Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: September 18, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Pennsylvania

Your car insurance premium can increase by nearly 20 percent with a speeding ticket on your record.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In 2021, 4 out of 10 motor vehicle fatalities in Pennsylvania involved speeding, a total of 457 car crashes and 500 deaths. Damages and deaths aside, if you’re found guilty of speeding in Pennsylvania, you could face points on your driver’s license, fines, surcharges, a license suspension, and a higher premium for your car insurance. Is it worth it? Of course not.

How Speeding Tickets Affect Auto Insurance Rates in Pennsylvania

Car insurance rates in Pennsylvania rise by an average of 19 percent after a driver gets a speeding ticket. For the average person paying around $1,496 annually, their rate will go up to $1,787.

However, car insurance premiums depend on many factors aside from your driving history, such as your ZIP code and age. You may or may not get comparable rates from different car insurance companies, so request insurance quotes from multiple providers to find the cheapest car insurance.

How to Find Cheap Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

Although it’s inevitable that your rates will go up after getting a speeding ticket, there are ways to lower your auto insurance costs.

  1. Take a driver safety training course. Drivers age 55 and older can get a discount of at least 5 percent if they take a driver improvement course, available once every three years. See below for the state-approved courses that will land you a discount.
Organization Website Phone number
AAA Check local offices
AARP 1-888-227-7669
Seniors for Safe Driving 1-800-559-4880
Safe2Drive 1-800-763-1297
  1. Get minimum coverage. Pennsylvania requires $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person and $30,000 per accident, $5,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident, and $5,000 of medical benefits per accident. Minimum coverage is always the cheapest option, although it won’t cover your property damage in accidents you cause or non-collision events like hail storms or vandalism.
  2. Choose limited tort. Pennsylvania allows you to choose between limited and full tort, of which the former is more affordable. With limited tort, you can sue in a civil suit for your economic losses, but you won’t be able to recover non-economic losses, i.e., compensation for pain and suffering, unless you had a serious injury. In other words, while limited tort may be cheaper, you probably won’t be able to win as much compensation in a civil lawsuit.
  3. Raise your deductible. Raising your deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage could lower your premium.
  4. Drop coverages. You may not need collision and comprehensive coverage on an old, non-financed car. You can also consider eliminating uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage or other add-ons like roadside assistance, funeral benefits, or loss of income.
  5. Reject stacking. Pennsylvania allows “stacking” for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM), which means that limit is multiplied by your number of cars, increasing the limit for each vehicle. However, if you choose not to stack your UM/UIM, your premium will be lower.
  6. Ask for discounts. Each company offers its own unique discounts; ask your agent which ones apply to you.
  7. Join the Assigned Risk Plan. Join Pennsylvania’s Assigned Risk Plan, which all licensed insurance companies in the state must participate in. To get matched with an insurer, call 401-946-2800.1


Pennsylvania has the sixth-lowest rate of uninsured drivers in the U.S., with only 6 percent of Pennsylvanians driving without insurance. The national average is 12 percent.2

Penalties for Speeding in Pennsylvania

Aside from raising your car insurance premium, speeding can result in points on your driver’s license, fines, surcharges, and license suspensions.


Speeding will add between two and five points to your driving record, according to PennDOT, the state’s Department of Transportation.3

Miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit or circumstance Points Suspension in days if violation occurs in active work zone Departmental hearing
6-10 2 0 No
11-15 3 15 No
16-25 4 15 No
26-30 5 15 No
31 and over 5 15 Yes
School zone 3 0 If 31 mph or over
Trucks on downgrades 3 0 If 31 mph or over
Emergency response area 2 0 No
Passing disabled vehicle 2 0 No


On top of points, you’ll also have to pay a fine for speeding, depending on how many miles per hour (mph) you were driving over the speed limit. Furthermore, if you drove 11 mph or more over the limit, your license will be suspended for 15 days automatically. Additionally, fines double for speeding in active work zones.4

Speed in miles per hour Fine in 25 mph zone Fine in 35 mph zone Fine in 40 mph zone Fine in 45 mph zone Fine in 55 mph zone Fine in 65 mph zone Fine in 70 mph zone
35 $45 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
36 $47 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
37 $49 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
38 $51 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
39 $53 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
40 $55 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
41 $57 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
42 $59 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
43 $61 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
44 $63 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
45 $65 $45 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
46 $67 $47 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
47 $69 $49 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
48 $71 $51 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
49 $73 $53 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
50 $75 $55 $45 N/A N/A N/A N/A
51 $77 $57 $47 N/A N/A N/A N/A
52 $79 $59 $49 N/A N/A N/A N/A
53 $81 $61 $51 N/A N/A N/A N/A
54 $83 $63 $53 N/A N/A N/A N/A
55 $85 $65 $55 $45 N/A N/A N/A
56 $87 $67 $57 $47 N/A N/A N/A
57 $89 $69 $59 $49 N/A N/A N/A
58 $91 $71 $61 $51 N/A N/A N/A
59 $93 $73 $63 $53 N/A N/A N/A
60 $95 $75 $65 $55 N/A N/A N/A
61 N/A $77 $67 $57 N/A N/A N/A
62 N/A $79 $69 $59 N/A N/A N/A
63 N/A $81 $71 $61 N/A N/A N/A
64 N/A $83 $73 $63 N/A N/A N/A
65 N/A $85 $75 $65 $45 N/A N/A
66 N/A $87 $77 $67 $47 N/A N/A
67 N/A $89 $79 $69 $49 N/A N/A
68 N/A $91 $81 $71 $51 N/A N/A
69 N/A $93 $83 $73 $53 N/A N/A
70 N/A $95 $85 $75 $55 N/A N/A
71 N/A N/A $87 $77 $57 $44.50 N/A
72 N/A N/A $89 $79 $59 $46.50 N/A
73 N/A N/A $91 $81 $61 $48.50 N/A
74 N/A N/A $93 $83 $63 $50.50 N/A
75 N/A N/A $95 $85 $65 $52.50 N/A
76 N/A N/A N/A $87 $67 $54.50 $44.50
77 N/A N/A N/A $89 $69 $56.50 $46.50
78 N/A N/A N/A $91 $71 $58.50 $48.50
79 N/A N/A N/A $93 $73 $60.50 $50.50
80 N/A N/A N/A $95 $75 $62.50 $52.50
81 N/A N/A N/A N/A $77 $64.50 $54.50
82 N/A N/A N/A N/A $79 $66.50 $56.50
83 N/A N/A N/A N/A $81 $68.50 $58.50
84 N/A N/A N/A N/A $83 $70.50 $60.50
85 N/A N/A N/A N/A $85 $72.50 $62.50
86 N/A N/A N/A N/A $87 $74.50 $64.50
87 N/A N/A N/A N/A $89 $76.50 $66.50
88 N/A N/A N/A N/A $91 $78.50 $68.50
89 N/A N/A N/A N/A $93 $80.50 $70.50
90 N/A N/A N/A N/A $95 $82.50 $72.50
91 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $84.50 $74.50
92 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $86.50 $76.50
93 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $88.50 $78.50
94 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $90.50 $80.50
95 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $92.50 $82.50
96 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $94.50 $84.50
97 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $96.50 $86.50
98 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $98.50 $88.50
99 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $100.50 $90.50
100 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $102.50 $92.50
101 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $94.50
102 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $96.50
103 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $98.50
104 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $100.50
105 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $102.50


Lastly, you’ll also have to pay $45 to $75 in surcharges, even if you were traveling just 6 mph over the speed limit.

Miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit Surcharge
6-15 $45
16-25 $60
26 or higher $75

What to Do If You Get Caught Speeding

You have two main options when you get a speeding ticket: Plead guilty and pay the fine, or plead not guilty and request a hearing.

Respond to the Citation

Regardless of how you plan to plead, you’ll need to respond to the citation within 10 days, or you could face arrest and license suspension.

Pay the Fine

If you’re pleading guilty, pay the fine, either online ( or in person at your local magisterial district court.

Request a Hearing

Your other option, if you dispute the facts of the case, is to plead not guilty and request a hearing.

At the hearing, you can have your own lawyer represent you or a public defender. The police officer who ticketed you and any witnesses will testify, and you can bring your own witnesses and testify yourself. In the end, the judge will decide the case.

If you are found not guilty, the security you posted will be returned to you, but if you’re found guilty, the security will go toward the fines and other charges you’re facing.

Appeal the Decision

If you disagree with the judge’s decision, you can appeal to a common pleas court within 30 days of the ruling. Ask the Clerk of Counts for a Summary Appeal form, and you will have a completely new trial.5

More Traffic Violations Affecting Car Insurance

While speeding is a common traffic violation, it’s not the only illegal driving behavior in Pennsylvania that can raise your auto insurance costs. The following violations can also bump up your premium:

  • Failure to:
    • Stop for a red light or a flashing red light
    • Yield half of the roadway to an oncoming vehicle
    • Yield to the driver at the right of the intersection
    • Yield to the oncoming driver when making a left turn
    • Stop for a stop sign
    • Yield for a yield sign
  • Improper passing
  • Improper backing
  • Careless driving
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Driving under the influence (DUI)


In Pennsylvania, failing to stop after an accident can be a third-degree misdemeanor if there is property damage only, a third-degree felony if you caused serious personal injury only, or a second-degree felony if you caused a death. Each charge includes a mandatory fine of at least $2,500, plus 90 days to three years or more in jail.


Of the fatal crashes involving speeding in Pennsylvania in 2021, 86 percent of them involved drivers who were going 26 mph or more over the speed limit. Maintaining control of your vehicle is difficult when you’re going so fast, potentially leading to property damage, injuries, and, in the worst-case scenario, death. To stay safe and keep your car insurance premium low, follow the speed limits whenever you’re driving in the Keystone State.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do speed camera tickets affect insurance in Pennsylvania?

Yes, speed camera tickets affect insurance premiums in Pennsylvania. In an active work zone, you’ll receive a ticket if you’re going 11 miles per hour or more over the speed limit. You’ll receive a written warning for the first offense, a $75 fine for the second offense, and a $150 fine for the third and subsequent offenses, according to the Statutes of Pennsylvania Title 75 § 3369.

Is it worth fighting a speeding ticket in Pennsylvania?

It is probably not worth fighting a speeding ticket in Pennsylvania unless you have evidence that you were not guilty of speeding. However, if you feel you are not guilty, you can request a hearing and be represented either by your own lawyer or a public defender. If you’re found not guilty, all the security you posted will be returned to you, and you won’t have to pay a fine.

How do I remove points from my license in Pennsylvania?

You can remove three points from your license in Pennsylvania by not committing any additional violation that results in points or a suspension or revocation of your driving privileges for 12 consecutive months, according to the state’s Department of Transportation (PennDOT).

How many points until you lose your license in Pennsylvania?

Your license will be suspended if you have accumulated six or more points or if you’re convicted of driving 26 miles per hour or more over the speed limit. A first suspension will last 90 days, and subsequent suspensions will last for 120 days, according to the Pennsylvania Driver’s Manual.


  1. Automobile Insurance Guide. Pennsylvania Insurance Department. (2008, Mar).

  2. One in Eight Drivers Uninsured: $13 Billion Spent in 2016 to Protect Against Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers. Insurance Research Council. (2021, Mar 22).

  3. THE PENNSYLVANIA POINT SYSTEM FACT SHEET. Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. (2022, Aug).

  4. § 3326. Duty of driver in construction and maintenance areas or on highway safety corridors. Pennsylvania State Legislature. (2023).

  5. Special Court Administration FAQ. Cumberland County Pennsylvania. (2023).