Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: August 18, 2023

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Oregon

Car insurance rates increase by about 28 percent following a speeding ticket in the state of Oregon.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

From 2011 to 2021, there were 1,279 fatal crashes that involved speeding in Oregon, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. This number accounts for 29 percent of all fatal crashes. In 2017, speeding was a factor in 38 percent of deadly crashes, which was a decade high. Not only is speeding dangerous, it can also result in fines, license suspensions, and higher car insurance premiums. Let’s look at the real impact of speeding in the Beaver State.

Insurance After a Speeding Ticket in Oregon

How much do speeding tickets raise the cost of insurance? You can expect to pay the following prices for auto insurance in Oregon before and after getting a speeding ticket.

Company Clean driving record Record with speeding ticket Percentage difference
Allstate $1,981 $2,364 19%
American Family $1,452 $1,983 37%
Auto-Owners $1,363 $1,691 24%
California Casualty $1,387 $2,290 65%
Capital $1,144 $1,356 19%
Country Financial $1,382 $1,819 32%
Farmers $1,611 $2,072 29%
GEICO $1,106 $1,623 47%
Kemper $1,802 $2,342 30%
Nationwide $1,304 $1,630 25%
Progressive $1,486 $2,004 35%
State Farm $1,092 $1,216 11%
Travelers $1,413 $2,075 47%
USAA $1,062 $1,355 28%

On average, insurance costs increase by 28 percent for drivers who receive a speeding ticket. However, many factors besides your driving record affect car insurance rates, such as your credit score, age, gender, and marital or domestic partnership status, so take these averages with a grain of salt.


Oregon prevents insurance companies from raising premiums at renewal, canceling policies, or refusing to renew existing policies due to the driver’s credit history. Insurers can, however, use credit information to determine who they want to cover and for how much.1

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance

Finding cheap car insurance with a speeding ticket on your record is challenging but not impossible. Consider these options.

  1. Find a high-risk carrier: Some insurance companies cater specifically to high-risk drivers, which includes drivers with speeding tickets on their records. Find a provider that accepts substandard drivers and offers affordable rates.
  2. Join the Automobile Insurance Plan of Oregon: If you can’t find insurance that you can afford, Oregon will place you in an assigned risk pool and find an insurance provider that has to cover you by law.2 Talk to an insurance agent or broker to get connected, or contact the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP) directly.
    • Email address:
    • Fax number: 800-827-6260
    • Mailing address:
      • Western Association Automobile Insurance Plans
      • P.O. Box 7917
      • San Francisco, California 97104
    • Phone number: 800-227-46593
    • Office hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. PT
  3. Get minimum coverage: Oregon has extensive minimum car insurance requirements, including liability coverage, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. With minimum protection, you can get coverage for another party’s injuries and property damages and for any medical costs incurred by you and your passengers, even if you were at fault or if the driver at fault lacks insurance. However, minimum coverage won’t cover any of your property damages, so we recommend full coverage with comprehensive and collision coverage, along with uninsured motorist property damage coverage, to fill this gap.
  4. Ask for discounts: If you already have an insurance provider, contact them to ask for ways you can save. You never know what alumni association might come with a discount!
  5. Bundle policies: Bundle multiple policies under the same provider for savings. Home and auto insurance bundles are a common example.

The Cost of Speeding Tickets in Oregon

Oregon as a state has speeding laws for its highways, while each city has its own penalties for speeding on local roads. In this section, we’ll focus on the state penalties for speeding, which is a violation that only includes a fine — no imprisonment.

Penalty Class A violation (more than 30 mph over the speed limit) Class B violation (21-30 mph over the speed limit) Class C violation (11-20 mph over the speed limit) Class D violation (1-10 mph over the speed limit)
License suspension Under 100 mph over limit: 30 days maximum

Over 100 mph over limit: 30-90 days

None None None
Presumptive fine Under 100 mph over limit: $875

Over 100 mph over limit: $1,150

$525 $325 $225
Minimum fine Under 100 mph over limit: $225

Over 100 mph over limit: $230

$135 $85 $65
Maximum fine $2,000 $1,000 $500 $250


A presumptive fine is the amount the police officer who cited you must place on the citation. You’ll have to pay this amount by its due date. If you are asked to appear in court, the court can impose another fine in between the state’s prescribed minimums and maximums.4

What to Do if You’re Caught Speeding

If you’re caught speeding, you’ll first need to pay the presumptive fine issued by the police officer who pulled you over. Then, you can decide how to plead.

  • Guilty: If you plead guilty, the judge will sentence you immediately and take your previous driving record into account. In local courts, the judge will determine the fine or assessments. For violations that occurred on state highways, the amount is predetermined and you’ll be able to pay your bill online at
  • Not guilty: If you plead not guilty, it means you either deny that you were violating the law or you had a justifiable reason for doing so. You may or may not have to go to trial in front of a judge, present evidence, and call witnesses.5 Check your ticket to see whether a trial is mandatory.
  • No contest: If you plead no contest, you’re not admitting guilt, but you are waiving your right to a trial. Instead, the judge will assess your fine independently.

Other Traffic Violations That Affect Insurance

Speeding isn’t the only violation in Oregon that increases the cost of car insurance. Other moving violations to avoid include:

  • Failure to:
    • Obey traffic patrol member
    • Yield to pedestrians
    • Yield to an emergency vehicle or ambulance
    • Stop for bus safety lights
  • Vehicular assault
  • Careless driving
  • Reckless driving
  • Open container policy
  • Driving while license is suspended or revoked6

A bad driving history will raise your car insurance rates regardless of your ZIP code in Oregon. When you compare rates from multiple car insurance companies, include the same demographic information each time, as quotes based on different information will be inaccurate.


Even with imprisonment off the table, speeding isn’t worth it. This driving violation is costly and could prove deadly.

Wondering how long a speeding ticket stays on your record in Oregon, or have more questions related to speeding? Keep reading for answers to the questions we get asked the most.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does a speeding ticket stay on your driving record in Oregon?

A speeding ticket stays on your certified court print driving record for five years, according to Oregon’s 2022 Guide to Oregon Driving Records & Standard Conviction Abbreviation Manual. The entry will include the posted and actual speed you were driving.

How do I get a speeding ticket off my record in Oregon?

You cannot get convictions for state or municipal traffic offenses off your record, according to Oregon Revised Statutes 137.225. You’ll have to wait five years for the record to be expunged.

Is it worth fighting a speeding ticket in Oregon?

If the fines are high and you believe you have evidence that you were not guilty of speeding or that you had a justifiable reason for driving above the limit, then fighting a speeding ticket in Oregon may be worthwhile. If you can’t provide evidence, it makes more sense to plead guilty and pay the fines.

Can I just pay my ticket and not go to court in Oregon?

Yes, you can pay your ticket and not go to court in Oregon (unless your ticket says court is mandatory). Simply don’t request a court appearance and pay your ticket. Pleading no contest also prevents you from having a trial.


  1. Use of credit history or insurance score. OregonLaws. (2024).

  2. A consumer’s guide to AUTO INSURANCE. Answers & Action Division of Financial Regulation. (2023).

  3. Oregon Automobile Insurance Plan. AiPSA. (2023).

  4. Chapter 811 — Rules of the Road for Drivers. Oregon Legislature. (2021).

  5. Traffic Violation vs Traffic Crime. City of St. Helens Oregon. (2023).

  6. 2021 “Schedule of Fines” on Violations. Office of the State Court Administrator. (2021, Feb 1).