Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: December 19, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Idaho

Speeding tickets in the Gem State, explained

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

Idaho uses a point system for traffic violations including speeding tickets. Depending on where and how fast you were driving, you may be assessed points, a license suspension, or a prison sentence. Any infractions on your driving record will also affect your insurance premium. In Idaho, a speeding ticket increases your auto insurance premium by an average of 18 percent. Find out how a speeding ticket will impact your car insurance in Idaho and how to lower your premium after a ticket below.

What a Speeding Ticket Will Do

Idaho separates speeding tickets into infractions and misdemeanors, with penalties varying based on the severity of the incident. Infractions result in points on your driver’s license, whereas a misdemeanor requires a court appearance and could even result in arrest.

Increased Premiums

A speeding ticket increases your auto insurance premium by an average of 18 percent in Idaho, but the number varies based on your insurance provider.

Company Cost before speeding ticket Cost after speeding ticket Average increase after a speeding ticket
Average cost of annual car insurance $1,042 $1,231 18%
State Farm $932 $1,014 9%
Farmers $1,327 $1,670 26%
Allstate $1,692 $1,958 16%
American Family $1,161 $1,210 4%
Auto-Owners $698 $874 25%
Geico $800 $1,018 27%
Nationwide $1,094 $1,236 13%
Travelers $927 $1,217 31%
USAA $744 $885 19%

Multiple Tickets

Each speeding ticket results in three or four points assessed to your license. Additional violations resulting in points — for speeding or otherwise — could result in the ITD DMV taking the following actions:

Number of points Penalty
12 to 17 (in any 12 months) 30-day suspension
18 to 23 (in any 24 months) 90-day suspension
24 or more (in any 26 months) 6-month suspension

Driving Record

The Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) assigns a point value between one and four for moving violations depending on how serious it is. If you drive 1 to 15 miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit, you will receive three points. Sixteen mph or more over the speed limit results in four points.1

How Long It Affects Insurance

In Idaho, convictions and points stay on your driving record for the years after the conviction date.

How to Lower Premiums After a Speeding Ticket

  1. Compare quotes. We always recommend comparing quotes from different auto insurance companies during each renewal period, but especially if you receive a speeding ticket or other violation. Certain auto insurance companies specialize in providing reasonable rates for drivers with a poor driving record.
  2. Ask about discounts. Again, reassess what discounts you’re taking advantage of with your insurance provider during each renewal period. If you work with an agent, they can help you find additional discounts to reduce your premium.
  3. Drive safely. Additional violations could result in higher premiums and even license suspensions. Drive safely.
  4. Take a defensive driving course. In Idaho, you can reduce your points total by three points once every three years by completing an approved defensive driving course before a suspension for accumulation of points takes place.
  5. Take a traffic safety education course. In Idaho, taking a city-sponsored TSC can reduce the number of points associated with the citation from your record. Neither a defensive driving course nor a traffic safety education course removes convictions from your driving record, but your insurance provider may take it into account when determining your premium.

Cost of Speeding Ticket in Idaho

Minor speeding violations in Idaho result in fixed fines that depend on how much you exceeded the posted speed limit and if you were in a school or construction zone.

Violation Fine
Speeding 1-15 mph over the limit $90
Speeding 16 mph or more over the limit $155
Speeding in a construction zone $106.50
Speeding in a school zone $156.50


If you are caught speeding, you may be charged with a misdemeanor like reckless driving, which comes with a fine of up to $1,000. In these cases, the county court in which the citation was issued will decide the fine and penalty.

What To Do If You Get a Speeding Ticket

You have two options after a speeding citation in Idaho:

  1. Plead guilty and pay the ticket.
  2. Plead not guilty and appear in court.

Both options require you to appear in court on the date listed on your citation or given to you by a court clerk. If you do not appear in court, you will receive a default guilty judgment from the court and pay the fixed penalty. If you receive a misdemeanor traffic offense and miss your court date, the penalty is arrest and possible incarceration.

If you plead guilty or the court finds you guilty and you need to pay your fine, you may do so online, by mail, phone, or dropbox, or in person. The Idaho court system offers a quick guide for online payments here.

Other Traffic Violations That Affect Car Insurance

The following violations result in points entered on your driving record and maintained for three years after the conviction date.

Violation Points
Starting parked vehicle (other than in driveway) 2
Limitations on backing 1
Driving on sidewalk 3
Coasting prohibited 2
Obstruction to driver’s view or driving mechanism 3
Stopping when traffic obstructed 1
Drivers to exercise due care 3
Driving through safety zone prohibited 2
Slow-moving vehicles 2
Authorized emergency or police vehicle 3
Duty upon approaching a stationary police vehicle or an emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights 3
Operation of vehicles on approach of authorized emergency or police vehicles 3
Following fire apparatus prohibited 3
Crossing fire hose 1
Drive on right side of roadway — exceptions 3
Passing vehicles proceeding in opposite directions 2
Overtaking a vehicle on the left 3
When passing on the right is permitted 2
Limitations on overtaking on the left 3
Further limitations on driving on left of center of highway 3
One-way highways 1
Driving on highways laned for traffic 1
Following too closely 3
Turning out of slow-moving vehicles 2
Vehicles approaching or entering unmarked or uncontrolled intersection 3
Vehicle turning left 3
Vehicle entering highway 3
Highway construction and maintenance 3
Required position and method of turning 3
Limitations on turning around 3
Obedience to signal indicating approach of train 4
Compliance with stopping requirement at all railroad grade crossings 4
Moving heavy equipment at railroad grade crossing 3
Emergency from alley, driveway, or building 3
Minimum speed regulation 3
Restricted use of neighborhood electric vehicles on highways 2
Pedestrians right of way in crosswalks 3
Blind and/or hearing-impaired pedestrian has right of way 3
Pedestrians right of way on sidewalks 3
Obedience to and required traffic control devices 3
Traffic control signal legend 3
Flashing signals 3
Lane use control signals 3
Stop signs 3
Failure to yield — signed intersections 3
Turning movements and required signals 3
Duty to give information in accident involving damage to a vehicle 4
Duty upon striking unattended vehicles 4
Duty upon striking fixtures upon or adjacent to highway 4
Inattentive driving 3
Obedience to traffic direction 2
Driving on divided roads 1
Restricted access 1
Overtaking and passing school bus 4
Racing on public highways 4


As a courtesy, the Idaho DMV will send a warning letter if you accumulate eight to 11 points in a 12-month period, 14 to 17 points in a 24-month period, or 20 to 23 points in a 36-month period. This many points could result in your license getting suspended.


A speeding violation in Idaho adds three or four points to your driving record, which remain for three years after your conviction. A poor driving record will increase your auto insurance premium, and additional violations could result in a license suspension. Fortunately, Idaho has multiple programs to reduce the number of points on your license. Even so, the best defense against increased premiums is safe driving at all times.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is speeding a misdemeanor in Idaho?

Speeding will be categorized as either an infraction or misdemeanor in Idaho, depending on where and how fast you were driving. You can pay any fines online or fight the ticket in court to reduce your fine.

What is excessive speeding in Idaho?

Excessive speeding in Idaho is when a driver is going 16 mph or more over the speed limit.

Does Idaho have traffic cameras?

Idaho does not use traffic cameras to assess speeding tickets.

Is Idaho an absolute speed state?

Idaho is an absolute speed state, meaning that driving one mph over the limit is a violation that could result in an infraction or misdemeanor.


  1. Idaho’s Point Violations. Idaho Transportation Department. (2018, May 21).