Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: December 11, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Mississippi

Find out how your auto insurance rates will change after a speeding ticket.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

Speeding is one of the main contributing factors to motor vehicle fatalities. If you live and drive in the Magnolia State, you’ll be happy to know that Mississippi had one of the lowest percentages of speeding-related fatalities in 2020, at 17 percent.1 Nonetheless, speeding remains a dangerous choice that can lead to many other consequences.

If you drive in Mississippi, it’s crucial to understand the risks of speeding as well as the long-term impacts it can have on your life. If you receive a speeding ticket in Mississippi, you’ll incur the cost of fines and possible jail time, along with increased car insurance premiums for years to come. On this page, we cover what to expect after receiving a speeding ticket in Mississippi and ways to navigate the higher auto insurance rates you may encounter.

Speeding Impact by Insurance Company

If you receive a speeding ticket in Mississippi, auto insurance companies tend to view you as being a higher risk. Unfortunately, your insurance costs rise once your provider views you as a high-risk driver. Therefore, it’s helpful to get a sense of how your speeding ticket can affect you in the long run, beyond possible fines, license suspension, or jail time.

Below, we’ve outlined various providers’ average rates of car insurance depending on a driver’s record.

Insurance provider Average annual cost before speeding ticket Average annual cost after speeding ticket
Allstate $1,821 $2,015
GEICO $1,329 $1,660
Nationwide $1,399 $1,663
State Farm $1,270 $1,337
Travelers $1,559 $1,814
USAA $1,005 $1,278

How to Lower Premiums After a Speeding Ticket

Luckily, there are ways to reduce your average annual cost of auto insurance after receiving a ticket:

  1. Take a defensive driving course. Mississippi permits some drivers to participate in a defensive driving course to dismiss a speeding ticket from their driving record. These courses take a minimum of four hours to complete.
  2. Improve your credit. If you cannot dismiss your speeding ticket, a good way to lower your annual auto insurance cost is to improve your credit score. For more information, check out our page on how credit score impacts auto insurance rates.
  3. Shop around for a different provider. If your current insurance provider cannot offer you the protection you need at an affordable rate, it may be worth exploring your options and considering different companies. Many auto insurers in Mississippi, like USAA and State Farm, offer high-risk insurance to cater to drivers with an imperfect record.


Not all individuals with a speeding ticket are eligible for ticket dismissal through a defensive driving course in Mississippi. Qualified drivers are typically under 21 years old without a prior traffic ticket.

Cost of Speeding Ticket in Mississippi

Mississippi Code Title 63 outlines the following penalties for drivers convicted of traffic violations.2

Penalty First conviction Second conviction Third and subsequent convictions
Fine Up to $100 Up to $200 Up to $500
Jail time Up to 10 days Up to 20 days Up to 6 months


The exact fine for a speeding ticket varies by county across the state, so you should refer to your ticket to determine how much you owe.

What to Do If You Get a Speeding Ticket

Plead Guilty and Pay Your Fine

If you receive a speeding ticket, the easiest thing to do is admit guilt and pay your fine. You can pay for your ticket online, by mail, or in person. You should note that by pleading guilty, your violation will appear on your driving record, and you could face license suspension based on the nature of your violation.

Fight Your Ticket

You always have the option to plead not guilty and try to fight your speeding ticket. If you take this route, you’ll receive a court date. In this case, you may find it helpful to hire a lawyer since not all Mississippi courts will appoint you an attorney.

Other Traffic Violations That Affect Car Insurance

In addition to speeding tickets, other traffic violations can negatively impact your car insurance rates in Mississippi:

Moving Violations

Nonmoving Violations


In Mississippi, as in most other states, the consequences of a speeding ticket can extend far beyond immediate fines, license suspension, and jail time. Despite Mississippi’s low percentage of speeding-related deaths in 2020, it’s important to know how a speeding ticket impacts your premium. For example, with Allstate, your yearly insurance premium can jump from an average cost of $1,821 to $2,015 after just one speeding ticket. Keep in mind, however, that there are ways to mitigate the cost increase after receiving a ticket. You can take a defensive driving course, boost your credit score, and explore different insurance providers in the industry to search for the lowest rates.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will my speeding ticket stay on my record in Mississippi?

Generally, a speeding ticket remains on a driving record indefinitely in Mississippi unless dismissed.

Can I get a speeding ticket off my record in Mississippi?

According to the Mississippi state legislature, a driver without a previous violation on their record is eligible for ticket dismissal upon completion of a traffic safety course. However, a driver can take a course for ticket dismissal only once in their driving career.

How do I pay a speeding ticket in Mississippi?

Often, you can pay your speeding ticket in Mississippi online by visiting the Plead and Pay website: Depending on your court location, you may also pay via mail or in person.

How many points is a speeding ticket in Mississippi?

Mississippi does not use a point system to track traffic violations, unlike some U.S. states. In Mississippi, every traffic violation, including a speeding ticket, stays on a driver’s record indefinitely.


  1. Speeding. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. (2023).

  2. MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972. Mississippi Safety. (1972).