Maine Car Insurance
If you are a Maine resident, you need to understand the state requirements for vehicle insurance. You must maintain a minimum amount of coverage in order to legally operate your vehicle. Of course, the minimum coverage is often not enough to keep you adequately protected. Fortunately, you have a number of insurance options that can give you the best type of coverage for you and your family.
Minimum Maine Insurance Requirements
These minimum requirements cover bodily injury and property damage to others and a minimal amount of coverage for you and your passengers.
- $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
- (or) $125,000 combined single limit policy
- $2,000 per person medical payments
- $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM)
Maine law does require that your UM limit equals your liability limit if it is higher than the minimum. However, you may keep the minimum UM if you request it in writing.
Optional Maine Vehicle Coverage
Maine's Department of Insurance urges residents to explore additional coverage options since the minimum coverage requirements may not be enough to protect you from the financial aftermath of an accident. For instance, many vehicles are worth far more than $25,000, so if you are at fault in an accident, you could be responsible for any additional amount necessary for vehicle repair or replacement. You can choose to increase your liability amounts to protect you from this situation.
You can also choose from optional coverage such as collision and/or comprehensive policies. A collision policy covers damage done to your vehicle when you hit a car, a bridge railing, or another similar object. Such a policy will also protect you in case your car or truck overturns.
A comprehensive policy covers damage done to your vehicle that was not caused by a collision. For instance, your vehicle can be harmed by fire, hail, flood, vandalism, theft, etc. You will pay more for these coverages, of course, but in many instances, the additional protection is worth the money.
You may choose to invest in a roadside assistance plan that covers the cost of towing in case your vehicle breaks down. In addition, many of these policies pay for having your battery jump-started and gas delivered when you are stranded.
If you are "upside down" on your vehicle, meaning you owe more on it than it's worth, gap insurance can protect you by covering that difference if your car or truck is totaled.
In Maine, insurance companies consider a number of factors before issuing you a policy and determining what you will pay for that policy. They include:
Driving Record - Companies consider your accidents and traffic tickets for the last 3 - 5 years.
Gender and Age - Some age groups do have a higher percentage of accidents than others. For instance, teen drivers are involved in a significantly greater number of accidents than their parents. Teenage males are more likely to be in an accident than teenage females.
Marital Status - Unmarried people file more claims than their married counterparts.
Vehicle Make and Model - A sports car will cost more to insure than a family sedan.
Claim History - Insurers will look at any claims you have made on your policy for the last 3 -5 years.
Credit History - You will likely pay more for coverage if you have a low credit score.
You can lower your premiums by taking advantage of available discounts. Senior citizens can get an AARP discount on their vehicle insurance, while teenagers with a high grade-point average can as well. Some companies now give reduced prices to those who install monitoring devices in their cars that can prove that they are safe drivers.
The average monthly premium for American drivers is $125, with some state residents paying far more or less. Maine residents are quite lucky in this regard. On average they pay $80 per month or $964 per year, some of the lowest rates in the nation. Lack of driving congestion and overall safe driving records are partly responsible for these low premiums. In contrast, Michigan drivers pay an average of $213 per month and $2,551 annually.
Filing a Claim
The Maine State Insurance Department site recommends following the guidance of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) when it comes to filing claims. They offer a free app called WreckCheck that lists the steps you need to take when you've been in an accident. This program instructs you about contacting your insurance agent, maintaining records, and other actions you need to complete.
Special Maine Factors
Maine residents suffer through some extreme winter weather that can easily leave you stranded by the side of the road or even in your own driveway. Consider investing in roadside assistance coverage to prevent being stuck due to a rundown battery or an empty gas tank.
Maine auto insurance requirements are similar to many states in the union. Maine drivers have a responsibility to maintain minimum liability insurance, but due to the relatively low premium rates in Maine, many can afford to invest in better coverage, including collision and/or comprehensive policies. Get and compare quotes for Maine car insurance today!