The minimum coverage in Utah includes liability coverage and personal injury protection (PIP). PIP is an extension of medical payments coverage that covers lost wages and childcare. The minimum amounts required to drive in the state are as follows:
- Bodily injury liability per person: $25,000
- Bodily injury liability per accident: $65,000
- Property damage liability per accident: $15,000
- PIP: $3,000
The total minimum liability limit is $105,000. We recommend getting a $500,000 liability coverage limit and $500,000 worth of PIP and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Additionally, we suggest you get collision and comprehensive coverage with limits as high as your car’s actual market value.
Utah is a no-fault state, hence the required PIP coverage. While property damage liability claims are similar in no-fault states vs. liability states, each party pays for its medical expenses in no-fault states. In Utah, you can file a lawsuit for economic damages and noneconomic damages from permanent disfigurement, permanent disability or bone fracture only after your PIP policy pays the first $3,000.2
Utah’s negligence laws are modified comparative, meaning accident victims’ recoveries are limited if their fault exceeds a certain percentage. In Utah, victims can receive money only if they’re less than 50 percent at fault for the accident. For example, if you are 51 percent at fault, you cannot recover any damages; however, if you are 49 percent at fault, you can receive 49 percent of the damage reward.3