Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: June 21, 2023

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Oregon

Here are the typical auto insurance rates in Oregon.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

Auto insurance rates in Oregon are slightly cheaper than in the rest of the country. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners reports rates are 8 percent below the national average. Keep reading to learn how much you can expect to pay in the Beaver State.

Average Car Insurance Costs in Oregon

On average, Oregonians pay $99 a month for auto insurance or $1,191 each year. To get a better sense of how much you can expect to pay for car insurance in Oregon, we’ve broken down average costs by category.

By Age

Teens pay the most for auto insurance in Oregon at $3,711 each year. Families can save by adding teens to existing policies (rather than buying them separate policies) and shopping for teen driver discounts. Expect rates to drop at age 21 and again at age 25.

Age Average annual cost of car insurance
16 $4,433
17 $4,351
18 $3,905
19 $2,835
20s $1,908
30s $1,294
40s $1,289
50s $1,166
60s $1,242
70s $1,448

By Gender

Men pay more than women for auto insurance, in particular young male drivers versus young female drivers.

Gender Average annual cost of car insurance
Male $1,535
Female $1,518

By Marital Status

Typically, married people pay less for auto insurance. In Oregon, the difference is slight, at $50 annually.

Marital status Average annual cost of car insurance
Single $1,356
Married $1,306
Divorced $1,361
Widowed $1,359

By Coverage Level

In Oregon, full coverage costs about twice as much as minimum coverage. Full coverage affords you greater financial protection in the event of an accident.

Coverage level Average annual cost of car insurance
Minimum liability and PIP coverage $686
Full coverage car insurance $1,310


If you financed or leased your vehicle, your lender may require you to hold coverage above the state minimum.

By Credit Score

The higher your credit score, the less you pay for auto insurance. In Oregon, the difference in rates between those with poor credit and those with excellent credit is over $1,000.

Credit score Average annual cost of car insurance
Poor $2,246
Average $1,645
Good $1,397
Excellent $1,133

By Violation

Driving violations like speeding tickets, at-fault accidents and DUIs don’t only cost you in fines and penalties; they also raise auto insurance premiums, sometimes for years. In Oregon, a DUI can raise your rates by over 70 percent.

Driving history Average annual cost of car insurance
Clean driving record $1,310
Speeding ticket $1,679
Accident $2,019
DUI $2,249

By Company

Available to military members, veterans and their families, USAA offers some of the cheapest auto insurance rates across the country, including in Oregon. If you don’t qualify, GEICO and Farmers also offer low rates.

Company Average annual cost of car insurance
Allstate $1,457
GEICO $979
Farmers $992
Progressive $1,002
State Farm $1,135
Travelers $1,227
USAA $770

The Cheapest Car Insurance Company in Oregon

The following companies offer some of the cheapest insurance in Oregon.

Category Cheapest company Annual rate
Military/veteran USAA $770
Male teens GEICO $2,479
Female teens GEICO $2,368
Full coverage Country Financial $1,252
Minimum coverage State Farm $562
Married State Farm $1,248
Single State Farm $1,298
At-fault accident State Farm $1,734
Ticket American Family $1,549
DUI State Farm $1,998
Excellent credit State Farm $1,002
Good credit Country Financial $1,252
Low credit Country Financial $2,076

How to Save on Car Insurance in Oregon

The following strategies can help you lower your car insurance bill:

  1. Evaluate your existing coverage: Consider whether any of your coverages are unnecessary or redundant. For example, if you have a AAA membership, you can likely drop towing and labor coverage.
  2. Bundle policies: Many insurance companies offer discounts for purchasing multiple policies, sunny renters and auto. If you have policies with separate companies, see if you can save money by combining them.
  3. Switch providers: If your current provider is raising your rates, consider getting quotes from other companies and switching your car insurance if you find something cheaper. To find the lowest prices, compare quotes from at least three providers to see your Oregon car insurance rates, whether you want the state minimum coverage or full coverage. Your ZIP code is a factor that will affect rates as well, so a cheap car insurance company in Oregon will depend partially on where you live.

Minimum Car Insurance in Oregon

The state of Oregon has the following auto insurance requirements:1

Coverage Minimum required limit
Bodily injury liability (per person) $25,000
Bodily injury liability (per accident) $50,000
Property damage liability (per accident) $20,000
Personal injury protection (per person) $15,000
Uninsured motorist bodily injury (per person) $25,000
Uninsured motorist bodily injury (per crash) $50,000

Fault Law in Oregon

Oregon is an at-fault state, meaning that whichever party caused the accident is financially responsible for injuries and damages. Oregon still requires drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP), which helps pay for medical expenses, lost income and other losses you and your passengers sustained as a result of the accident.


If a driver hits you with their vehicle while you’re walking or biking, your PIP benefits apply to your injuries. If the driver doesn’t have insurance, your uninsured motorist coverage applies, as well.


An SR-22 is a certificate proving you hold the minimum state-required insurance. Typically, your insurance company will file the SR-22 for you for a small fee.

Here are some common reasons you would need an SR-22 in Oregon:

  • You have a conviction for a DUI, driving without insurance or another serious violation.
  • You are applying for a hardship or probationary permit.

You are reinstating your license after a suspension.


You must have an SR-22 on file when required, even if you don’t own a vehicle.

In Oregon, high-risk drivers who cannot find insurance elsewhere can seek coverage through the Automobile Plan of Oregon. To do so, contact the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans:

  • Email:
  • Phone: (800) 227-4659
  • Mailing Address:
    • Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans
    • P.O. Box 6530
    • Providence, RI 02940-6530
  • Office Hours: Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., PT time
  • Fax: (800) 827-62602


On average, Oregonians pay a little less for auto insurance than drivers in other states. In addition to bodily injury and property damage liability, Oregon requires all drivers to carry PIP and uninsured motorist coverage. State Farm, USAA, GEICO and Country Financial offer some of the lowest premiums.


To match customers with the best policies for their circumstances, leverages millions of data points amassed over our two decades in the industry. In addition to our robust database, we gather information on state-specific laws, coverage requirements, SR-22s and fault systems to give you an accurate sense of how much you’ll pay.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need insurance if you have a license but no car in Oregon?

If you have a license but no car in Oregon, you need an insurance policy only if you have an SR-22 or if a court has ordered you to maintain insurance. However, there are other situations in which you should consider buying a nonowners policy, even if the state doesn’t require it:

  • You want to avoid a lapse in coverage, which can increase your future premiums
  • You rent or borrow different cars regularly

Is driving without insurance illegal in Oregon?

Yes, driving without insurance is illegal in Oregon. It is a Class B traffic violation and is punishable by the following:

  • At least $265 in fines plus a $75 license reinstatement fee
  • License and registration suspension
  • Possible vehicle impoundment
  • SR-22 requirement for three years

Is car insurance more expensive in Portland, Oregon?

Yes, car insurance in Portland is more expensive than the state average by about 20 to 25 percent. Nationally, urban drivers tend to pay more for auto insurance than rural drivers because rates of accidents and auto theft are higher in cities.

According to the Oregon Department of Transportation, about one-third of all crashes in the state take place in Portland. That’s disproportionately high, considering the city only accounts for about one-seventh of the state’s licensed drivers. About half of the car thefts in Oregon occur in Portland, with an average of 30 cars stolen per day.

Does insurance follow the car or driver in Oregon?

Liability insurance follows the car, not the driver, in Oregon. That means if you let someone borrow your car and they cause an accident, your liability insurance will cover the other party’s injuries and damages. If the damages exceed your policy limits, the insurance of the person who borrowed your car (if they have any) may kick in as secondary coverage.

That said, unlike liability coverage, PIP follows the person. If you’re injured in an accident in someone else’s car, you can use your PIP to pay for medical bills and other losses.


  1. Minimum Insurance Requirements. Oregon Driver & Motor Vehicle Services. (2023).

  2. Oregon Automobile Insurance Plan. AiPSA. (2023).