Even if the court doesn’t order you to install an ignition interlock device, you can install one to get restricted license privileges. The other option to get a restricted license is to enter an employment/treatment program. With a restricted license, you’ll be able to drive to and from your job and DUI program. Both options require a $55 reissue fee as well as a $15 restriction fee.
Penalties for Underage Drinkers
Drivers under 21 can’t have any alcohol in their system, as the legal limit is under 0.01 percent. Aside from license suspensions, young drivers convicted of DUI may be required to participate in California’s Youthful Drunk Driver Visitation Program in order to discourage recidivism. During this program, they may visit trauma facilities, morgues, or coroners’ offices in order to see firsthand the consequences of drunk driving.
How Long a DUI Offense Stays on Your Record
A DUI will stay on your record for 10 years in California.
Are SR-22s Required?
You’ll need to have your insurance company file an SR-22 in California. An SR-22 proves that you have the state’s minimum required coverage.2 Your insurance company will file an SR-22 with the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles for you. You’ll have to maintain it for three years following your reinstatement date, typically.
While the filing fee is only $15 to $40, SR-22 insurance is more expensive, as it designates you as a high-risk driver with a bad driving history.