Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: August 24, 2023

Guide to DUIs in Oregon

A first DUI conviction can result in a one-year license suspension, imprisonment and fines.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

The state of Oregon defines driving under the influence of intoxicants (technically DUIIs, although we’ll use the more common acronym DUI throughout this article) as either driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher or under the influence of intoxicating liquor, cannabis and other controlled substances/inhalants. A third DUI conviction can result in a permanent license suspension and up to 90 days in jail. Here’s everything you need to know about DUIs in the Beaver State.

DUI Laws in Oregon

A DUI conviction in Oregon can lead to thousands of dollars in fines, imprisonment, license suspensions and other penalties.


If you had a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher when you were stopped by police, that’s a Class A misdemeanor. However, if you were under the influence of intoxicating liquor, cannabis or other controlled substances and inhalants or if this was your third DUI offense or more in the past 10 years, that’s a Class C felony.

See below for the full list of penalties for drunk driving in Oregon based on the offense.12

Penalties for driving under the influence of intoxicants by offense number 1 2 3 or subsequent
Minimum fine BAC under 0.15%: $1,000

BAC 0.15% or higher: $2,000

BAC under 0.15%: $1,500

BAC 0.15% or higher: $2,000

BACs 0.08% and higher: $2,000 (but only if no imprisonment sentence)
Imprisonment minimum (can be in jail, minimum security facilities or inpatient rehabilitation/treatment centers) 48 hours but can substitute for community service 48 hours but can substitute for community service 90 days
Required screening interview and treatment program Yes Yes Yes
Court fee $255 $255 $255
License suspension in years 1 3 Permanent but can petition the court to restore after a minimum of 10 years following release from parole/suspension or from the effective date of DUI suspension
Hardship permit waiting time (SR-22 required, plus $125 in fees, employment verification and ignition interlock device) No wait Not eligible Not eligible
Base license reinstatement fee (also requires SR-22 for 3 years, DUI treatment completion center certificate and ignition interlock device) Not required if hardship license was granted $75 $75

Note that this list of potential drunk driving penalties only applies to noncommercial drivers, not commercial drivers.

Underage Drivers

The laws are different for underage drivers, meaning those under the age of 21. They cannot have any amount of alcohol in their blood. If they do, even if it’s less than 0.08 percent, they can be charged and convicted of a DUI.


Although drivers ages 16 to 24 make up only 12 percent of all licensed drivers and ID holders in Oregon, they make up 16 percent of all impaired drivers involved in fatal crashes, according to the most recent data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

How Long Will a DUI Stay on Your Record?

In Oregon, a DUI will stay on your record for 55 years.


If convicted of a DUI in Oregon, you’ll need to get an SR-22 — a form that proves you have the state’s minimum insurance coverage — to either get a hardship permit or to reinstate your license.

The Effect of DUIs on Car Insurance

Auto insurance in Oregon costs 54 percent more on average after a DUI — $1,753 compared to $1,138 as of 2023.

Average annual cost of car insurance in Oregon Clean record DUI Percentage increase
State Farm $536 $878 64%
USAA $514 $1,332 159%
GEICO $417 $1,672 301%

Car insurance should cover damages related to a DUI crash, but the insurer may argue that the accident was intentional, meaning your insurance won’t cover it. If that’s the case, you would need to hire a DUI attorney to sue for compensation. We recommend finding an attorney who will give you a free consultation.

Finding Car Insurance After a DUI

Finding auto insurance after a DUI is difficult, as not every insurance company accepts high-risk drivers. We recommend State Farm for nonmilitary drivers and veterans or USAA, which covers military members, veterans and their families. Fortunately, Oregon has a solution that guarantees you insurance coverage if you can’t find it in the private market.

High-Risk Driver Pool

The Automobile Insurance Plan of Oregon will place you in an assigned risk pool so you can get coverage.3 Ask your agent or broker for more information or contact the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP). WAAIP is a processing center that connects people shopping for insurance with companies that will cover them.

  • Mailing address:
    • Western Association Automobile Insurance Plans
    • P.O. Box 7917
    • San Francisco, CA 97104
  • Phone number: (800) 227-4659
  • Fax number: (800) 827-6260
  • Email address:
  • Office hours: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. PST4

How to Save

Here’s how to get the cheapest auto insurance in Oregon after a DUI.

  1. Lower your limits: Technically, Oregon only requires liability coverage, uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection. The cheapest car insurance will be this minimum coverage with the lowest limits the state stipulates.
  2. Ask for discounts: Your insurance agent probably has some discounts up their sleeve, like price cuts for enrolling in paperless billing, taking a defensive driving course or paying your policy in full.
  3. Increase the size of your deductible: If you have collision and comprehensive coverage, raising your deductible will lower your premium. But make sure it’s not too high for you to pay in the event your car is damaged. Coverage doesn’t kick in until after you’ve paid the entirety of your deductible.
  4. Drop coverages: Even if you don’t want minimum coverage, consider dropping add-on coverages you don’t need, like rental car coverage or roadside assistance.
  5. Bundle policies: If you have more than one type of insurance policy, like home and auto, for example, bundle them under the same provider to unlock even more discounts.


The average annual cost of car insurance in Oregon in 2021 was $952, 9 percent lower than the national average.5 However, because of a DUI, you may have to pay an amount closer to $1,466 — 54 percent more than someone with a clean driving record.


If you’re thinking of driving and driving, don’t. Consider using a rideshare or taking public transportation if you don’t have a designated driver. Especially if you’re under the age of 21, getting a DUI charge and conviction will not only result in fees and possible imprisonment, but it will also stay on your record for more than five decades.

During this time, your insurance will be far more costly, not to mention the injuries and deaths you could cause by driving drunk. DUIs aren’t worth the risks in terms of safety, finances and punishments.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a DUI be dismissed in Oregon?

A DUI can be dismissed in Oregon if you participate in the DUII Diversion Program, which requires the following:

  • Paying diversion fees: Unless you’re low-income, you’ll pay a $490 filing fee, plus fees for your court-appointed attorney.
  • Paying restitution: If the victim suffered economic damages due to your DUI, you’ll have to pay restitution in full.
  • Completing a drug and alcohol abuse assessment and treatment: You need to pay $150 for an assessment and complete the treatment the agency or organization recommended. The treatment cost will vary, but you’ll be responsible for it, whether you pay immediately or in installments over time.
  • Doing a victim impact panel: The court may require you to attend a victim impact panel and pay a fee from $5 to $50.
  • Not using alcohol or other intoxicants: The only drugs or alcohol you can consume are sacramental wine as part of a religious rite/service, alcohol/controlled substance taken as directed with a valid prescription or nonprescription drugs that contain alcohol, as long as you’re following the directions on the labels.
  • Alerting the court of your mailing address: The court must know your current mailing address at all times.
  • Installing an approved ignition interlock device: The court may require you to order and install an ignition interlock device. You’ll be responsible for the installation, lease and maintenance costs, but these fees can be waived if you’re low-income.

However, not everyone is eligible to participate in this diversion program. To be eligible, you must:

  • Have never been convicted of a felony DUI anywhere in the United States
  • Have no other pending charges against you or convictions in any place that involve operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicating drugs
  • Not be participating in another DUI diversion program or similar drug or alcohol rehabilitation program unless it’s a result of this DUI charge or a charge for a minor in possession of alcohol or haven’t participated in the past 15 years
  • Have not been convicted of:
    • Aggravated vehicular homicide
    • Any criminal offenses involving a motor vehicle for second and subsequent diversions
    • Assault that results from operating a motor vehicle
    • Criminally negligent homicide
    • Manslaughter
    • Murder
  • Have not had any deaths or injuries due to your DUI offense
  • Not have commercial driving privileges at the time of the offense
  • Have not been operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the offense

How do you beat a DUI in Oregon?

According to the Portland-based DUI law firm Romano Law, you can beat a DUI with the following defense strategies, provided they are rooted in fact:

  • The blood test was incorrect, unlawful or contaminated.
  • The field sobriety test was administered involuntarily or improperly.
  • The Miranda Rights were not given or were given improperly.
  • There was no evidence of driving or operating a motor vehicle.
  • There was no or not enough probable cause for the DUI arrest.
  • There was no reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop.
  • There wasn’t enough evidence of intoxication.
  • You were not advised of your implied consent rights.
  • You have a medical condition.
  • You were not given the opportunity to communicate with a lawyer.

How do I get my license back after a DUI in Oregon?

For a first and second DUI offense in Oregon, you can get your license back following one and three years, respectively, after you pay the reinstatement fee on the DMV2U website (

For third and subsequent offenses, your license revocation will be permanent, but 10 years after your parole/driver’s license suspension ends, you can petition the court to restore it.

How does a hardship license work in Oregon?

In Oregon, hardship permits allow people with suspended licenses to drive under the following circumstances if they’re:

  • Caring for older family members
  • Commuting to and from work
  • Driving to medical appointments
  • Driving themselves or their kids to school
  • Finding a job
  • Going grocery shopping
  • Participating in an alcohol, drug or gambling addiction program
  • Working

You won’t be able to get a hardship permit for second or subsequent DUI offenses, however — only first offenses. To check if you’re eligible, contact Oregon’s DMV by calling (503) 945-5000.

Here’s how to apply for a hardship permit if you’ve found you’re eligible:

  1. Fill out the hardship permit application via
  2. Pay the $50 application fee and the $75 reinstatement fee (a total of $125) by check or money order.
  3. If it’s required, install an approved ignition interlock device.
  4. Include an SR-22 and employment verification, if applicable.
  5. Send the application, fees and documentation to the following address:
    • DMV – Driver Suspension Unit
    • 1905 Lana Ave. NE
    • Salem, OR 97314

If you prefer, you can also apply in person by making an appointment with your local DMV. See locations at


  1. Chapter 813 — Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants. Oregon Legislature. (2021).

  2. DUII Convictions. Oregon DMV. (2023).

  3. A consumer’s guide to AUTO INSURANCE. DCBS, Oregon Division of Financial Regulation. (2023).

  4. Oregon Automobile Insurance Plan. AiPSA. (2023).

  5. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).