Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: July 10, 2023

PIP Insurance in Utah

Personal injury protection is a requirement in this no-fault state.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

One of the most stressful parts about getting into a car accident — aside from the fear, pain and suffering, injuries, or even the possibility of death — is dealing with insurance companies. Even in accidents with minor injuries only, no one wants to wait a long time to receive reimbursements for their medical costs. Fortunately, because Utah is a no-fault state that requires personal injury protection (PIP), you can get reimbursed sooner.

Does Utah Require PIP Insurance?

When it comes to car insurance in Utah, the state requires all people operating motor vehicles to have PIP insurance, which covers the driver and their passengers in an accident, regardless of fault. PIP benefits include coverage for the following.

  • Medical costs: Includes surgeries, X-rays, dental work, rehabilitation services, prosthetic devices, ambulances, hospitals, and nurses
  • Lost income: The lesser of either $250 per week or 85 percent of gross income lost for a maximum of 52 weeks after the loss
  • Household services that the injured person would have performed: A maximum of $20 per day for up to a year
  • Funeral, burial, and cremation benefits: A maximum of $1,500 per person
  • Death compensation to heirs: A maximum of $3,000 total1

People involved in car crashes can get their medical costs covered sooner by filing first-party claims under their PIP coverage instead of third-party bodily injury claims.

No-Fault System

How do accidents in no-fault states versus at-fault states differ, and where does Utah lie?

How No-Fault Insurance Works

Utah is a no-fault state, which means everyone has their own medical expenses covered under PIP. However, the at-fault driver’s insurance — property damage liability coverage, specifically — still pays for the other party’s property damages.

Negligence Laws

The state’s modified comparative negligence laws mean that if someone wanted to sue for their losses, they have to be less than 50 percent at fault for the accident compared to all the other involved parties combined. If they were any percentage at fault, their compensation would be reduced by that percentage. The insurance adjuster will determine the percentages of fault after gathering information and inspecting vehicle damages, police reports, etc.

More Minimum Requirements

Here are all of the auto insurance coverage limits Utah requires, including and beyond PIP:

  • Bodily injury per person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury per accident: $65,000
  • Property damage liability: $15,000
  • Personal injury protection: $3,000


None of the minimum coverages above will pay for your property damages in accidents you caused or from events like vandalism, auto theft, and hurricanes. To cover those, you’d need collision and comprehensive coverage.


Want to save money on car insurance? Ask your agent for insurance discounts for things such as:

  • Multiple vehicles
  • Driver’s education courses
  • Good student status
  • Safety/anti-theft devices
  • Low mileage
  • Good driver status
  • Loyalty
  • Bundling auto and home insurance2

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Utah

Car insurance in Utah costs an average of $937 per year, 10 percent less than the national average.3 But keep in mind that many factors affect car insurance rates, including:

  • Age
  • Annual miles driven
  • Average number of car accidents in a location
  • Coverages elected
  • Credit score
  • Driving record
  • Garaging
  • Gender
  • Homeownership
  • How the car is used (personal vs. business)
  • How long you’ve been with an insurance company
  • Marital status
  • Number of cars in an area
  • Traffic congestion
  • Vehicle type
  • Years without incidents


If you live in one of Utah’s most populated cities, like Salt Lake, West Valley City, or Provo, expect higher insurance rates than you would have in a suburban or rural area.

In 2022, the Utah Insurance Department released comparison tables highlighting car insurance rates. Here are some pricing examples for six-month policies in Park City, with the ZIP code 84060.

Insurance company Single male, age 20 Single female, age 20 Married couple, age 39 Married couple, age 66
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. $2,019 $1,615 $834 $771
Allstate Fire & Casualty Ins. Co. $1,891 $1,527 $910 $1,001
Mid Century Ins. Co. $2,004 $1,849 $1,529 $1,369
Bear River Mutual Ins. Co. $1,082 $1,017 $610 $649
Progressive Direct Ins. Co. $1,196 $1,069 $567 $505
Auto Owners Ins. Co. $1,578 $1,314 $683 $672
Progressive Advantage Ins. Co. $1,011 $905 $491 $441
Safeco Insurance Co. of IL $1,918 $1,819 $853 $696
Progressive Preferred Ins. Co. $1,051 $941 $469 $358
Standard Fire Ins. Co. $1,528 $1,300 $836 $899
Progressive Classic Ins. Co. $1,214 $1,088 $546 $410
Farm Bureau Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. $2,365 $2,163 $1,062 $1,021
USAA Casualty Ins. Co. $890 $4,805 $425 $417
United Service Automobile Association $759 $4,669 $397 $371
CSAA Fire & Casualty Ins. Co. $1,282 $1,197 $661 $625
USAA General Indemnity Co. $863 $809 $417 $409
Garrison Property & Casualty Ins. Co. $948 $882 $405 $394
Liberty Mutual Personal Ins. Co. $6,172 $5,721 $3,586 $4,132

Best Car Insurance in Utah

We’ve had the most success connecting auto insurance customers in Utah to companies like Allstate, State Farm, USAA, and Nationwide. But note that USAA accepts only military members, veterans, and their families.

To get the best car insurance in Utah, follow these steps:

  1. Determine which coverages you want. When shopping for car insurance, it’s essential to compare apples to apples. First, figure out what coverages and limits you want so you can get quotes that are as accurate and comparable as possible.
  2. Compare quotes. Next, you want to gather quotes from multiple companies. While pricing shouldn’t be the only factor that affects your decision, it’s certainly important. One easy way to shop multiple companies is to call directly. In only a few minutes, we’ll match you with a provider that wants you as a customer.
  3. Research. Check out customer satisfaction and financial stability ratings from organizations like J.D. Power, the Better Business Bureau, AM Best, Moody’s, S&P Global, and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. If that sounds too complicated, read the provider reviews on instead.
  4. Apply. An insurance quote is just that: an estimation of how much you’d pay for car insurance with a particular company. To find out your exact premium, you’ll need to complete the application process. But note that you’ll receive a hard inquiry on your credit report, which will negatively affect your credit score.
  5. Pay your premium. Your policy goes into effect once you’ve paid your first premium. Then, coverage starts on the effective date listed on your policy.


Although it may seem like an unnecessary expense, if you or any of your passengers are hurt in an accident, you’ll appreciate that the state of Utah required you to buy PIP. Unlike medical payments coverage, the somewhat-equivalent insurance in at-fault states, PIP goes beyond medical expenses, providing reimbursements for funerals, lost wages, and other effects of car accidents.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is PIP primary in Utah?

Yes, PIP is primary in Utah, meaning if there is a car accident with injuries or death, PIP will cover the expenses, then health insurance will kick in if the medical expenses exceed the PIP limit.

Is PIP good insurance?

PIP is good insurance because it covers not only medical expenses, but also other costs that you’ve incurred as a result of a car accident, including childcare and lost wages. The benefit of a state like Utah requiring PIP is that each party in an accident can get reimbursed quicker, reducing the number of lawsuits that occur.

What is the difference between MedPay and PIP?

While at-fault states offer MedPay (medical payments coverage), no-fault states typically offer or even require PIP (personal injury protection). One key difference is that PIP also includes reimbursements for lost wages and childcare, unlike MedPay.

Is bodily injury coverage the same as PIP?

Bodily injury coverage is not the same as PIP (personal injury protection). While both coverages include medical costs, bodily injury coverage pays for people outside your car, whereas PIP pays for people in your car, including the driver. PIP also includes reimbursements for lost wages and childcare costs, unlike bodily injury coverage.


  1. Part 3: Motor Vehicle Insurance. Utah Code. (2023).

  2. 10 Things You Should Know About Buying Auto Insurance. Utah Insurance Department. (2023).

  3. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).