Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: June 12, 2023

Driving Without Insurance in Arkansas

For third and subsequent offenses, driving without insurance could land you up to a year in jail.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

At $879, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average annual cost of car insurance in Arkansas is below average. Despite that, the state has one of the highest rates of uninsured drivers in the country. Nineteen percent of drivers in Arkansas — nearly 1 in 5 — lack car insurance, according to the most recent Insurance Research Council data.

What are the penalties if you’re caught driving without insurance in Arkansas? Well, the consequences could include fines, license and registration suspensions, and, in the most extreme cases, imprisonment.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arkansas

The first time you’re caught driving in Arkansas without proof of insurance, you will be issued a traffic violation and a $25 fine. But that’s only if you actually carry liability insurance (the state’s minimum insurance) and just lacked an ID card or other form of proof when you were pulled over.

If you didn’t meet the state’s minimum requirements at all, the state will impound your license plate and your registration will be suspended 10 days after. You’ll have to pay a $20 reinstatement fee for your registration and license plate, plus another fee, depending on which offense number this is for you.

  • First offense: $50 to $250
  • Second offense: $250 to $500
  • Third or subsequent offenses: $500 to $1,000

Penalties for third and subsequent offenses may include up to a year in jail instead of or in addition to the fine.1

The bottom line? You don’t want to be caught driving without insurance in Arkansas, especially if you’re involved in an accident.

Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage

You must have at least the following amounts of liability coverage to drive legally in Arkansas.

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: $25,0002

Proof of Insurance

Your proof of insurance can either be a paper or digital insurance card. If your insurance company has a mobile app, you can likely access your insurance ID card on it.

Getting Insured After a Coverage Lapse

Getting insurance after you haven’t had it for a period of time will make it more difficult to find the lowest rates. Additionally, some companies may not want to insure you, as you’re more of a risk compared to someone with consistent coverage. However, the process of getting car insurance will work the same way. You should compare quotes from multiple providers, research insurers by reading reviews on, and pay your premium to begin coverage on your effective date.

How to Appeal Fines

In Arkansas, the appeals process will depend on your local circuit court. For example, in Fayetteville, you can appeal parking violations that you believe were made in error by submitting an appeals form 14 days from the violation date. You can do this online at Check with your local municipality for more information on the appeals process.

More Car Insurance Laws to Know in Arkansas

Here are the basics you need to know about car insurance as an Arkansas driver.

No-Fault State

Arkansas’ no-fault laws mean that after a car crash, each driver is responsible for their own medical costs under personal injury protection, or PIP.


The at-fault driver is still responsible for all property damages they caused, even in a no-fault state like Arkansas.

That said, Arkansas doesn’t require you to get PIP. The minimum requirement is just liability coverage, which pays for others’ injuries and damages in the event of a car accident. Still, we recommend getting PIP to pay for any losses above the other driver’s liability limits.

If you weren’t made whole after your losses, you could potentially receive compensation through a civil suit, provided you were less than 50 percent at fault in the accident due to the state’s modified comparative negligence laws.


When you buy car insurance in Arkansas, your agent or broker must offer you two insurance discounts, though you have to qualify to receive them.

  • College graduates: You’ll receive a discount if you’ve graduated from college.
  • Defensive drivers: Drivers age 55 and older can save money on car insurance by completing a defensive driving course approved by the state’s Office of Driver Services.

Arkansas doesn’t specify the percentage of either discount, so check with your insurance agent for the specifics.

Premium Discrimination

Are you a male, someone with bad credit, or single, divorced, separated, or widowed? Expect higher car insurance rates than a woman, someone with good credit, or a married person. Though it may seem discriminatory, it’s legal for insurance companies to base pricing on these characteristics in Arkansas, though this isn’t the case in every state.

Low-Cost Insurance Program

If you’ve tried to find car insurance in Arkansas and can’t afford it, the state offers the Arkansas Automobile Insurance Plan (AIP) to those who are eligible. Since any agent in the state can write a policy through the AIP, talk to your agent about this option. You can also contact AISPO, the Automobile Insurance Plan Service Office behind the AIP, using the following information.

  • Mailing address:
    • Arkansas Automobile Insurance Plan
      P.O. Box 6530
      Providence, RI 02940-6530
  • Office hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m ET
  • Phone: 800-413-5808
  • Fax: 401-528-1361
  • Email: araip@aipso.com3

Insurance for High-Risk Drivers

Along with low-cost insurance programs, the Arkansas Insurance Department’s Property and Casualty Division has a pool for high-risk drivers who can’t find insurance through the voluntary market. Again, the best person to speak to about this option is your insurance agent, as little information is available publicly.


High-risk drivers can include people with a poor driving record, teen drivers, new drivers, people with a lapse in insurance coverage, people with bad credit, and other demographics.


Registering your motor vehicle in Arkansas for the first time requires an insurance card; a primary document, such as a bill of sale; and a Federal Odometer Statement.4 Expect the following fees, depending on your vehicle type and weight:5

Vehicle type Weight or CC displacement Registration fee Validation decal fee
Passenger cars and motor homes 3,000 pounds or less $17 $2.50
Passenger cars and motor homes 3,001-4,500 pounds $25 $2.50
Passenger cars and motor homes 4,501 pounds or more $30 $2.50
Half-ton and three-quarter-ton trucks and vans N/A $21 $2.50
1-ton trucks and vans used for personal transportation N/A $21 $2.50
Motorcycles 250 cc or more $7 $2.50
Motorcycles Less than 250 cc $3 $2.50
Motorcycle sidecars N/A $2 N/A
All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) N/A $5 N/A
Motorized bicycles (standard transmission) 50 cc or less $3 $2.50
Motorized bicycles (automatic transmission) 50 cc or less Exempt from registration N/A
Mobile/manufactured homes N/A $26 n/a
Hybrid vehicles N/A $50 $2.50
Electric vehicles N/A $100 $2.50


Driving without insurance in Arkansas is not only illegal, but it could also leave you in a dire financial condition if you cause an accident. Instead, find the best auto insurance in Arkansas from companies you can trust. Learn more about driving in the Natural State in our FAQ section below.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the penalty in Arkansas for driving without a license?

According to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, the penalty for driving without a license in Arkansas is three points on your driving record if your license has been:

  • Barred
  • Canceled
  • Denied
  • Disqualified
  • Revoked
  • Suspended
  • Withdrawn

If your license has been revoked, suspended, or canceled, you may also face the following consequences.

  • Imprisonment: Two days to 6 months
  • Fine: $500 maximum
  • License suspension extension: One year

Is driving with a suspended license a felony in Arkansas?

Driving with a suspended license is not a felony in Arkansas. Rather, it’s a misdemeanor, according to Arkansas Code § 27-16-303. If you’re convicted of driving with a suspended license in Arkansas, you may face two days to six months in jail, plus a fine of up to $500. In addition, your license may be suspended for up to one year longer than it’s already suspended.

When can you legally drive by yourself in Arkansas?

You can drive by yourself legally in Arkansas when you are 18 years old and have an intermediate driver’s license, according to Arkansas Code § 27-16-804. However, you have to meet the following qualifications:

  • You’ve had a valid instruction permit or learner’s license.
  • You have not had a serious accident or been convicted of a serious traffic violation for the past six months.
  • You have passed all license examinations.

What is the pull-over law in Arkansas?

The pull-over law in Arkansas, which stems from Arkansas Code § 27-51-310, means that if an authorized emergency response or law enforcement vehicle is parked and stopped at the scene of an emergency or a traffic stop and is flashing lights, you have to move into the farthest lane and stay there until you have passed the emergency or traffic stop. If you can’t change lanes, slow down and proceed with caution.

If you break this law, you could be convicted of a misdemeanor and face penalties such as the ones listed below.

  • Fine: $35 to $500
  • Imprisonment: 90 days maximum
  • Community service: 7 days maximum
  • License suspension: 90 days to 6 months


  1. 2010 Arkansas Code Title 27 – Transportation Subtitle 2 – Motor Vehicle Registration And Licensing Chapter 22 – Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance § 27-22-104 – Insurance required — Minimum coverage. JUSTIA US Law. (2023).

  2. Consumers FAQ. Arkansas Insurance Department. (2023).

  3. Arkansas Automobile Insurance Plan. AiPSA. (2023).

  4. Buying or Selling a Car. Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. (2023).