Kansas Car Insurance
Having the right vehicle coverage is vital to protect you in case of an accident. Kansas, like most states, requires a minimum level of coverage. If you do not have the mandated auto insurance, you can face serious fines and legal action. You will also be vulnerable to expensive medical bills and automotive repairs. To protect yourself and others on the road, you need to understand Kansas insurance law.
Legal Requirements in Kansas
Below are the minimum requirements for vehicle insurance in Kansas:
Kansas drivers must have liability coverage that includes:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
All Kansas auto insurance must also include Personal injury protection (PIP or No Fault) that includes:
- $4500 per person for medical expenses
- $900 per month for one year of disability/loss of income
- $25 per day for in-home services
- $4500 for rehabilitation expenses
- Survivor benefits that include disability/loss of income up to $900 per month
- In-home services up to $25 per day for one year
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
Optional Kansas Vehicle Coverage
For most drivers, the mandated insurance amount is not enough to protect them after an accident. You have the option of adding comprehensive and collision insurance to your coverage so that you will be able to repair or replace your vehicle and pay for medical care for you and others in your car.
You should also realize that mandated liability coverage may not cover the damage you do in an accident. If you are at fault, the other driver may sue you for additional money to cover their expenses and loss of income that goes beyond your policy's terms. Trying to save money on an auto insurance policy can end up costing you a fortune if you are in a collision. You may save a few hundred dollars for the year in premiums but be on the hook for tens of thousands if you are at fault and someone is injured.
Common Insurance Choices
The Kansas Insurance Department reports that the most common benefit plan has a $1000 deductible and is a 100/300/100. That means that the policy covers $100,000 per person for bodily injury, $300,000 per accident for bodily injury and $100,000 per accident for property damage. While this plan is considered adequate by many, you might need or want more coverage. You'll need to shop around, get quotes for Kansas car insurance, and find a plan that feels right for you.
Your premium price will vary according to various factors including your age, driving record, gender, address, the amount you drive, your car make and model, and previous coverage. You will then be placed into one of three categories: Preferred, Standard, or Non-Standard.
Preferred: Only the safest drivers, those who have a clean driving record for three to five years, are considered preferred, and they get the best rates.
Standard: You will be placed in the standard category if you have a mostly clean driving record, one with few accidents or traffic tickets on it. You will pay more than those who are preferred but less than those considered non-standard.
Non-Standard: Non-standard drivers are high risk because they have tickets and accidents, a poor premium payment record, are under 25, or have a drunk-driving history. They usually pay a high rate for coverage.
Kansas ranks 27th in the nation for car insurance prices, and the average Kansas car insurance premium is $1332 per year, significantly lower than the those who pay the most. Michigan drivers pay nearly a $1000 more each year for their policies.
Automobile insurance in Kansas is still a significant cost. Fortunately, there are ways to save on your Kansas car insurance. All drivers can increase their deductible to keep their monthly payments low but only to an amount they will be able to pay if they are involved in an accident. Seniors can lower their rates by joining AARP, while teenagers may be able to get good-student discounts. You may also get premium relief by paying your bill on time and only taking out liability coverage on cars that are worth $3000 or less.
Filing a Claim
The Kansas State Insurance Department urges you to contact your insurance agent whenever you are involved in an accident, no matter who is at fault. You should also contact the other driver's insurance company if you feel they were at fault. If you are injured in an accident, you should notify your insurance company because your Kansas PIP coverage is primary for medical expenses even if the other driver was at fault in the accident. Also, be certain to keep records of all interactions with either insurance company.
Special Kansas Factors
Comprehensive policies cover hail damage, and Kansas sees its share of these storms. You will want to factor in the Kansas weather when choosing your insurance.
Kansas insurance law is similar to many other states. Remember that it is illegal to be a Kansas resident and not have the mandated coverage on your vehicles. For more information, you can call the Kansas Insurance Consumer Hotline at 800-432-2484.