Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: January 8, 2024

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Minnesota

The insurance cost of a speeding ticket in Minnesota

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

We’ve all been there: You’re running late to work or you momentarily lose sight of the speedometer and end up speeding. While most drivers have probably sped (intentionally or not) at some point in their lives, it doesn’t make speeding any less dangerous or costly.

In Minnesota, a speeding ticket can cost you up to $300 in fines, result in a driver’s license revocation, and potentially lead to jail time if you’re charged with a misdemeanor. On top of all of that, you can also expect your car insurance premium to increase by an average of 20 percent. Read on to learn more about how speeding can affect your insurance premium in Minnesota.

An Overview of the Impact on Your Auto Insurance

There are several ways a speeding ticket will impact your car insurance and ability to drive in Minnesota. From premium increases and penalties to potentially losing your license or going to  jail, here’s a breakdown of the various ways a speeding ticket impacts drivers in Minnesota.

Premium increases

You can expect your premium to increase in Minnesota after a speeding ticket. The percentage of your increase will depend on your provider and the severity of the speeding ticket. On average, a speeding ticket increases the cost of car insurance by 20 percent in Minnesota.

Insurance provider Premium before accident Premium after accident Percentage increase
Average annual cost of car insurance $1,736 $2,075 20%
Allstate $2,330 $3,281 46%
American Family $1,296 $1,472 13%
GEICO $1,918 $2,184 14%
Western National $1,739 $1,775 2%
State Farm $1,038 $1,196 22%
USAA $1,138 $1,344 18%
Travelers $1,760 $2,148 22%
Farmers $2,670 $3,204 20%

How multiple speeding tickets increase premiums

As you might expect, multiple speeding tickets will lead to a greater increase in car insurance premiums. Insurers increase car insurance rates for drivers with multiple violations because the more likely you are to speed, the more likely you are to get into an accident and file a claim.

Number of speeding tickets Car Insurance premium increase
1 20%
2 67%
3 111%

How long does it stay on your record?

In Minnesota, a speeding ticket will stay on your record for a minimum of five years.


Minnesota does not have a point system for traffic violations. Instead of accruing points, Minnesota has its own set of penalties and fines defined by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, which we’ll take a closer look at below.1

How long does it affect insurance?

A speeding ticket will impact your insurance premiums for as long as it’s on your record, which is a minimum of three to five years in Minnesota.

How to Lower Premium After a Speeding Ticket in Minnesota

There are a few ways to lower the cost of your auto insurance after an accident in Minnesota. First and foremost, you want to ensure that you get your speeding ticket off your record as quickly as possible. While five years is the minimum, it can stay on your record longer depending on the severity of your ticket and whether or not you’re caught speeding again.

One way to ensure a speeding ticket gets off of your record as soon as possible is to avoid any subsequent violations. If you visit the Minnesota DMV website, you can request a digital copy of your driving record to see what convictions are still on your record.2

Here are some other ways to keep your car insurance costs low after a speeding ticket:

  • Consider switching to a high-risk car insurance provider. Some providers, like State Farm, offer high-risk car insurance. While still expensive overall, these insurers offer lower rates (compared to competitors) to drivers with several accidents, claims, or traffic violations.
  • Reduce your coverage. While we recommend increasing limits as high as you can afford, it might be harder to afford higher limits and full coverage after a speeding ticket. In Minnesota, you can lower your coverage to the following limits to help with high costs:
    • $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability
    • $10,000 in property damage liability
    • $40,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)
    • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage3
  • Increase your deductibles. Increasing your deductibles will result in a lower monthly premium. Keep in mind that if you do get into an accident, you’ll be expected to pay the full deductible before your coverage kicks in.
  • Ask about discounts. You won’t know all the auto insurance discounts you’re eligible for until you ask your agent. Most providers offer car insurance discounts for bundling, taking safety courses, driving safely, and installing safety equipment.

Cost of a Speeding Ticket in Minnesota

Most speeding tickets in Minnesota are considered petty misdemeanors, with a base fine of about $40 to $150 and no prison sentence.4 However, a speeding violation can be charged as a misdemeanor with the potential of jail time if you endanger people and/or property. Additionally, you may be required to pay a surcharge of $85 on top of your base fine.

Here’s a full breakdown of the cost of a speeding ticket in Minnesota:

Miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit Base fee
1-10 $40
11-14 $50
15-19 $60
20-25 $140
26-30 $200
31 or more $300

Other Penalties for a Speeding Ticket in Minnesota

Unless your speeding ticket endangered other persons or property, you won’t be convicted of a misdemeanor or face jail time. However, you could face other penalties or more severe fines for speeding in Minnesota.

  • If you speed in a work zone, the fine is $300. Also, the base fine for each of the above fees will double if the violation:
    • Occurs in a school zone
    • Involves speeds 20 mph or more over the limit.
    • Occurs while you’re passing a parked emergency vehicle with emergency lights on
  • If you drive over 100 mph, your license will be revoked for at least six months.
  • Repeated speeding violations within a 12- to 24-month period may result in a license suspension.

What to Do After a Speeding Ticket in Minnesota

There are two main ways to handle a speeding ticket in Minnesota: You can either plead guilty and pay the fine, or you can contest the violation.

Pay the citation. If you pay the citation, you are essentially pleading guilty and will end up with a conviction on your record. You can pay online, in person, via mail, or through a court payment plan.

Contest the ticket. If you don’t agree with the citation, you have the option to contest the ticket. The rules and procedures for contesting a ticket differ from county to county, so you should get in touch with the same country court where the officer issued your ticket.

Pro Tip:

Most drivers who choose to contest a speeding ticket do so because they don’t want a violation on their record. However, you should note that a speeding violation will not stay on your record in Minnesota if you don’t exceed the limit by 10 mph in a 55 mph zone or 5 mph in a 60 mph zone, according to the Minnesota House Research Department.


There are plenty of financial and insurance-related reasons not to speed in Minnesota, but the most important is your safety and the safety of those around you. Even if no one gets hurt, you could face a fine of more than $300 and a license suspension. On top of that, speeding violations stay on your record for at least five years in Minnesota, which is longer than most states (one to three years).


Does a first-time speeding ticket affect insurance?

Depending on your provider, the severity of the ticket, and other factors (such as whether you caused any damage or injury), a first-time speeding ticket can affect your insurance.

How do I get a speeding ticket dismissed in Minnesota?

If you choose to fight a citation, you can go to court to try to have the ticket dismissed at trial. You can fight the ticket on your own or hire a lawyer.

Can I go to a traffic safety school to remove a ticket from my record in Minnesota?

Unfortunately, once a speeding ticket is on your record, it cannot be removed by completing a traffic safety program in Minnesota. However, you can request for the ticket to be removed after it’s been on your record for a minimum of five years.

How can I check if I have a violation on my driving record in Minnesota?

You can take the following steps to check if you have a traffic violation on your record:

  1. Visit and sign up for a MyDVS account.
  2. Follow the steps to verify and complete your MyDVS registration.
  3. Once your registration is approved, you can purchase your Driving History Record through the MyDVS portal.
  4. Your driving record and other services will be available to you in the MyDVS portal.


  1. DMV Point System in Minnesota. (2024).

  2. Check your driving record with our new online tool​. Department of Public Safety Blog. (2023, Mar 27).

  3. Auto Insurance: What You Need to Know. Minnesota Department of Commerce. (2024).

  4. Minnesota Speed Limits. Minnesota House Research. (2023, Dec).