Let’s look at what could happen if you drive without car insurance in Nebraska.
What Happens If You Drive Without Proof of Insurance?
If you’re convicted of not having proof of insurance, the state will suspend your license automatically, as you will have committed a Class II misdemeanor. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will also revoke your registration and suspend your license plate until you show proof of insurance. You will even face up to six months in jail, a fine of $1,000, or both.
However, if you show proof of your policy or financial responsibility within 10 days of your violation, the citation will be dismissed and you won’t have to pay the fine. The state will return your license plate and reinstate your registration once you pay a $50 fee and provide proof of insurance for three years. You can pay this fee via:
- Cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles
- Online at https://www.nebraska.gov/dmv/reinstatements/client.cgi
- Mail, with the following information:
- Date of birth
- License or Social Security number
- Current mailing address1
What Proof Is Required?
Your proof of financial responsibility can be any of the following:
- An SR-22 form that your insurance company will file with the state’s DMV stating that you have minimum coverage
- A $75,000 bond of a surety company or a bond with at least two individual sureties that own real estate in Nebraska
- A $75,000 cash bond through a bank draft, money order, or certified check
- A self-insurance certificate, which you can get from the state’s Department of Insurance
Mail your proof to the following mailing address:
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- 301 Centennial Mall South
- P.O. Box 94877
- Lincoln, NE 68509-4877
Or fax it to 402-471-8288.