 mph or more above the speed limit
    • Commercial licenses

Penalties for Speeding in Rhode Island

Speeding on state roads will result in a fine plus 30 to 60 days of a license suspension.3

Type of offense number Fine for 1st offense Fine for 2nd offense within 12 months of 1st Fine for 3rd offense and subsequent within 12 months of 1st Maximum license suspension
Automated school zone speed enforcement $50 $50 $50 None
Speeding (1-10 mph over the speed limit) $95 $95, plus $10 per extra mph over the limit $95, plus $15 per extra mph over the limit 30 days
Speeding (11 mph or more over the speed limit) $205 $205, plus $15 per extra mph over the limit $205, plus $20 per extra mph over the limit 60 days

Violations that occur on municipal roads have different penalties. For example, in Pawtucket, expect the following penalties for speeding, both of which include a $35 court cost:

  • First offense: $130
  • Second offense within a year: $2304

What to Do If You Get a Speeding Ticket

You have two main options after a speeding ticket: You can either admit guilt and pay the fine or plead not guilty and attend a hearing.

Pay the Fine

The easiest option is to simply pay the fine. If it’s a state fine, you can pay online here: You can also pay through the mail or in person. Your violation should contain payment instructions.

For violations from municipal courts, contact that court to receive payment information if it’s not listed on your ticket.

Appear in a Hearing

If you do not believe you are guilty, you can appear in a hearing, although you’ll have to pay for an attorney.


Hearings are mandatory if you get three tickets within a 12-month period.

For your first appearance, you can either admit to the charges or request a trial, where you and the prosecutor can present evidence. If you plead not guilty, you’ll receive a new court date and continue to trial, in which all witnesses will testify. If you are found not guilty, the matter will be dismissed, but if you’re found guilty, you’ll have to pay fines and fees, plus any other penalties.

Appeal the Decision

If you’ve been found guilty, you can appeal the decision to the Appeals Panel of the Traffic Tribunal. File a notice of appeal within 10 days of the judgment and pay the fees listed on the form:

The court will review your record, but there will be no new trial or hearing.5

More Traffic Violations That Cause Insurance Hikes

Expect more expensive car insurance in Rhode Island after the following traffic violations:

  • Driving without registration
  • Driving without insurance
  • Driving under the influence
  • Reckless driving
  • Running a red light
  • Distracted driving
  • Not wearing a seat belts
  • Not reporting within 21 days an accident that involves injuries, property damage over $1,000, or death


Driving without insurance in Rhode Island could result in a fine of $100 to $1,000, a license and registration suspension for three to 12 months, an SR-22 requirement, and a $30 to $50 reinstatement fee, depending on the offense number.


Speeding in Rhode Island, or any other state, simply isn’t worth it. Learn more in our frequently asked questions section below.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do speeding camera tickets go on your record in Rhode Island?

No. A speeding camera ticket, while it results in a $50 fine, is not considered a moving violation and thus will not go on a driver’s record, according to Rhode Island House Bill 5981.

How long does a speeding ticket stay on your record in Rhode Island?

If you’ve had no other traffic violations within three years of the first violation, your charge will be dismissed if you pay a $35 administrative fee and a $25 surcharge (unless the judge or magistrate waives it), according to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-41.1-7.

Does Rhode Island use a point system?

No, Rhode Island does not use a point system.

What violations could cause my license to be suspended in Rhode Island?

You could get your license suspended for 30 days in Rhode Island for driving 1 to 10 mph over the posted speed limit or for 60 days for going 11 mph or more over the limit. You can also get your license suspended for driving under the influence of liquor or drugs, refusing to admit to a chemical test, and other alcohol-related violations.


  1. Commuting Characteristics by Sex. United States Census Bureau. (2021).

  2. CONSUMERS GUIDE TO AUTO INSURANCE. The Department of Business Regulation, Insurance division. (2023).

  3. Title 31 Motor and Other Vehicles: Adjudication of Traffic Offenses. State of Rhode Island General Assembly. (2023).

  4. TRAFFIC COURT FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS/FAQ’S. Pawtucket, Rhode Island Minicipal Court. (2023).

  5. You Have Been Charged With a Civil Traffic Violation. Rhode Island Judiciary. (2023).