Learn more about the car insurance requirements and laws in the state.
Find The Right Insurance
Let our Perfect Policy Connectors do the work for you!(855) 909-2474Request a free quote
Montana has one of the smallest populations in the U.S. and only about 812,000 licensed drivers. But if you own a car in Montana, you’re required to carry a minimum amount of car insurance.
Fortunately, most Montana drivers enjoy affordable rates. In 2020, the statewide average spending on car insurance was 20 percent lower than the national average. Learn more about driving in Big Sky Country.
To get behind the wheel legally in Montana, you must carry a minimum amount of auto insurance, with coverage limits of at least 25/50/20.1 Here are the types of auto insurance required in Montana as well as what these limits represent:
A minimum coverage policy is usually the cheapest option available. However, minimum coverage insurance may not offer adequate protection in the event of an at-fault accident. As a result, we recommend increasing your liability coverage limits. In Montana, raising your policy limits to $500,000 for both bodily injury and property damage liability is a good idea.
Aside from a minimum coverage policy, many drivers in Montana can benefit from optional car insurance coverages that provide more protection and fill gaps in a minimum coverage policy. Here are a few add-on coverages to consider as well as how much coverage we recommend:
Comprehensive insurance pays for your vehicle’s repairs after non-collision incidents. Typically, it covers theft, vandalism, weather-related damage, fires, floods, and falling objects. A standard comprehensive insurance policy provides a claim payout based on your car’s actual cash value (ACV).
Collision insurance is usually sold with comprehensive insurance as part of a full coverage insurance policy. It pays for your vehicle’s repairs following an accident that you cause. Most policies compensate you for the cost of repairs based on your car’s ACV.
To get a lower premium, drop collision and comprehensive insurance once the total cost of your annual premium and deductible is close to or exceeds your vehicle’s value.
In Montana, every car insurance company is required to offer uninsured motorist liability insurance when you purchase a minimum coverage policy, with limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. However, drivers have the option to reject this coverage.
We recommend opting in to uninsured motorist insurance, which pays for your medical bills and property damage costs if another driver hits you who is uninsured or does not have enough coverage to pay for your total losses. If you get uninsured motorist insurance, you should consider raising your coverage limits to at least $500,000 for the most protection.
Medical payments insurance will pay for your medical expenses and lost wages if you get injured in a crash, up to your policy’s limit. It will cover costs such as ambulance rides, surgeries, X-rays, hospital stays, physical therapy, and medications. We suggest getting at least $500,000 in medical payments coverage, but a lower limit might be adequate if you have a good health insurance policy.
Car insurance premiums in Montana are very affordable compared to the U.S. national average. For a full coverage policy, the average Montana driver spends $834 per year, about 20 percent less than the national average.2
Here are the average car insurance costs per policy type, according to 2020 data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners:
Although data shows that average Montana car insurance premiums are affordable, it’s important to remember that car insurance rates are personalized to each driver. One of the biggest factors that can affect your rate is the insurance company that underwrites your policy.
While researching car insurance costs in Montana, we found rates as low as $512 per year for someone with a clean driving record and credit history and as high as $1,986 per year for someone with a spotty driving history. Get car insurance quotes from multiple companies to compare pricing.
Not only is car insurance a legal requirement in Montana, but you must also carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. If you get pulled over, a law enforcement officer may ask to see your proof of insurance to confirm that you are insured and that you have the required amount of coverage.
If you can’t provide proof of insurance, you could face multiple consequences:
|Offense number||1||2 within 5 years||3 within 5 years||4 or more within 5 years|
|Jail time (instead of or in addition to fine)||10 days||10 days||6 months||6 months|
|Suspension of registration and license plates (restricted registration for work allowed)||None||90 days and until proof of insurance||180 days and until proof of insurance||180 days and until proof of insurance|
|Suspension of driver’s license||None||None||None||Until proof of insurance3|
When a law enforcement officer asks to see your proof of insurance, both paper ID cards and electronic ID cards are acceptable. Many insurance companies offer digital ID cards through a mobile app or an online customer portal so that you can access them anytime, anywhere.
Montana is an at-fault state. That means after an accident, the at-fault driver is responsible for compensating the other driver for their medical expenses (if they got injured), their vehicle repairs, and any other property damage costs.
Montana uses modified comparative negligence laws to determine compensation in personal injury claims. If you get injured in an accident, you are allowed to collect money from the other driver only if you are less than 50 percent responsible for the crash. So, if you were 55 percent responsible, you would not be eligible to receive any money from the other driver.
In addition, the amount of money you can receive is reduced by your percentage of the fault. For example, let’s say you are 40 percent responsible for a crash and you are seeking compensation from the other driver for your pain and suffering. In this case, you would be able to receive compensation for only 60 percent of your losses.
When you purchase a minimum coverage insurance policy in Montana, the insurance company is required to offer you uninsured motorist insurance with coverage limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. However, uninsured motorist insurance is not required in Montana, so you have the option to reject this coverage.
Although uninsured motorist insurance is not required, it’s still valuable. Data shows that about 9 percent of drivers in Montana carry no car insurance at all, which can put you at risk if an uninsured driver hits you.4
When you purchase uninsured motorist insurance in Montana and insure multiple vehicles, you’re allowed to stack your coverage. That means your chosen coverage limits get multiplied by the number of cars on your policy. So, for instance, if you had the minimum coverage limits of $25,000/$50,000 and two cars on your policy, your coverage limits would automatically increase to $50,000/$100,000.
A DUI is one of the most serious violations in Montana. DUIs stay on your driving record for 10 years, during which time you will likely pay much higher car insurance premiums. In addition, you could face these consequences for a DUI in Montana:
|Jail time||48 hours to 1 year||40 days to 1 year|
|License suspension||6 months||6 months|
|Ignition interlock device (maximum)||6 months||1 year|
Wearing your seat belt while driving or riding as a passenger in a car is a secondary law in Montana. You cannot get a ticket for failing to wear your seat belt unless you are breaking another law simultaneously, like speeding. The only exception is for passengers under 6 years old, who must ride in appropriate safety seats or booster seats.5
In Montana, using a cell phone while driving is legal. However, some cities have their own laws that restrict the use of handheld devices for drivers. In addition, drivers under the age of 21 and commercial vehicle operators are not allowed to text and drive in the state. The penalty for texting while driving for young drivers and commercial vehicle drivers is a fine of $200.
Teens in Montana are allowed to get a learner’s permit at 14.5 years old as long as they have consent from their parents. There is no fee to apply for a learner’s permit, no curfew, and no rule on transporting passengers for provisional drivers. However, teens can only drive with a licensed parent or guardian, or another licensed driver over the age of 18.
For the first year that a teen has their driver’s license, they are not allowed to drive alone between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless they meet one of the following criteria:
Teen drivers often pay the highest car insurance rates. To get a more affordable premium, shop around for car insurance companies that offer special discounts for new drivers, good students, and parents who add young drivers to their policies.
The statute of limitations for insurance claims in Montana is three years for personal injury claims and two years for property damage claims. After the statute of limitations ends, insurance companies are no longer obligated to pay out a claim. However, you’re allowed to file a claim after the statute of limitations is over and attempt to collect money.
If your insurance company cancels your policy due to insurance fraud, license suspension, or a change in your driving record, it has 45 days to notify you before the policy expires. If your insurance company cancels your policy due to nonpayment, it has 10 days to notify you before the expiration date.
Your insurance company can also refuse to renew your policy when the policy period ends. For example, if the company stops selling policies in your area or you get convicted of a DUI, it might not renew your policy at the end of the term. For nonrenewal, insurance companies have 45 days to notify you before your coverage ends. In the case of non-renewal, the insurance carrier must also provide a reason for why it is refusing to renew your coverage.
Montana allows drivers to self-insure rather than purchase traditional car insurance policies. The alternative is a $55,000 deposit that drivers file with the state treasurer. Drivers who choose this option are given a certificate of deposit, which serves as their proof of financial responsibility.6
Montana is one of only a handful of states that do not require emissions or safety inspections. However, many auto body shops offer voluntary emissions testing.
An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility. It verifies that you carry the minimum required car insurance in the state. In Montana, you are required to get an SR-22 only if your driver’s license has been revoked for certain felony convictions, such as negligent homicide while driving. Additionally, it’s required if you get more than 30 points on your driving record within a three-year period.
Defensive driving courses, which teach you how to drive safely and avoid hazards, are not a requirement in Montana. However, you might be able to get a car insurance discount of up to 10 percent by completing a state-approved course. Montana’s main defensive driving course is an in-person program that takes about four hours to complete.7
It’s a law in Montana that you must report an accident immediately if there are fatalities or more than $1,000 in injuries or property damage. Failure to report a crash meeting these requirements is a misdemeanor that carries a fine between $200 and $300 or 20 days in jail.
In most states, insurance companies will ask for your gender when calculating your car insurance premium. Because women are statistically less likely to drive recklessly and cause accidents, women typically pay lower car insurance rates than men. But in Montana, it’s illegal for car insurance companies to base their rates on gender.
In addition, in some states, it’s illegal to discriminate against drivers based on their credit score. However, Montana car insurance companies are allowed to run your credit when you apply for car insurance and use your credit score to determine your rate. In general, drivers with good credit pay less for car insurance.
If your car is badly damaged in a covered accident, your insurance company will determine if your vehicle is worth fixing or if it’s totaled based on a total loss formula.
In Montana, a car is considered totaled when the vehicle’s ACV (the value before the damage) is equal to or less than the estimated cost of repairs, plus the salvage value (the value after the damage).
Keep in mind that you can usually receive compensation for a totaled car only if you carry collision and/or comprehensive insurance, both optional policies.
In Montana, the average cost of vehicle repairs is $388.66, which is only 1 percent more than the national average. The breakdown is $154.91 for labor and $233.75 for parts.8
The rate of car theft in Montana is about average. According to 2020 data, there were 248 motor vehicle thefts in Montana per 100,000 residents. That’s only 1 percent higher than the national average.
However, some areas of Montana have more crime than others. For example, the car theft rate in Billings is 565 per 100,000 residents, which is much higher than the statewide average.
Montana has a very low rate of traffic fatalities, in large part because of the state’s low population density. In 2019, there were only 184 fatalities per 100 million miles driven. Montana’s traffic fatality rate for 2019 was 285 percent lower than the U.S. average.
Generally speaking, Montana is a very safe place to drive, and residents get the advantage of cheaper-than-average car insurance rates. But whether you’ve been living in Montana your entire life or you just moved to the state, it’s always a good idea to refresh your understanding of the car insurance requirements and driving laws so you can remain vigilant on the road.
Some of the best and cheapest car insurance companies in Montana are State Farm, USAA, GEICO, Progressive, and Nationwide. However, keep in mind that every driver pays a different rate for coverage. The only surefire way to find the cheapest car insurance company for you is to get multiple quotes and compare them.
In Montana, drivers need to be at least 18 years old to get car insurance. A parent can add a teen driver to their policy until the teen is old enough to purchase their own coverage.
On average, Montana drivers pay around $69 per month for full coverage car insurance. If you opt for liability insurance only, the average monthly rate drops to roughly $36 per month. But keep in mind that these are just average rates. Exact car insurance premiums depend on factors like driving record, credit score, ZIP code, and deductibles.
When you purchase a new car in Montana, you must get insurance before you can drive it. If you already have car insurance, your current policy might cover the new car automatically for a certain period before you need to add it to your policy. If you don’t already have car insurance, you will need to purchase a new policy before you can drive the car off the dealership lot and get it registered.
INSURANCE AND VERIFICATION. Montana Department of Justice. (2020).
2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).
Penalties for Driving without Auto Insurance by State as of January 2014. Consumer Federation of America. (2014).
One in Eight Drivers Uninsured. Insurance Research Council. (2021, Mar 22).
Seat Belts. Governors Highway Safety Administration. (2021).
INTRODUCTION TO MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY INSURANCE LAWS. Montana Legislative Services. (2009, Sep).
Defensive Driving 4 Hour Course. Risk Management and Tort Defense. (2022).
2020 State Repair Cost Rankings. CarMD. (2020, Jul).