Utah is a no-fault state, which means that in an accident with an at-fault driver, you’d file a third-party claim for property damage under their liability insurance and a first-party claim for medical costs under your personal injury protection (PIP).
Utah has comparative negligence laws. This means that if an accident victim wants to recover money for their losses, they can sue in a civil court. However, their percentage of fault must be less than the rest of the parties involved in the car crash. Note, though, if they were any percentage at fault, their compensation would be reduced by the same percentage.
Statutes of Limitations for Claims
Filing a property damage or personal injury claim? Make sure to get it to your insurance company within three or four years of the incident, respectively. These are the statutes of limitations for car insurance claims in Utah.
Cancellation and Nonrenewal Notification Laws
If a Utah insurance company wants to cancel your car insurance, it must notify you 30 days prior to the expiration date or 10 days if the cancellation is due to your nonpayment of premiums. For nonrenewal, the notification must be 30 days before your expiration date.