Texas is an at-fault state, which means that in an accident, the at-fault party’s bodily injury liability pays for medical bills of those involved in an accident. The at-fault driver is also responsible for the other party’s property damages.
However, civil suits still occur after car crashes in Texas. The state has modified comparative negligence laws, which means that, in order to receive compensation, a driver must be 50 percent at fault or less. If they are 40 percent at fault, for example, they can sue the other driver, but their compensation will be reduced by 40 percent.