Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: March 24, 2024

Driving Without Insurance in Wyoming

The fine for driving without insurance rivals the average annual cost of a policy.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

Wyoming has the ninth-lowest average annual car insurance rate in the country. In 2020, drivers paid only $770 per year for car insurance, 36 percent less than the national average. Perhaps that’s part of the reason why only 6 percent of drivers lack insurance, half of the 12 percent rate of uninsured motorists nationally.

If you’re part of that 6 percent, or if you’re considering driving without insurance, read about the penalties first; despite the savings, breaking the law and risking financial responsibility out of pocket is simply not worth the risk.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Wyoming

If you’re caught driving without insurance, you’ll have seven days to produce proof. If you fail to produce proof of financial responsibility within this period, you will be charged with driving without fulfilling the state’s financial responsibility requirements, and the judge may order you to pay restitution.

What Happens If I Don’t Have Proof of Insurance?

Upon receiving notice of your conviction, you’ll have to file an SR-22, proof of the minimum amount of liability insurance, for three years. If you don’t produce an SR-22 within 30 days of the notice, your driver’s license or nonresident operating privileges will be suspended until you provide an SR-22.

A first conviction for failure to maintain liability coverage is a misdemeanor that can result in either or both of:

  • Jail time: Six months maximum
  • Fine: $500 to $1,500 (but if you’ve received no other penalties, the maximum penalty is $750).

For second and subsequent convictions, the judge will make you surrender your registration and license plates. The county treasurer will hold them until the judge determines you’ve met your minimum coverage requirements under Wyoming law.

What Proof Is Required?

Proof can be in the form of either:

  • A personal liability auto insurance policy, typically an electronic or paper insurance identification card
  • Evidence of a bond on file; i.e., self-insurance
  • SR-22 form, which we’ve detailed below


An SR-22 is a form that your car insurance provider will file with the state to prove that you have the minimum coverage it requires. If you fail to get insurance within 30 days, you’ll be required to carry an SR-22 for three years, which will result in a higher car insurance premium, as it designates you as a high-risk driver.

How to Find Insurance After a Lapse in Coverage

To find insurance after a lapse in coverage, the process will work the same way as usual. However, the major difference is that you may have trouble finding car insurance providers that want you as a customer, as a lapse in coverage means that you’re a bigger risk to the company. We recommend checking out the best car insurance for high-risk drivers for a greater likelihood that companies will accept your application. Get quotes from multiple companies before settling with one.

Appealing Your Fine

To appeal a fine from a trial court to an appellate court, you’ll need to file a notice of appeal with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days from the entry of the appealable order. Once the notice is filed, the court reporter will file with the clerk of the trial court within 60 days, and you’ll have to pay a filing fee.1

Other Car Insurance Laws for Wyoming Drivers

Learn more about the laws surrounding car insurance in Wyoming.

Minimum Coverage

The only insurance you’re required to get legally is liability coverage, which pays for the other party’s losses in accidents you cause. You’ll need the following liability limits:

  • Bodily injury per person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage per accident: $20,0002

Vehicle Registration

Registering your vehicle requires proof of insurance, along with:

  • Copy of the sales contract if you purchased the car from a dealership
  • Lease agreement, if applicable
  • Payment for taxes and fees, which is $30 plus county fees
  • Vehicle title
  • VIN inspection form if you purchased the vehicle in another state

You’ll register your vehicle through your local county treasurer’s office. See their contact information below.3





Treasurer name Email address Phone Address City ZIP code Website
5 Albany Tracy Fletcher (307) 721-2502 525 Grand Ave., Room 205 Laramie 82070
9 Big Horn Nicole Vigil (307) 568-2578 Box 430 Basin 82410
17 Campbell Rachel Knust (307) 682-7268 Box 1027 Gillette 82717
6 Carbon Lindsey West (307) 325-7807 Box 7 Rawlins 82301
13 Converse Joel Schell (307) 358-3120 107 N. Fifth St., Suite 129 Douglas 82633
18 Crook Tammy Jundt (307) 283-1244 Box 160 Sundance 82729
10 Fremont Jim Anderson (307) 332-1105 Box 465 Lander 82520
7 Goshen Leticia Dominguez (307) 532-5151 Box 878 Torrington 82240
15 Hot Springs Julie Mortimore (307) 864-3616 415 Arapahoe Thermopolis 82443
16 Johnson Carla Bishop (307) 684-7302 76 N. Main St. Buffalo 82834
2 Laramie Tammy Deisch (307) 633-4225 P.O. Box 125 Cheyenne 82003
12 Lincoln Jerry Greenfield (307) 877-2040 Box 630 Kemmerer 83101
1 Natrona Tom Doyle (307) 235-9370 Box 2300 Casper 82602
14 Niobrara Keri Thompson (307) 334-2432 Box 90 Lusk 82225
11 Park Barb Poley (307) 527-8630 1002 Sheridan Ave. Cody 82414
8 Platte Kristi Rietz (307) 322-2092 806 Ninth St. Wheatland 82201
3 Sheridan Katie Araas (307) 674-2520 224 S. Main #B3 Sheridan 82801
23 Sublette Emily Paravicini (307) 367-4373 Box 296 Pinedale 82941
4 Sweetwater Mark Cowan (307) 872-3720 80 W. Flaming Gorge Way Green River 82935
22 Teton Katie Smits (307) 733-4770 Box 585 Jackson 83001
19 Uinta Terry Brimhall (307) 783-0333 Box 1530 Evanston 82931
20 Washakie Doris Kern (307) 347-2031 1001 Big Horn Ave. Ste 104 Worland 82401
21 Weston Susan Overman (307) 746-2852 1 W. Main Newcastle 82701

Fault System

Like most states, Wyoming is an at-fault state, which means that in an accident, the at-fault driver is financially responsible for the other party’s bodily injuries and property damage. If the at-fault party’s insurance doesn’t cover the entirety of their losses, or if they were driving without insurance, the other party can sue them in a civil suit for their losses, given they were less than 50 percent responsible for the accident.


Wyoming has modified comparative negligence laws, so a party can’t sue another party for losses if they had half or the majority of the fault in the accident.

Statutes of Limitations for Claims

Make sure to file your personal injury and property damage claims within four years of an incident. If you don’t, your insurance company isn’t legally obligated to cover you due to the state’s statute of limitations.

Cancellation and Nonrenewal Notification Laws

Before companies cancel or do not renew your policy, they must let you know within a certain number of days before the policy’s expiration date. That way, you have time to find alternative coverage without risking a lapse in coverage. Companies have the following amounts of time to notify you before your policy expires:

  • Cancellation: 45 days
  • Cancellation due to nonpayment: 10 days
  • Non-renewal: 45 days


Companies may decide not to renew your policy because they no longer serve your area, or if you’ve had a DUI or similar conviction and need an SR-22, making you a high-risk driver.


While driving without insurance may seem like an easy way to save hundreds of dollars, it could ultimately cost you even more, even if you’re not involved in an accident. We recommend buying more insurance than the minimum required, as it won’t apply to your losses in accidents you cause or losses from non-collision events like vandalism, theft, and inclement weather. Check out the best full coverage auto insurance, which includes collision, comprehensive, and uninsured motorist coverage, to find a provider near you.


  1. WYOMING RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE. Wyoming State Court. (2017, Mar).


  3. County Treasurer Contact Info. Wyoming State Department of Transportation. (2023).