Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: August 11, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Arkansas

Going 15 miles per hour over the speed limit is a Class C misdemeanor in Arkansas.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In Arkansas, you cannot drive more than 30 miles per hour (mph) in an urban district or more than 65 mph in other locations, according to the state’s Department of Transportation. If you’re caught driving 15 mph over the speed limit, that’s a Class C misdemeanor. Go 20 mph over the limit and you could be charged with a Class B misdemeanor for reckless driving. How would either of these speeding-ticket charges affect you and your car insurance?

How Much a Speeding Ticket Will Impact Your Insurance

Premiums for auto insurance in Arkansas increase by an average of 25 percent following a speeding ticket. Keep in mind that comparing rates is difficult because insurance companies base auto insurance prices on a number of factors, including your driving history, ZIP code, and other demographic and vehicle information. Still, anyone who gets a speeding ticket will see higher average annual rates across all car insurance companies.

Annual cost of car insurance in Arkansas by company Clean driving record Record with speeding ticket Percentage difference
AAA $1,454 $2,181 50%
Alfa $2,044 $2,750 35%
Allstate $2,629 $2,842 8%
Cameron Mutual $1,720 $1,827 6%
Farmers $1,311 $1,702 30%
GEICO $987 $1,205 22%
Nationwide $1,361 $1,557 14%
Progressive $1,592 $2,319 46%
Sentry $2,619 $2,798 7%
Shelter $1,862 $2,535 36%
State Farm $1,300 $1,362 5%
The Hanover $4,183 $5,952 42%
USAA $1,108 $1,308 18%

If you were caught speeding, it’s inevitable that your insurance rates will increase. As long as the speeding tickets stay on your driving record, expect a higher insurance premium, as tickets raise your level of driver risk.

Finding Cheap Auto Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

You can still find some of the best auto insurance in Arkansas after getting a speeding ticket, even though it’ll be more expensive than when you had a clean driving record. These tips will help.

  1. Get the violation off your record: Your best option, if you’re eligible, is to get the violation off your record by attending driving school, appearing in court, and paying your fine. However, this option is only available if your ticket says “CPw/DS.” If it doesn’t, you’ll have to look for cheap auto insurance with a speeding ticket on your record, which is certainly a feat.
  2. Shop around: Don’t accept a first offer. Get quotes from multiple insurance providers that cover high-risk drivers and see who offers the lowest car insurance rate.
  3. Get minimum coverage: Arkansas only requires liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage.1 While we don’t recommend getting only liability coverage, as it only applies to other people’s injuries and damages and doesn’t cover you and your passengers in an accident, it is the cheapest option. As of 2020, data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners found that liability insurance in Arkansas cost only $477 annually, over $400 less than full coverage car insurance.2
  4. See what discounts apply to you: Even if you stick with your current company, the insurer might offer discounts you’re not aware of. For example, if a college student in your household garages their car at home while they’re away at school, you can get an insurance discount with some providers.
  5. Bundle policies: If you already have multiple types of insurance policies, like home and auto, bundle them under the same provider to save on both.
  6. Drive safely: If you take advantage of telematics or usage-based programs, you can pay for insurance based on your current driving habits, not your past ones. Usage-based insurance (UBI) monitors your driving behaviors, like your phone use while driving, speed, braking, acceleration, and mileage, and charges you based on how you drive. This is a great option for someone with a bad driving record looking to start a clean slate and become a safer driver, as well.


Travel time to work in Arkansas was an average of only 22 minutes in 2021, the 14th-shortest commute in the nation. If you have a short commute, or you’re part of the 10 percent of Arkansas residents who work from home, consider pay-per-mile insurance.3

The Cost of Speeding Tickets in Arkansas

If you speed less than 15 mph over the limit in Arkansas, you might receive three to four points on your driving record, but the violation isn’t a serious one and will not result in a fine or imprisonment. The financial impact will only be to your insurance premium.


Accumulation of points could be a problem. You’ll get a warning letter after 10 points, and after 14 or more points, a hearing will be scheduled, which could lead to probation or suspension of your driving privileges. If you don’t attend the hearing, you’ll get an automatic license suspension.

Miles per hour over the speed limit Points Serious violation?
1-5 3 No
6-10 3 No
11-14 4 No
15 and over 5 Yes
16-20 4 Yes
21-25 5 Yes
26-30 5 Yes
31-35 8 Yes
36-40 8 Yes
41 and over 8 Yes

However, if you drive more than 15 mph over the speed limit, you will face four to eight points on your record, plus other penalties depending on your offense number.4 Keep reading to learn about the potential consequences.

Speeding Misdemeanor

In Arkansas, driving more than 15 mph over the limit is a Class C misdemeanor that could result in a fine, imprisonment, or both.5 However, if you rack up three speeding tickets of any severity in the past 12 months, you’ll also end up with a Class C misdemeanor and the same penalties as follows.

Offense number Maximum fine Imprisonment
First $100 10 days
Second within a year $200 20 days
Third and subsequent within a year $500 Six months

Along with imprisonment, fines, and points on your record, the court may elect to impose some or all of these penalties:

  • Driver’s license suspension or restriction for one year maximum
  • Required attendance at a driving training school
  • A driver’s test retake, and any necessary proof of adequate sight/hearing for driving, or proof of physical/mental capacity to drive
  • Written themes or essays on safe driving (for minors only)
  • Probation (for minors only)


Across all ages, nearly 1 in 5 fatal motor vehicle crashes in Arkansas in 2021 involved speeding, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Among these speeding-related fatal crashes, 41 percent involved impaired driving — making speeding, drugs, and alcohol a deadly mix.

Reckless Driving Misdemeanor

Speeding is also considered “reckless,” which the state of Arkansas defines as driving with “wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” One example is driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit, which is also a Class B misdemeanor. If you’re caught driving recklessly, you may face a $5 extra fee along with imprisonment, a fine, or both, depending on your offense number and whether you caused any physical injuries.

Consequence of reckless driving First offense, no physical injury First offense, physical injury Second or subsequent within three years of first offense, no physical injury Second or subsequent within three years of first offense, physical injury
Imprisonment Five to 90 days 30 to 90 days 30 days to six months 60 days to one year
Fine $25-$500 $100-$1,000 $500-$1,000 $500-$1,000

What to Do After a Speeding Ticket

If you get a speeding ticket from the state, it’s easiest to pay it online via If you got your ticket from a municipality, you can pay on the municipality’s website, through the mail, or over the phone.

Your ticket will say whether or not you need to appear in court, and you can also look up your case at

Here are the main possibilities regarding court appearances.

  • Plea and arraignment only: This means you don’t need to appear in court; simply pay your ticket before your court date.
  • CPw/DS: Note that if the ticket says “CPw/DS,” it means you can keep the violation off your record by attending driving school, appearing in court, and paying the fine. If you fail to appear in court, the violation will remain on your driving record.
  • Mandatory court: You must appear in court.
  • Bond hearing: You must appear in court.
  • Trial: You must appear at a trial.
  • Teen court: For drivers ages 17 and younger, you must appear in court with a parent or guardian.6

More Traffic Violations That Affect Car Insurance

Speeding isn’t the only violation that can increase the cost of your car insurance in Arkansas. Here are some other violations to avoid:

  • Driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol
  • Driving while a license is suspended, revoked, disqualified, barred, denied, canceled, etc.
  • Driving without a license
  • Failing to file an accident report
  • Failing to use brakes, hazmat devices, headlight dimmers, lights, etc.
  • Committing a hit-and-run
  • Not using a seat belt
  • Parking in a handicapped zone
  • Texting while driving
  • Transporting liquor illegally

The Most Common Traffic Violations in Arkansas

Various forms of speeding are the most common moving violation in Arkansas. They make up a combined 35 percent of the state’s top 10 violations.

Traffic violation Number of violations in Arkansas between Jan. 1, 2022, and March 31, 2022 Percentage of all violations
Speeding over the regulated or posted speed limit and actual speed (requires detail) 16,219 31%
Driving with a suspended license 6,859 13%
Failing to appear in trial/court 6,602 13%
Driving with an expired or no license 5,627 11%
Failing to maintain liability insurance 5,235 10%
Careless and/or improper driving 2,688 5%
Not using seat belts 2,564 5%
Failing to show proof of insurance 2,034 4%
Speeding (does not require detail) 1,958 4%
Driving under the influence of alcohol 1,827 4%
Total 51,613 n/a


In the worst-case scenario, a second reckless driving offense in Arkansas could result in up to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000 if you caused physical injury. While speeding may seem like a victimless crime, especially on low-traffic, rural roads, speed limits exist to keep you and other drivers on the road safe. And sometimes, there are victims.

From 2011 to 2021, there were 1,207 people in Arkansas who died in speeding-related car crashes. This number accounts for 1 in 5 traffic fatalities. Avoid fines, points, penalties, license suspensions, and imprisonment — not to mention property damage, injuries, and death — by adhering to the speed limits around you.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get a speeding ticket off my record in Arkansas?

If your speeding ticket says “CPw/DS,” you can get it off your record in Arkansas by doing the following:

  • Attend driving school
  • Appear in court
  • Pay a fine

If that’s not an option, you can contest the ticket with the Office of Driver Services within 30 days of receiving your report. If the office believes the ticket is correct, you can file suit in the circuit court of the county you live in within 20 days of receiving notice that the ticket was correct.

From there, the court will review the violation. If the court finds it to be incorrect, the speeding ticket will be removed from your record, according to the 2020 Arkansas Code § 27-50-905. However, the burden will be on you to prove that the ticket should be removed.

What speed is considered reckless driving in Arkansas?

Going 20 miles per hour over the speed limit is considered reckless driving in Arkansas and is a Class B misdemeanor, according to the 2020 Arkansas Code § 27-50-308.

How many points is 15 miles per hour over the speed limit in Arkansas?

You will receive five points on your driving record for driving 15 miles per hour over the speed limit in Arkansas.

How long does a ticket stay on your record in Arkansas?

A ticket will stay on your insurance record for three years, or possibly longer for a commercial record. There’s also a history record from the time you received your license to the present day, according to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. However, these records are confidential and not available to the public. You’ll have to give certain information to an insurance company or employer so they can receive the record.


  1. Consumer Services – Consumers FAQ. Arkansas Insurance Department. (2023).

  2. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).

  3. Commuting Characteristics by Health. United States Census Bureau. (2023).

  4. Driver Improvements – Violations and Points. Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. (2023).

  5. 2020 Arkansas Code Title 27. JUSTIA US LAW. (2023).

  6. Little Rock Traffic Court. City of Little Rock Arkansas. (2023).