Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: May 19, 2024

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in Wyoming

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In 2021, there were 102 fatal crashes in Wyoming. Out of those 102, 40 involved speeding, or nearly 40 percent. While not all speeding tickets will go on your driving record, most of the time they will, and a speeding ticket will raise the cost of your insurance. Aside from the potential injuries, property damages, and deaths, the consequences from speeding tickets are largely financial, from increased auto insurance premiums to fines to court fees and other costs.

How much does a speeding ticket affect your insurance in Wyoming? And will your driving history mean that your auto insurance rates will increase forever, even if you’re generally a safe driver?

Comparing Rates for Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

On average, the increase after a speeding ticket for car insurance in Wyoming is 33 percent. On average, you’ll see the lowest increases with Farmers and State Farm, and the highest increases with GEICO. Comparing quotes is necessary to find the lowest rates for you, but check out these averages below.

Average annual cost of car insurance in Wyoming Clean record Speeding Percentage difference
Average across all companies $1,574 $2,099 33%
Allstate $2,132 $2,426 14%
Farmers $1,658 $1,760 6%
GEICO $2,080 $4,148 99%
State Farm $1,322 $1,396 6%
USAA $1,118 $1,267 13%

Note that not all speeding violations go on your record. And if they’re not on your record, they can’t affect your rates. You won’t receive any changes to your record if you were driving up to 80 miles per hour (mph) in a 65 to 75 zone or less than 6 mph over the limit. Note that this doesn’t apply to commercial drivers or violations that occurred in a school or construction zone.1

How to Lower Your Premium After a Speeding Ticket

Although Wyoming doesn’t have a specific program for high-risk drivers, you can lower your rates by getting minimum coverage and taking advantage of your insurance provider’s discounts.

Choose Minimum Coverage

In Wyoming, you’re required to have $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person and $50,000 per accident, plus $20,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident. Having only $95,000 of liability coverage total will yield you the lowest rates, no matter which provider you go with.


In 2020, the average annual cost of liability insurance in Wyoming was only $343, the fourth-lowest rate in the U.S. Compare that to $770 in Wyoming for full coverage car insurance, which includes medical payments, comprehensive, and collision coverage, and you’re looking at savings of $427!2

Get Discounts

While car insurance discounts vary by provider, here are some common ones to look out for:

  • Being accident-free for a certain period of time
  • Being an active military member or veteran
  • Being part of an organization, company, or alumni association
  • Bundling home and auto insurance
  • Driving a hybrid or electric vehicle
  • Enrolling in online billing
  • Enrolling in usage-based, or pay-per-mile, insurance, which will base your rate on your average annual mileage and driving behaviors
  • Having a student away from home who stores their car at home
  • Having a student with good grades
  • Having multiple vehicles on one policy
  • Having safety features in your vehicle like anti-lock brakes or anti-theft devices
  • Paying for your policy upfront
  • Paying your policy on time consistently
  • Taking a defensive driving or driver safety course


Either ask your insurance agent how you can save or check the company’s website to see a full list of discounts.

Penalties for Speeding in Wyoming

The penalties for speeding in Wyoming include fines, plus additional court fees and other costs, which vary based on the location where the violation took place. You’ll also receive three points on your driving record, which will stay there for three years, in most cases (see exceptions above).

Not in a School or Construction Zones

Penalties are less serious if you weren’t driving in a school or construction zone.

Miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit Base fine Minimum fine per mph over the limit Maximum fine
Less than 6 $5 $5 $25
6-10 $30 $2 $50
11-20 $45 $5 $145
20 and higher $95 $5 None

School Zone

However, fines start to increase if you speed in a school zone, a place where children are around and could get injured or even killed by a speeding driver.

Miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit in a school zone Base fine Minimum fine per mph over the limit Maximum fine Fine for subsequent convictions within 1 year
Less than 6 $50 $2 $62 N/A
6-10 $95 $10 $195 $395- $1,000

Vehicle weight exceeding 39,000 pounds: $295

11-20 $200 $10 $400 Vehicle weight exceeding 39,000 pounds: $295
20 and higher $200 $10 None Vehicle weight exceeding 39,000 pounds: $295

Construction Zone

You’ll also see higher penalties for speeding in a construction zone, according to Wyoming’s Motor Vehicle Code.

Miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit in a construction zone Base fine Minimum fine per mph over the limit Maximum fine
Less than 6 $65 $2 $77
6-10 $40 $7 $110
11-20 $95 $7 $235
20 and higher $195 $7 None

What to Do After a Speeding Ticket

You have two options after a speeding ticket: Pay the fine or appeal the charge.

Pay Fine

The easiest option is simply to pay the fine, either online ( or over the phone (1-833-660-1879). If you pay online, you can use any of the following payment methods:

  • Debit card
  • Discover
  • E-check
  • Mastercard
  • Visa3

Appeal Fine

If you feel that you did not violate the speed limit, you can appeal the fine by filing a notice of appeal with the trial court clerk. Note that you’ll have to pay a filing fee, and if you’re found guilty, you’ll still have to pay the fine, so appealing is typically not worth it.

More Traffic Violations to Avoid

Speeding isn’t the only violation that causes higher insurance rates. Avoid other violations, including:

  • Driving without insurance
  • Driving under the influence
  • Leaving the scene of an accident with an injury
  • Reckless driving
  • Vehicular homicide
  • Transporting liquor to a minor4


Given that 4 out of 10 fatal motor vehicle crashes in Wyoming involve speeding, that should be reason enough to avoid it. But if it isn’t, the higher car insurance rates, points, fines, and other costs should deter you. When in doubt, check for the nearest posted speed limit and obey it, as speed limits exist for your safety.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Wyoming report speeding tickets to insurance?

Yes. Wyoming reports speeding tickets to insurance in all cases that occur in school or construction zones, all cases with commercial driving, and all other cases aside from these instances:

  • Driving up to 80 miles per hour in a 65- to 75-mile-per-hour zone
  • Driving less than 6 miles per hour over the speed limit

How long do speeding tickets stay on your record in Wyoming?

As a moving violation, a speeding ticket will stay on your record in Wyoming for three years, according to the Department of Transportation.

Will a Wyoming speeding ticket affect my Colorado license?

If you fail to pay the fine for a speeding ticket you get in Wyoming, then Wyoming will notify the Colorado DMV, and Colorado will suspend your driver’s license until you pay the ticket, as both states are part of the Non-Resident Violator Compact.

Is Wyoming strict on speeding?

Wyoming is not super strict on speeding compared to other states. For example, the penalties for speeding are fines and points only and do not require imprisonment or an SR-22. Additionally, if you’re driving less than 6 miles per hour over the limit or if you’re driving up to 80 miles per hour in a 65 to 75 mph zone, the violation won’t go on your record.



  2. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).

  3. PAY A TICKET. Wyoming Judicial Branch. (2023).

  4. Driving Records. Wyoming Department of Transportation. (2023).