Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: April 28, 2024

Speeding Ticket Impact on Insurance in New Hampshire

New Hampshire sets the rates for speeding tickets state-wide, even on local roads.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

Whether you’re cruising down the Blue Star Turnpike, heading from Massachusetts to Maine, or bouncing along the Central Turnpike between Manchester, Concord, and Nashua, it may be tempting to drive over the speed limit in New Hampshire.

However, even driving just one mile per hour (mph) over the posted speed limit in the Granite State can result in a $50 fine, another $50 administrative fee, and three points added to your driving record. You could also face a license suspension, plus more charges from the state’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Aside from the state penalties, you can expect your car insurance rates to rise thanks to those three points on your driving record. But how much do premiums increase, on average, following a speeding ticket? We have the information you need to know.

The Impact of a Speeding Ticket on Your Insurance Costs

On average, expect the cost of car insurance in New Hampshire to increase by 22 percent after getting a speeding ticket in the state. So, for someone with a previously clean record and an average annual cost for full coverage car insurance of $1,262, their rates will shoot up to around $1,538 post-speeding ticket.

Keep in mind that car insurance companies enact different rate increases for various moving violations. Plus, the cost of insurance following a speeding ticket will be cheaper for someone with a good credit score compared to someone with poor credit. In other words, how speeding tickets affect insurance prices differs for everyone, so take these rate-hike estimates with a grain of salt.

How to Find Cheap Auto Insurance

New Hampshire doesn’t require car insurance, so the cheapest option would be to forgo it entirely. That said, in order to legally drive without insurance in New Hampshire, you need to prove you meet the state’s Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements per vehicle, which are as follows.

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability coverage per accident: $25,000

For those of us who can’t deposit $100,000 in the form of money or securities to the state treasurer, a personal auto insurance policy is the only option. So how do you keep your rates affordable after getting a speeding ticket?

  1. Get minimum coverage: The cheapest choice would be to get the minimum liability coverage the state requires for insured drivers: 25/50/25. However, note that liability coverage only applies to property damages and medical costs outside of your car. For you and your passengers, you’ll need more coverage, or you risk being financially responsible for these losses out of pocket.
  2. Raise your deductible: If you have collision and comprehensive coverage for your property damages, increasing the size of your insurance deductible will lower your premiums.
  3. Lower your limits: You can also lower your limits on coverages like uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage as well as medical payments coverage, especially if you already have health insurance. If you have a $300,000 bodily injury limit or even a $100,000 bodily injury limit, you can lower it to the state minimum too.
  4. Drop coverages you don’t need: For example, you may opt not to have comprehensive coverage on an old car or roadside assistance if you can fix a spare tire yourself. This will make your policy more affordable.
  5. Ask for discounts: Every insurance company has discounts, but you may not be aware of which ones apply to you. Ask your agent how you can save. Most likely, you’ll be able to get discounted premiums for remaining accident-free, paying your policy upfront, or even opting for paperless billing.
  6. Bundle policies: Do you have home and auto insurance? Get them from the same provider and you could save money on both. Some companies offer auto insurance bundles with renters, condo, or life insurance, among other policy types.
  7. Use pay-per-mile insurance: Seventy-seven percent of New Hampshire drivers commute using a car, truck, or van, and unfortunately, the vast majority of this group, 70 percent, drive alone. On top of that, the average one-way commute time in the state is 26 minutes, the 13th-highest commute travel time in the nation. But if you’re part of the 43 percent of drivers with commutes under 20 minutes, or if you’re part of the 19 percent that works from home, consider using pay-per-mile insurance to save money based on your limited driving distances.1 Nationwide’s SmartMiles, for example, can cost only $95 per month, compared to a traditional policy costing $133 for the exact same driver.2
  8. Shop the market: The cheapest car insurance provider may be different from the one you have currently. Compare car insurance quotes from multiple insurers to see exactly how much your speeding ticket will affect car insurance rates at various companies.

The Cost of a Speeding Ticket in New Hampshire

The state of New Hampshire sets the penalties for speeding, no matter if you were driving on a state highway, rural road, residential area, or urban district.

Speed Limits by Location

Driving more than the posted speed limits outlined below will result in penalties from the state, even if you’re only one mph over.

  • Posted school zone: 10 mph under the regular posted limit
  • Business or urban residence district: 30 mph
  • Rural residence district and class V highways outside of compact parts of cities and towns: 35 mph
  • Interstate system, the Central New Hampshire turnpike, and divided highways of four or more lanes in Eastern New Hampshire turnpike: 65 mph
  • Portion of 1-93 from mile marker 45 to the Vermont border: 70 mph
  • Other locations: 55 mph


First, you’ll receive a fine based on how many mph you drove over the speed limit.

  • 1-10 mph over: $50
  • 11-15 mph over: $75
  • 16-20 mph over: $100
  • 21-25 mph over: $200
  • 26 mph over and higher: $350

Penalty Assessments

On top of that, if you were driving over 65 or 70 mph, you’ll receive penalty assessments, which can be as high as $400.

  • Over 65 mph limit:
    • 1-5 mph over: $65
    • 6-10 mph over: $100
    • 11-15 mph over: $150
    • 16-20 over: $250
    • 21 mph over and higher: $350
  • Over 70 mph limit:
    • 1-5 mph over: $65
    • 6-10 mph over: $100
    • 11-15 mph over: $200
    • 16-20 mph over: $300
    • 21 mph and over: $4003

If you drive 100 mph or more, the state considers that to be “reckless driving.” You’ll face additional punishments as follows.

  • First offense: $500 minimum fine, plus penalty assessment and license revocation for 60 days
  • Second offense: Fine between $750 and $1,000, plus penalty assessment and license revocation for 60 days to one year


In 2021, there were 35 fatal crashes that involved speeding in New Hampshire, making up exactly one-third of all fatal crashes that year, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.


You’ll receive three points on your driving record if you were going under 25 mph over the speed limit or four if you were driving more than 25 mph over the limit.4

Other Penalties

Aside from the fines, penalty assessments, and points, you could also face:

  • $50 administrative fee
  • 30-day suspension of license/driving privileges
  • Bench warrant for your arrest
  • $100 charge to DMV before driving privileges are restored

Your Options Following a Speeding Ticket

When you receive a speeding ticket, it’s important to respond quickly, or you could face additional consequences.

Respond to Ticket

Make sure you respond within 30 days of being issued the ticket, assuming it doesn’t require you to appear in court or respond to the court directly. You’ll need to pay your fine and any other fees. You can do so online, over the phone, via mail, or by a drop box. You’ll enter your plea when you pay your fine, as well.

Response method Online Phone Mail Dropbox
Guilty Yes Yes Yes Yes
Not guilty Yes No Yes Yes
No contest Yes Yes Yes Yes
Payment methods accepted Credit card Credit card Checks payable to “State of NH – DMV” Checks payable to “State of NH – DMV”
Contact information (800) 272-0036, (603) 227-4070 NH DMV

Bureau of Financial Responsibility

PO Box 3838

Concord NH 03301

23 Hazen Drive

Concord, New Hampshire 02201


If you pay by check and it doesn’t go through, the state will suspend your license and driving privileges and charge you an additional check and bank processing fee. You could also receive a fine of up to $1,000, up to one year in jail, or both.

Enter Your Plea

There are three ways you can plead.

  • Guilty: If you plead guilty, you’ll pay the ticket and face any additional penalties.
  • Not guilty: If you plead not guilty, you won’t have to pay your ticket by its due date. Instead, you’ll go to Circuit Court to defend yourself. You could face different fines and penalties if you’re convicted.
  • No contest: If you plead “nolo contendere,” you’re not admitting guilt, but you will still have to pay the ticket.

More Traffic Violations to Avoid

Speeding isn’t the only traffic violation that will increase your rates in New Hampshire. Be sure to avoid the following offenses.

  • Failure to stop at railroad crossings
  • Following too closely
  • Improper turning or signaling
  • Improper use of mobile electronic devices while driving, such as texting while driving
  • Negligent driving
  • Not giving pedestrians the right of way on crosswalks
  • Obstructing a parking space for a person with a walking disability
  • Racing on highways
  • Reckless driving
  • Vehicular assault


New Hampshire, the “Live Free Or Die” state, is one of two states that doesn’t require auto insurance. However, regardless of whether you drive with insurance, the state takes speeding seriously, as it’s involved in a third of all fatal crashes, according to the most recent data. Even if you aren’t concerned about your insurance costs increasing due to a speeding ticket, you should still drive within the speed limit to keep yourself and those around you safe. To learn more about speeding in the state, keep reading our frequently asked questions below.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does a speeding ticket stay on your record in New Hampshire?

According to the state’s Division of Motor Vehicles, a demerit point will stay on a certified copy of your record for three years following the violation date.

Is it worth fighting a speeding ticket in New Hampshire?

If you have evidence that you were not guilty, it could be worth fighting a speeding ticket in New Hampshire. However, you may be convicted and then have to pay fines and penalties anyway, not to mention the time commitment of appearing in court. Depending on the fee of the original ticket, it may or may not be worth fighting.

How do I get points off my license in New Hampshire?

You can get three points off your license in New Hampshire by taking an approved driver improvement program. Here is a list of the contact information for each available option.

Driver improvement program Location Phone number
1st Driver Improvement Concord (603) 545-8264
1st Gear Driving School Amherst (603) 801-7939
AAA (American Automobile Association) (Northern New England) Statewide (800) 647-4651
AARP Driver Safety Program Statewide (888) 227-7669
Chico’s Driving Center Manchester (603) 624-8268
Commercial Driving School Concord (603) 715-2559
D&S Driving School Tilton (603) 832-3243
Derry Auto School DBA Harry’s Driving School Derry (603) 432-3583
National Safety Council of Northern New England Statewide (800) 834-6472
Responsible Driving LLC Twin Mountain (603) 846-5033

For any remaining points, you’ll have to wait three years before the state will remove them from your record.


  1. Commuting Characteristics by Sex. United States Census. (2023).$0400000

  2. SmartMiles. Nationwide. (2023).

  3. TITLE XXI MOTOR VEHICLES CHAPTER 265 RULES OF THE ROAD: Speed Limitations. General Court of New Hampshire. (2023).

  4. Demerit Points. New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles. (2023).