Auto insurance is required in Arkansas. Every car owner in Arkansas needs to purchase a state minimum of liability coverage. The minimum liability you need to carry by law is as follows:
When you apply for liability coverage in Arkansas, your provider must offer you the opportunity to purchase coverage for uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily and property damage liability and personal injury protection coverage.
The Arkansas House of Representatives stated that 16 percent of drivers in Arkansas do not have insurance, which is higher than the national estimate of 1 in 8 drivers, or 12.5 percent. Other estimates from the Insurance Research Council put Arkansas’ rate of uninsured drivers at 19 percent, which would make it the eighth-highest rate in the U.S.3 The Arkansas State Police writes more than 100,000 citations for failing to provide proof of insurance every year.
With these statistics in mind, we strongly recommend you add uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to your policy. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage ensures your provider will cover you and your car if the other driver in an accident is at fault and either doesn’t have any coverage or not enough.