Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: October 13, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Car Insurance in Wisconsin

Plus, how to get points removed from your record and keep your car insurance rates low

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In 2021, there were 261 speeding drivers involved in fatal crashes in Wisconsin, representing 30 percent of all deadly accidents, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. In about two-thirds of these speeding-related fatal crashes, the driver was going 55 miles per hour (mph) or higher, reaching or exceeding the state’s default limit if there were no speeds posted in a given area.

Speeding isn’t only a matter of life and death. If you’re convicted of speeding, you can face fines, imprisonment, community service, points on your driving record, and a higher car insurance premium. Let’s look closer at how a moving violation like a speeding ticket affects your insurance, since such an offense can raise your premium for as long as the ticket stays on your driving record.

How Speeding Tickets Impact Your Insurance in Wisconsin

On average, auto insurance in Wisconsin will cost 31 percent more after a speeding ticket. Expect your rates to remain high for five years after your conviction date or, if the speeding was alcohol-related, indefinitely. Given that the average car insurance rate in Wisconsin was $753 in 2020, you can expect to pay $986 or more, depending on how many mph over the speed limit you were driving.

Compare quotes from multiple companies, as different car insurance companies will have different insurance rates. To compare rates accurately, make sure the information you supply, like your ZIP code and car model, is consistent on each quote. While speeding tickets boost premiums, other factors could decrease your costs, like having good credit.

Finding Affordable Car Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

The reason your auto insurance is likely to increase following a speeding violation is that insurers are apt to consider you a high-risk driver. While that typically means heftier premiums, there are a few ways to keep your rates low, like asking your agent for auto insurance discounts and following the strategies below.

  1. Take a traffic safety course. You can get three points removed from your driving record by taking a traffic safety course. Additionally, if your driving privileges were suspended and you have 12 to 14 points on your record, taking a course will end the suspension. You are eligible to take one course every three years.1 Find an approved course at your nearest technical state college.
  2. Get minimum coverage. Minimum coverage is always the cheapest form of insurance. In Wisconsin, the state requires liability coverage only, which includes the following:
    • Bodily injury per person: $25,000
    • Bodily injury per accident: $50,000
    • Property damage per accident: $10,000
  3. Keep a clean driving record. People with no points on their driving record in the past three to five years will get the lowest rates for auto insurance.2 While a speeding ticket will stay on your record for five years in Wisconsin, try not to commit any other traffic violations to avoid incurring additional points and to keep your rates as low as possible.

Penalties for Speeding in Wisconsin

The more over the speed limit you were driving, or, if you were speeding in a school or work zone, the higher your penalties for speeding will be.

Fines and Imprisonment

According to the Wisconsin Statutes, a speeding violation comes with a fine between $20 and $600 and, in the most extreme cases, jail time and community service.3

Speeding offense Penalty
All, excluding the specific violations below First offense: $20-$50

Second and subsequent offenses within 1 year: $50- $100

15 mph in an alley

15 mph with a vehicle that has metal or solid rubber tires

25 mph on any highway within corporate limits of cities/villages, except in their outlying districts

25 mph on any service road within corporate limits of city/village unless modified

35 mph in any outlying district within corporate limits of city/village

35 mph on any highway in a semi-urban district outside the corporate limits of a city/village

55 mph in the absence of any posted limits


Highway maintenance or construction area, utility work area, or emergency or roadside response area: $60-$600; if an accident results in bodily harm, you can be fined $10,000 maximum, imprisoned for 9 months maximum, or both; have to do 100-200 hours of community service; and attend traffic school

65 mph on any expressway

70 mph on any freeway, including interstate/defense highways

Driving at a speed greater than one that is “reasonable and prudent” while entering the highway

Not reducing speed when approaching/crossing an intersection or railways grade crossing, curve, hillcrest, narrow/winding roadway, or area with school children, highway construction, maintenance workers, sanitation workers, other pedestrians, or special hazards from weather/highway conditions

15 mph when passing a schoolhouse during times of school, or children playing around the school

15 mph when passing a “school crossing” intersection if a child is present and a crossing guard is within the crosswalk or is placing/removing a temporary sign or device to regulate traffic

15 mph when passing a safety zone occupied by pedestrians where someone has stopped to receive/discharge passengers

First offense: $40-$300

Second and subsequent offenses within 1 year: $80-$600


You’ll also receive three to six points on your record, depending on how fast you were going and whether or not you’re a commercial driver.

Charge Demerit points
Imprudent speed 4
Speeding 1-10 mph over 3
Speeding 11-19 mph over 4
Speed 20 mph or more over 6
Too fast for conditions 4
Commercial imprudent speed 4
Commercial speeding 15-19 mph over 4
Commercial speeding 20 mph or more 6
Commercial too fast for the conditions 4

On top of these penalties, you may also face a license suspension.

Your Options Following a Speeding Ticket

If you’re given a speeding ticket, you can either plead guilty and pay the fine, or plead not guilty and dispute the citation.

Pay the Ticket

You can pay your ticket online at


Paying your ticket with Mastercard or Visa incurs a 2.75 percent convenience fee, while paying with an e-check comes with a flat fee of $1.95. You cannot pay with Discover or American Express.4

Dispute the Ticket

Before your court date, plead not guilty by sending a copy of your citation, your current mailing address, and your not guilty plea to your local court. Pleading not guilty is the only way to get a pre-trial and court trial scheduled. You can demand a jury, if you prefer, and state your case before a panel of your peers. But note that if you don’t appear at your court date, you’ll be found guilty automatically and will have to pay your ticket.


If you plead guilty or no contest, the judge will find you guilty, meaning you’ll have to pay the fine.

More Traffic Violations That Affect Insurance Premiums

From hit-and-runs to reckless driving, familiarize yourself with some of the non-speeding traffic violations in Wisconsin that can raise your car insurance rates.

  • Attempting to elude an officer
  • Driving without insurance or proof of insurance
  • Failure to obey traffic signs or signals
  • Failure to stop after an accident with an attended or unattended vehicle
  • Passing illegally
  • Blood alcohol content over the limit, also known as driving under the influence of alcohol
  • Reckless driving


A traffic fatality can occur at any time, even if you’re driving 50 mph or less, like 28 percent of all drivers involved in fatal crashes in Wisconsin in 2021. But speeding leads to less control over your vehicle and less awareness of your surroundings, increasing the likelihood of an accident. To keep you, your passengers, and others on the roads safe, and to keep your insurance costs in check, always follow the state’s speed limits.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many miles over the speed limit is reckless driving in Wisconsin?

The Wisconsin Vehicle Code does not specify a speed for reckless driving. Rather, it defines reckless driving as endangering the safety of a person or property by operating a vehicle negligently, like under the influence of intoxicants or other drugs.

Is speeding a felony in Wisconsin?

No. Speeding on its own is not a felony in Wisconsin, according to the state’s Vehicle Code.

How many points until you lose your license in Wisconsin?

According to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, you can lose your license if you have 12 or more points on your record. The length of the suspension depends on the number of points on your record.

Number of points on record Length of license suspension (on probation, with permit, or no license) Length of license suspension (with regular or commercial license)
12-16 6 months 2 months
17-22 6 months 4 months
23-30 6 months 6 months
More than 30 1 year 1 year

How do I get out of a speeding ticket in Wisconsin?

To get out of a speeding ticket in Wisconsin, you’ll need to plead not guilty and appear in court to convince a judge and/or jury of your innocence. Enter your not-guilty plea before the date listed on your citation. At your court appearance, you’ll need to provide evidence that you were not speeding, in order to avoid the ticket.


  1. Wisconsin’s point system. State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation. (2023).

  2. Consumer’s Guide to Auto Insurance. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance. (2023).

  3. SPEED RESTRICTIONS. Wisconsin State Legislature. (2023).

  4. Pay court fees/fines online. Wisconsin Court System. (2023).