Minnesota Statute 169.09 spells out the driver requirements for collisions, with one section specifically mandating drivers provide information if involved in a collision that results in bodily injury or death, or damages another vehicle.2 The statute requires drivers provide the following data:
- Date of birth
- Mailing or email address
- Registration plate number of involved vehicle
The driver must also show their license or permit to any officer at the scene or investigating the accident. The motorist also is required to provide insurance information within 72 hours after the accident to anyone involved in the accident, including police officers investigating the collision.
Minnesota law requires drivers to report an accident to the police if the crash involved injury or death, or property damage of more than $1,000. You may delay reporting up to 10 days after the accident occurred. You could have your license suspended or face jail time of up to 10 days if you fail to report such an accident.