Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: August 18, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Arizona

Here's how you can avoid rate increases by taking a defensive driving course.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

From 2011 to 2021, 3,091 fatal motor vehicle crashes in Arizona involved speeding; in fact, it’s the cause of exactly a third of all fatal crashes. For drivers ages 15 to 20, this rate was even higher at 43 percent — and reached as high as 50 percent of all deadly crashes in 2014, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

It’s clear speeding isn’t safe, but Arizona has pretty relaxed laws when it comes to driving above the posted limit. You won’t incur any penalties for going less than 10 mph over the speed limit on public and interstate highways and, even if you were going faster, there are ways to avoid fines and insurance rate increases.

How Speeding Tickets Affect Insurance in Arizona

On average, having a speeding ticket on your record will raise your car insurance in Arizona by 28 percent. See below for how much a ticket could affect your insurance rate with various companies.

Annual cost of car insurance by company Clean driving record Record with speeding ticket Percentage difference
AAA $1,433 $2,027 41%
ACCC Insurance $1,477 $1,597 8%
Allstate $1,701 $2,250 32%
American Family $1,288 $2,512 95%
Country Financial $2,106 $2,388 13%
Farmers $1,344 $1,792 33%
GEICO $916 $1,895 107%
Hallmark Financial $1,745 $1,815 4%
Iowa Farm Bureau $1,212 $1,462 21%
Mercury $1,274 $1,657 30%
MetLife $2,024 $2,740 35%
MGA $2,423 $3,318 37%
Nationwide $1,110 $1,705 54%
Progressive $1,472 $1,847 25%
QBE $1,152 $2,619 127%
Safeway $2,453 $2,214 -10%
State Farm $1,232 $1,424 16%
The Hartford $1,257 $1,736 38%
Travelers $1,127 $1,644 46%
USAA $1,288 $1,560 21%

Note that these are average car insurance costs; actual premiums are slightly different based on your ZIP code, credit score, previous driving record and other factors that affect insurance costs.

If you receive a speeding ticket and it’s on your record, it will raise your car insurance rate by some amount. However, not every traffic ticket will increase your insurance costs, as you may be able to avoid the state adding it to your record — more on this later.

How to Find Affordable Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

Take a Defensive Driving Course

We’ll go into more detail about the specifics below, but with some speeding violations, you can avoid insurance rate hikes altogether by taking a state-approved defensive driving course. If you’re eligible, taking a defensive driving course not only means you won’t have to pay the speeding ticket’s fine but also that the violation won’t go on your record. If the violation isn’t on your driving record, your car insurance rates won’t increase at all. However, this isn’t an option for everybody and it’s only available for one penalty. Those with bad driving records and multiple violations won’t be eligible.

Get Minimum Coverage

The cheapest option for any driver, whether you have a speeding ticket on your record or not, is to get only the minimum coverage the state requires, which in Arizona is liability coverage in the following amounts.

  • Bodily injury liability per person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability per accident: $15,0001

In 2020, the average annual cost of liability coverage in Arizona was only $647 — $395 less than full coverage car insurance.2 That said, liability coverage only applies to the other party’s medical costs and property damages, not those of you or your passengers. Saving money on your premium may mean paying more down the line if you get into an accident. Other less extreme options for saving money include dropping add-ons like roadside assistance or lowering the limits on your existing coverages.

Apply Discounts

Every car insurance company offers insurance discounts in some form, including for actions like:

  • Bundling home and auto insurance
  • Enrolling in usage-based insurance that tracks your mileage and driving behaviors
  • Installing anti-theft equipment in your car
  • Taking a driver’s education course

Ask your agent or broker how you can save.

Increase Your Deductible

If you have comprehensive and collision coverage, you’ll have to pay a deductible, a dollar amount you set with your insurance agent, before the company will contribute financially toward any losses. One way to lower your car insurance costs is to increase the size of your deductible, but make sure you can pay the higher amount tomorrow in the event you incur property damages. If you can’t pay your deductible, your coverage becomes useless.

The Cost of Speeding in Arizona

Penalties for speeding on public or interstate highways fall to the state government while the consequences for speeding on local roads are up to the municipality.

Public Highways

The speed limits on Arizona’s public highways are 30 mph outside of urban areas and 40 mph in urban areas. However, if you speed less than 10 mph over the limit, you won’t receive a license suspension, revocation or record of judgment. That means insurance companies can’t charge you higher premiums for this civil traffic violation. Rather, you’ll only face a civil penalty: a $15 fine plus surcharges.3


In Arizona, surcharges on civil traffic violations are 7 percent of every fine or penalty.

However, if you were speeding more than 10 mph over the limit, you’ll face a maximum penalty of $250 plus surcharges. The judge could also issue a license suspension or revocation, though it’s not mandatory. Plus, your insurance rates will increase, as the violation will go on your record.

Interstate Highway

If you go less than 10 mph over the speed limit in a 55 mph zone of another state’s interstate system highway, you won’t receive or be considered for a license suspension or revocation and insurance providers won’t raise your rates, which is the same with Arizona’s public highways. However, if you are caught going more than 10 mph over the speed limit, you’ll face steeper penalties and insurance rates.

Additionally, if you’re outside of urban areas (places with populations of 50,000 people or higher), the speed limit is either 65 mph or 75 mph on the individual interstate system highways. If you go any faster than the speed limit, it’s a civil traffic violation with a maximum penalty of $250 plus the surcharge. Here, too, you should expect your insurance rates to increase.

Local Roads

Local municipalities set speed limits and penalties within the state’s general guidelines, so check your city’s website to see how much a speeding ticket would cost.

School Zones

Unlike all other forms of speeding, speeding in a school zone, where the speed limit is 15 mph, is a criminal, not a civil, traffic violation. If you commit this violation, the penalties will double (not including surcharges) and you will almost certainly face a hike in your insurance premiums.

Your Options After a Speeding Ticket

You have three major options after getting a speeding ticket.

Deny Responsibility

First, you can deny responsibility and request a hearing, either by mail or by appearing in court on your scheduled date. You’ll have to pay the assigned penalty before the court date regardless, but at the hearing, the judge will hear from both you and the officer who issued the citation. Note that if you choose this option, you won’t be able to attend driving school instead of paying your fine, even if you’re found responsible.

Admit Responsibility

The easiest option is to admit responsibility and pay the fine, which you can do using the following payment methods.

Paying tickets in Arizona Payment methods Contact information
Online Debit/credit cards  or county’s website
At retailers Cash
In person at court Cash, cashier’s check, money orders and credit cards
By mail Cashier’s check and money orders

Note that with this option, your insurance rates may increase, as the violation will go on your driving record.

Attend Defensive Driving School

As an alternative to paying the fine, you can attend defensive driving school before your scheduled court date. Then, unless you’re under 18, you won’t have to appear in court. This is the best option, as the violation won’t appear on your driving record or be reported to the Arizona Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Classes are offered in person or online. You are eligible if:

  • Your violation didn’t result in a serious injury and/or death.
  • You haven’t attended a defensive driving diversion course in Arizona in the past year for a violation that occurred in the previous year.


You can only use a defensive driving class for one penalty.

Send the court proof of completion when you’re done with the course. Then, it’ll be as if the violation never occurred from the perspective of your driving record and car insurance companies. Find a school here via

Other Traffic Violations That Could Raise the Price of Insurance

Arizona differentiates civil violations from criminal violations. Below are some examples of moving violations that fall under each category. Committing any of these could affect your insurance rates.

Civil Violations

  • Running a stoplight
  • Making an illegal turn
  • Crossing the street illegally
  • Violating a parking meter4

Criminal Violations

  • Driving on a suspended license
  • Driving under the influence
  • Driving without insurance
  • Reckless endangerment
  • Speeding in a school zone
  • Vehicular manslaughter5


While Arizona won’t punish you for driving 10 mph over the speed limit on public and interstate highways, we always recommend going at or under the speed limit for the safety of you, your passengers and other drivers on the road. Learn more about speeding in Arizona with our frequently asked questions (FAQs) below.

Frequently Asked Questions

What mph is criminal speeding in Arizona?

Criminal speeding in Arizona occurs if you’re driving more than 10 mph over the speed limit, which is as follows:

  • Public highways outside of urban areas: 30 mph
  • Public highways in urban areas: 40 mph
  • Interstate highways in other states: 55 mph
  • Interstate highways outside urban areas: 65 or 75 mph
  • Municipal roads: Varies
  • School zones: 15 mph

Will two points affect your insurance in Arizona?

Yes, two points will affect your insurance in Arizona. If there are any points on your record, insurance companies can raise your rates. Note that you receive points anytime you are convicted of a moving traffic violation or forfeit bail. A speeding conviction, for example, comes with three points, according to the state’s Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

How long does a ticket stay on your record in Arizona?

In Arizona, a ticket will stay on your record forever. Points for moving traffic violations never leave your permanent record.

How do I remove points from my license in Arizona?

There is no way to remove points from your license in Arizona as they never expire. Rather, you can prevent points from being added in the first place by always practicing safe driving and taking a defensive driving course if you’re eligible.


  1. Vehicle Insurance Information. ADOT. (2023).

  2. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).

  3. VIEW DOCUMENT. Arizona State Legislature. (2023).

  4. Traffic. The Judicial Branch of Arizona. (2023).

  5. Self-Service Center. (2023).