Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: September 6, 2023

Driving Without Insurance in Georgia

The state of Georgia has an auto insurance requirement. But what happens if you drive without it?

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In order to drive legally in Georgia, not to mention register your car, you need $100,000 worth of liability insurance coverage. Driving without insurance in Georgia is considered a misdemeanor, which can include a fine between $200 and $1,000, jail time, and suspension of your driver’s license and registration.1 The severity of the penalties will depend on the number of offenses and previous violations.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia

If the state finds out that your insurance has been terminated, you’ll have 30 days to provide coverage. A lapse occurs when you are without coverage for 10 or more days. If your insurance has lapsed, you’ll have to pay a $25 lapse fee and a $60 registration reinstatement fee for your first offense.2

Penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia First offense Second offense during a 5-year period Third offense during a 5-year period
Lapse fee $25 $25 $25
Reinstatement fee $60 $60 $160
Vehicle registration fee and ad valorem taxes Yes, varies Yes, varies Yes, varies
Suspension of driver’s license and registration 60 days 90 days 6 months

If you’re caught driving without insurance, you’ll have 30 days to provide it. If you don’t, you’ll have to pay another $160 fee, and the state will add three points to your driver’s license.

What Proof Is Required?

Your insurance company will submit your coverage information electronically to the state’s Department of Revenue. But when you’re driving, you can use any of the following as proof of insurance:

  • Insurance identification card (paper or digital)
  • Rental agreement (for a vehicle that is rented)
  • Fleet insurance policy card
  • Bill of sale and valid insurance binder
  • Self-insured card and certificate or self-insurance
  • Card for Georgia International Registration Plan


If you’ve been convicted multiple times for driving without insurance, the state will require you to carry an SR-22 form in order to reinstate your license. After 90 days, you’ll be eligible to have your license reinstated, but your insurance company will need to file an SR-22 with the state to prove that you have minimum coverage. You’ll have to maintain this form for three years.


An SR-22 is slightly different from an SR-22A, which is proof of a non-owners policy that you’ll prepay in full every six months.3

How to Find Insurance After a Lapse

Finding cheap car insurance in Georgia will be difficult after a lapse. However, there are a few ways to find insurance providers that will accept you and offer an affordable premium.

Take a Driver Improvement Course

Georgia allows you to get seven points deducted from your driving record every five years if you complete a certified driver improvement course.

Once you’ve completed the course, either mail the certificate of completion to the Department of Driver Services customer service center or to the following address:

  • Georgia Department of Driver Services
  • P.O. Box 80447
  • Conyers, Georgia 30013

With fewer points on your record, more car insurance companies in Georgia will want you as a customer.

Shop With High-Risk Companies

Some companies cater to high-risk drivers specifically. For example, Direct Auto, on our list of the best auto insurance companies in Georgia, is ideal for people with violations on their driving record, as well as people with a poor credit score, which is also considered to be high risk. Direct Auto accepts not only people convicted for driving without insurance, but also those convicted for:

  • Speeding
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving under the influence
  • Failure to appear in court
  • Failing to pay child support


Call, and we’ll shop the market for you and find a provider that will accept you, even with a lapse in coverage.

How to Appeal Your Fine

If you were fined and don’t think you deserved it, you can appear in court and enter a not-guilty plea to request a jury trial. At the trial, the judge will hear your case, but keep in mind that if you’re found guilty, you’ll have to pay your fine anyway.4

More Georgia Car Insurance Laws

Here are some basic laws you should know before driving in Georgia.

Minimum Coverage

Georgia requires that you carry liability coverage with the following limits:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability coverage per accident: $25,0005


If you are registering a new car, moving counties within Georgia, or moving to Georgia from another state, you’ll need to register your car within 30 days, either in person or by mail with your county tag office. Find your nearest county tag office to get started.

In order to register your vehicle, you’ll need the following documents:

  • Valid Georgia driver’s license or identification card
  • Proof of ownership (vehicle title, manufacturer’s certificate of origin, or registration certification)
  • Filled out Form MV-1
  • Proof of insurance

Once your car is registered, you’ll have to renew your registration within a month of receiving a renewal notice. You can do so in one of three ways:


Even though Georgia requires liability coverage, 12 percent of drivers do not comply, the same percentage as the national average.6 Perhaps part of the reason is cost; Georgia has the eighth-highest average cost of car insurance in the county, with an annual rate of $1,255, 20 percent more than the national average.

If you’re having trouble finding car insurance you can afford in Georgia, consider one of the best low-income auto insurance companies. The agents at these companies will help you customize a policy to your needs and your budget, with actions like having minimum coverage only, applying discounts, and bundling multiple policies. For example, getting liability coverage in Georgia costs an average of only $829 per year, $426 less than full coverage car insurance.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Georgia suspend your license for not having insurance?

If you have multiple convictions of driving without insurance, then yes, Georgia will suspend your insurance for 90 days. In order to reinstate it, you’ll need to get an SR-22 and pay a $160 reinstatement fee. However, for a first conviction, the state will suspend only your registration, not your license.

How long does a ticket stay on your record for not having insurance in Georgia?

A ticket for not having insurance in Georgia will remain on your record for two years unless you successfully complete a driver improvement course, in which case you can get all three points removed.

How many points does it take to lose your license in Georgia?

You need to accumulate 15 points within a 24-month period in order to have your license suspended in Georgia, according to the state’s Department of Driver Services.

What is a zero-point order in Georgia?

In Georgia, a zero-point order is when a court orders a defendant to take an approved driver safety course in order to reduce their base fine by 20 percent and not add any points to their record. Drivers in Georgia can use one zero-point order every five years from their violation or arrest date, according to Georgia Code Section 40-5-57.


  1. Driving Without Insurance. Lawson: the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson. (2023).

  2. Penalties and Fines for Lapse of Insurance Coverage, Registration Suspension and Reinstatement Process. Georgia Department of Revenue. (2023).

  3. Reinstatement FAQS – No Proof of Insurance (Multiple Convictions). Georgia Department of Driver Services. (2023).

  4. Prepare for a Traffic Violation Court Appearance. (2023).

  5. Auto Insurance. Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire. (2023).

  6. One in Eight Drivers Uninsured: $13 Billion Spent in 2016 to Protect Against Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers. Insurance Research Council. (2021, Mar 22).