Published: May 11, 2022Updated: August 15, 2022

Guide to Car Insurance in Nebraska

Pay nearly a third less than the rest of the country for car insurance in the Cornhusker State.

Find The Right Insurance

Let our Perfect Policy Connectors do the work for you!

Auto Insurance(855) 909-2474Request a free quote

Nebraska comes in at No. 12 for the states with the lowest car insurance rates in the U.S. That’s a good thing, as you can get the required liability and uninsured motorist coverage for affordable prices. If you’re one of the state’s 1.4 million drivers, here’s what you need to know before you hit the road.

Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Nebraska

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: $25,000
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident

How Much Car Insurance You Need

Minimum coverage has its appeal because it represents the lowest price you can pay for car insurance. However, if you hit someone’s car and they have injuries or property damages, the amounts could easily exceed the minimum amounts of $50,000 and $25,000, respectively.

If that’s the case, under Nebraska’s at-fault law, you’d be responsible for paying these costs out of pocket. The same goes for someone with no insurance or too-low limits who hits your car. How can you protect yourself financially?

The solution is to raise your liability limits as high as you can afford, up to $500,000 if you have considerable assets. But liability and uninsured motorist coverage aren’t enough. If you cause a car accident, you’ll also want to be covered for your property damages and bodily injury costs, so consider the following coverages.

  • Collision: Collision insurance pays for your property damages in collisions you cause. The limit is your car’s actual market value (AMV).
  • Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage also pays for your property damages, but it only covers incidents other than collisions, such as car theft and vandalism. Like collision coverage, the comprehensive coverage limit is also your AMV.
  • Medical payments: Medical payments coverage will pay for your injuries and your passengers’ injuries in accidents you cause. Match your medical limit with your bodily injury limit.

Average Auto Insurance Rates in Nebraska

As a driver in Nebraska, you can expect to pay 33 percent less than the national annual average for car insurance, with average rates of only $807.30 a year. Here’s what most people pay by coverage type.

  • Liability: $431.71
  • Collision: $272.97
  • Comprehensive: $269.191

But take these average costs with a grain of salt. We’ve seen annual rates as low as $167 for adults with a clean driving record and as high as $5,238 for 16-year-old drivers. Similarly, drivers with a DUI and young drivers under 25 will pay more for car insurance. Get car insurance quotes from multiple companies to determine the actual cost of auto insurance in Nebraska for you.

Car Insurance Companies in Nebraska

  • Allied
  • Allstate
  • American Family
  • Farmers
  • Farmers Mutual of Nebraska
  • GEICO
  • Iowa Farm Bureau
  • Iowa Mutual
  • Nationwide
  • Progressive
  • Safeco
  • State Farm
  • The Hartford
  • USAA

How to Lower Car Insurance Premiums

  1. Ask your insurance agent for discounts. You may be able to get a significant cut for taking a defensive driving course, driving your car less, or even paying early.
  2. If you have multiple policies with multiple providers, bundle all your insurance policies with the same company.
  3. Lower your limits.
  4. Raise your deductibles.
  5. Drop coverages that Nebraska doesn’t require.

Proof of Insurance

If you’re caught driving in Nebraska without proof of insurance in either physical or digital form, you could face a license or registration suspension until you pay a $50 fee for each. After that, you’ll need to carry proof of minimum insurance, known as an SR-22 certificate, for three years following your reinstatement date.

Nebraska State Driving Laws

At-Fault State

Since Nebraska is an at-fault state, the party at fault in an accident will be responsible for the other party’s property damages and bodily injury costs, as well as their own. The state’s modified comparative negligence law means you can receive compensation even if you were partially at fault in an accident, as long as it was less than 50 percent. If you’re less than 50 percent at fault but still somewhat at fault, your payout will be reduced by your degree of fault.

Uninsured Motorists

As we highlighted earlier, you must buy uninsured motorist coverage as a driver in Nebraska. The good news? It includes coverage for hit-and-runs, collisions in which someone hits your car and flees the scene, preventing you from obtaining their insurance information.

The bad news is that you can’t stack the coverage limits of multiple cars, like you can in some other states. In other words, your limit remains the same regardless of the number of cars covered under your uninsured motorist coverage.

DID YOU KNOW?

Only 9 percent of Nebraska’s drivers are uninsured, which is 34 percent less than the national average, according to an estimate from the Insurance Research Council.

DUI Penalties in Nebraska

Offense number 1 2 3 4 5
Charge Class W misdemeanor Class W misdemeanor

BAC 0.15% or higher: Class I misdemeanor

Class W misdemeanor

BAC 0.15% or higher: Class IIIA felony

Class IIIA felony Class IIA felony

BAC 0.15% or higher: Class II felony

Length of license revocation 6 months

BAC 0.15% or higher: 1 year

18 months

BAC 0.15% or higher: 5-15 years

15 years 15 years 15 years
Ignition interlock device 6 months

BAC 0.15% or higher: 1 year

1 year Determined by court Determined by court Determined by court
Fine None BAC 0.15% or higher: $1,000 $1,000 $2,000 $2,000
Imprisonment None None 60 days

BAC 0.15% or higher: 180 days minimum

180 days minimum

BAC 0.15% or higher: 1 year

2 years minimum
Use of a continuous alcohol monitoring device or abstention from alcohol None None 60 days minimum

BAC 0.15% or higher: 120 days minimum

BAC 0.15% or higher: 120 days 180 days minimum2

Seat Belts

Only adults over 18 need to wear their seat belts in Nebraska, and only in the front seat. This law is under secondary enforcement, so the police can ticket you only if you’re committing another traffic violation at the same time.

Distracted Driving

Handheld use of electronic devices while driving is banned in Nebraska, including texting and driving.3 If you are caught texting and driving, you’ll receive three points on your driving record per violation, plus fines.

  • First offense: $200
  • Second offense: $300
  • Subsequent offense: $500

Teen Driver Restrictions in Nebraska

Restriction type Learner’s permit Provisional operator’s permit Operator’s license
Minimum age 15 16 17
Supervision Licensed driver 21 or older in front passenger seat If driving between 6 a.m. and 12 a.m.: None required

If driving between 12 a.m. and 6 a.m.: Parent, guardian, or licensed driver at least 21

None required
Passengers No restrictions First 6 months: No more than 1 passenger who is under 19 and not an immediate family member

After the first 6 months: No restrictions

No restrictions
Curfew No restrictions 12-6 a.m. unless supervised or driving to/from school or work activity No restrictions4

Statute of Limitations for Claims

Don’t wait more than four years following a car accident to file property damage or personal injury claims. Beyond this statute of limitations, your car insurance provider doesn’t need to give you the coverage your insurance policy states.

Notification Laws for Cancellation and Non-Renewal

Companies can’t cancel your policy in the middle of its term for no reason. Rather, it must be due to nonpayment, a license suspension or revocation, or fraud on your application. If a company cancels your policy for nonpayment, it has 10 days to notify you before the policy expires. That window is much bigger, at 60 days, for all other cancellation reasons.

On the other hand, companies can choose not to renew your policy for any reason as long as they give you 60 days’ notice beforehand.

Self-Insurance

Self-insurance is allowed in Nebraska and is at the discretion of the state’s Department of Insurance. However, you must own 25 vehicles to be eligible.

Car Inspections

Car inspections are a requirement in Nebraska for the following:

  • Out-of-state vehicles
  • Assembled vehicles
  • Vehicles with a Salvage Certificate of Title but for which you are applying for a regular Certificate of Title
  • Any vehicle the DMV requests an inspection for

Here’s how to get your inspection done:

  1. Get the $10 fee.
  2. Bring your ownership documents.
  3. Go to your local county treasurer (https://dmv.nebraska.gov/locations/county-treasurers).

SR-22s

An SR-22 is a certificate you can get from your insurer that proves you meet the state’s insurance requirements. However, not everyone needs this certificate, which indicates the driver is at an increased level of risk.

Reason for SR-22 How long you must have an SR-22 on file from your license reinstatement date
12 or more points in less than 2 years 3 years
No proof of insurance 3 years
Court-ordered revocation 3 years
Accident suspension Only on date of license reinstatement
Unsatisfied judgment suspension Only on date of license reinstatement
Default in payment or unsatisfied judgment Only on date of license reinstatement
Employment driving permit Until permit expires
Medical hardship driving permit Until permit expires
Ignition interlock permit Until permit expires (if it’s in your name)

If you are required to get an SR-22, expect higher car insurance costs due to your high-risk status.

Defensive Driving

Nebraska may require you to take a defensive driving course in these circumstances:

  • You are under 21 and have already accumulated six points on your driving record.
  • You’ve had a reinstatement of point revocation.
  • You have an employment driving permit.

If you complete the defensive driving course voluntarily, you will get two points deducted from your driving record. You can take a class once every five years. Here is a list of approved courses from the DMV.

Driving school Mailing address Phone number Fax number Website More information
Cornhusker Driving School P.O. Box 3463

Omaha, NE 68103

402-341-4555 N/A www.cornhuskerdriving.com N/A
Custom Diesel Drivers Training Inc. 5020 L St.

Omaha, NE 68117

402-894-1400 402-894-0660 www.besttruckdriverstraining.com 8-hour courses
National Safety Council, Nebraska Chapter 11620 M Circle

Omaha, NE 68137

402-898-7361 N/A www.safenebraska.org Available in English and Spanish
Nebraska Safety Center 1917 W. 24th St.

UNK West Center 227E

Kearney, NE 68849

308-865-8256 N/A www.unk.edu/drive N/A
Nebraska Safety Council 3270 Folkways Blvd., Suite 201

Lincoln, NE 68504

402-483-2511 N/A www.nesafetycouncil.org Available in English and Spanish
One Solution 1811 W. 2nd St., Suite 210

Grand Island, NE 68802

308-380-5378 N/A https://sites.google.com/site/nebonesolution/ Available in Spanish
Southeast Community College Jack J. Huck Continuing Education Center

301 S. 68th St. Place

Lincoln, NE 68510

402-437-2700 N/A www.southeast.edu N/A
Traffic Safety Plus 3043 N. 70th St., Suite 2

Lincoln, NE 68507

402-466-0033 N/A www.trafficsafetyplus.org N/A
Road-Ready Driver Training School 2900 O St., Suite L

Lincoln, NE 68510

402-477-5933 402-477-7105 www.roadready.biz N/A
Sarpy County Safety Program 8335 Platteview Road

Papillion, NE 68046

402-593-1564 N/A www.sarpy.com/sheriff/safetyprogram N/A

Civil Suit Thresholds

If you want to sue for damages following a car accident, you can; there’s no monetary or serious injury threshold you need to meet. You can seek uncompensated damages, including economic damages like lost wages and medical expenses, and non-economic damages, like anxiety, pain, and suffering.

Reporting Car Accidents

Were you involved in an accident that included an injury, property damage, or death worth over $1,000? Report it to the police within 10 days to avoid being convicted of a Class V misdemeanor and having to pay a fine of up to $100.

How Companies Determine Pricing

Companies in Nebraska use both credit scores and gender to calculate auto insurance costs. That’s bad news for people with a low credit score and for males, as they’ll pay higher premiums than their counterparts with a good credit score and females.

Total Loss

Nebraska has a 75 percent total loss threshold. What does that mean exactly? Well, if your car’s damages amount to more than 75 percent of its AMV, it’ll be declared a total loss. Instead of repairing it, you’ll get reimbursed for the AMV, provided you have comprehensive coverage.

Nebraska Contact Information for Drivers

How to Get a New Car Registration

  1. You can get a new registration at a county treasurer’s office or by mail. Find your local office at https://dmv.nebraska.gov/locations/county-treasurers.
  2. When applying, include your proof of insurance (which must be the original document), proof that you’ve paid the sales/excise tax, and a copy of the signed lease agreement if you have a leased vehicle.
  3. Pay the $15 registration fee.

How to Renew Your Car Registration

You can renew your registration online at https://www.nebraska.gov/dmv/vtr/start.cgi or follow these steps to renew by mail or in person:

  1. Gather your registration document and original proof of insurance.
  2. Find your county treasurer’s contact information at https://dmv.nebraska.gov/locations/county-treasurers.
  3. Send or bring the required documents.
  4. Pay the $15 fee, plus any money you owe for local fees and taxes.

How to Get a Car Title Copy

  1. Print out this form: https://dmv.nebraska.gov/sites/dmv.nebraska.gov/files/doc/dvr/forms/dupttlapp.pdf.
  2. Fill it out.
  3. Get it notarized.
  4. Gather the $14 fee.
  5. Mail the form and fee to your county treasurer’s office (find your location at https://dmv.nebraska.gov/locations/county-treasurers).

How to Contact the Nebraska Department of Insurance

  • URL: https://doi.nebraska.gov/contact
  • Phone number: 402-471-2201
  • Mailing address:
    • Terminal Building
    • 941 O St., Suite 400
    • Lincoln, NE 68508-3639

Cost to Repair Your Car

Car repairs in Nebraska cost $364.38 on average, 5 percent less than the national average. That’s $149.76 for labor and $214.62 for parts.5

Motor Vehicle Theft and Traffic Fatality Rates in Nebraska

Motor Vehicle Theft

Surprisingly, given the number of rural areas, Nebraska’s motor vehicle theft rates are 6 percent more than the national average. In 2020, there were 261 auto thefts per 100,000 inhabitants.6 Rates were higher in cities like Omaha, according to data from the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB).

Metropolitan statistical area Rate of motor vehicle theft per 100,000 inhabitants in 2020
Omaha-Council Bluffs, NE-IA 397
Sioux City, IA-NE-SD 232
Lincoln, NE 178
Grand Island, NE 166

To decrease your chances of car theft, the NICB recommends parking in either private garages or, if you have to park on the street, busy and well-lit areas. Install warning and immobilizing devices in your vehicle, as well as tracking devices in case your vehicle is stolen. Aside from making auto theft less likely, these protective add-ons may qualify you for a discount on car insurance.

Learn more about catalytic converter theft, which has become increasingly common in the U.S., which increased by 27 percent in December 2020 from the prior month, according to NICB data.

Traffic Fatalities

Fortunately, Nebraska has a low rate of traffic fatalities. In 2019, there were only 248 traffic deaths per 100 million vehicle miles driven, which is 185 percent less than the national average.7

FYI:

Thirty-eight percent of Nebraska’s motor vehicle fatalities in 2019 happened to occupants of cars, while 37 percent happened to occupants of pickups and SUVs.

Conclusion

That’s the most important information about driving and auto insurance in Nebraska. If you want more information about insurance in the U.S. in general, read our state driving guide. If you want to learn even more about car insurance in Nebraska, continue to our section of frequently asked questions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, you can drive in Nebraska with an out-of-state permit. However, you will have to adhere to your state’s driving restrictions, like having a licensed driver supervising, for example.

  1. You must have proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful status, two documents proving your principal Nebraska address, and your Social Security number.
  2. You must be at least 17 years old.
  3. You must pay the required fee based on the length of time your license is valid.
  4. You must pass a driving test.

If you fail three driving tests in a row, you can reapply when you show proof that you completed a DMV-approved driver training course, which must include six hours behind the wheel and six hours in a classroom. The alternative is proving you held a learner’s permit for at least 90 days.

Licensing a car in Nebraska can cost $9.50 to $28.50, depending on how long your license is valid.

How long the license is valid (in years) Fee Security fee Total fee
1 or less $5 $4.50 $9.50
1-2 $10 $4.50 $14.50
2-3 $14 $4.50 $18.50
3-4 $19 $4.50 $23.50
5 $24 $4.50 $28.50

Most cars in Nebraska need two license plates. However, it varies by vehicle type, according to the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles.

Type of license plate How many you need
Passenger 2
Motorcycle 1
Handicap Passenger vehicles: 2

Mini-trucks, motorcycles, and autocycles: 1

Citations

  1. 2018/2019 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2022).
    https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/publication-aut-pb-auto-insurance-database.pdf

  2. Nebraska Revised Statute 60-6,197.03. Nebraska Legislature. (2022).
    https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-6,197.03

  3. Distracted Driving In Nebraska. Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. (2017, Jan 9).
    https://dhhs.ne.gov/Reports/Distracted%20Driving%20In%20Nebraska%20-%202017.pdf

  4. Learner’s Permit (LPD). Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. (2022).
    https://dmv.nebraska.gov/dl/learners-permit

  5. 2020 State Repair Cost Rankings. CarMD. (2020, Jul).
    https://www.carmd.com/wp/vehicle-health-index-introduction/2020-carmd-state-index/

  6. 2019 Crime in the United States. Federal Bureau of Investigation. (2019).
    https://ucr.fbi.gov/crime-in-the-u.s/2019/crime-in-the-u.s.-2019/topic-pages/tables/table-4

  7. Fatality Facts 2019. Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute. (2021, Mar).
    https://www.iihs.org/topics/fatality-statistics/detail/state-by-state