Here’s everything you need to know about auto insurance in Florida from a legal perspective.
Auto Insurance Requirements in Florida
Florida is one of four states in the country that, while mandating auto insurance, do not require drivers to carry bodily injury liability coverage. Rather, Florida requires only property liability coverage, plus personal injury protection for medical injuries. Below are the minimum car insurance requirements in Florida.
- $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) per person/accident
- $10,000 in property damage liability per accident
What do PIP and property damage liability insurance cover? If you’re in a car accident, PIP would pay for your and your passengers’ injuries, while the at-fault driver’s auto insurance coverage would pay for damages to your car or other property. If you were at fault, your property damage liability coverage would pay for the other party’s property damages.
Driving Without Insurance
If you’re caught driving without insurance in Florida, your license or registration will be suspended until you pay the reinstatement fee, which can range from $150 to $500.1
|Fee by offense number
||3rd during the 3 years following the initial reinstatement
Make sure to always carry proof of insurance as a Florida driver.
Florida is a no-fault state, which means that in an accident, each party pays for its own medical costs using PIP, while the at-fault party pays for the other party’s property damage under property damage liability coverage. In addition, the state has pure comparative negligence laws, which means anyone can sue another party in a civil suit for their economic and non-economic damages, even if they were partially at fault. However, their compensation will be reduced by their percentage of fault.
These are additional insurance-related laws for Florida drivers to be aware of:
- Right to sue: While there is no monetary threshold to sue for injuries, it must be due to a serious injury, meaning there was a permanent injury or significant and permanent disfigurement or scarring.
- Self-insurance: An alternative to buying a personal auto insurance policy in Florida is self-insurance. However, this is an option only if you have an unencumbered net worth of $40,000 for the first vehicle, at a minimum, and $20,000 for each additional vehicle, as well as $85,000 for liability and uninsured motorist coverage.
- Cancellation and nonrenewal notifications: If an insurance company wants to cancel your policy mid-term, it must alert you at least 45 days before the policy expires or 10 days before if the cancellation is due to your nonpayment of the premium. If the company doesn’t want to renew your policy at the end of the term, it has to notify you 45 days before it expires.2