Utah Car Insurance
Utah is one of a dozen states with compulsory no-fault auto insurance. Many drivers find that no-fault insurance helps them spend less money on policies that protect them from liability.
Unlike some states with no-fault insurance laws, Utah requires its vehicle owners to carry bodily injury liability policies. Still, the state has fewer requirements than most.
If you have a vehicle that stays in Utah for 90 out of 365 days, then you must meet the state's insurance minimums. Failing to do so can result in a fine of $400 or more.
Auto Insurance Minimums in Utah
All but two states (New Hampshire and Virginia) require vehicle owners to carry minimum amounts of auto insurance. To comply with Utah's minimums, your auto insurance policy must include:
- Property damage liability (at least $15,000)
- Personal injury protection (at least $3,000)
- Bodily injury liability (at least $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident)
Property Damage Liability Insurance
Property damage liability insurance pays to repair or replace vehicles owned by other people. With $15,000 in coverage, you won't have to spend any money out of your pocket unless you cause more than $15,000 in damage. Unless you hit a unique vehicle that's expensive to repair, your insurance policy will pay for the parts and work.
Notice that property damage liability insurance does not cover your vehicle. You can learn more about protecting your vehicle below in the "collision insurance" section.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection (PIP) is a type of no-fault insurance that forces your insurance provider to pay for your medical services. If you have the $3,000 minimum required by the state, your insurance company will cover up to $3,000 of your medical bills after an accident.
Your insurance company isn't responsible for bills over $3,000. You can, however, increase the amount of PIP that you get from your policy. Doing so will likely raise your premium, though.
Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
Bodily injury liability insurance protects you from the medical bills and lost wages of someone in another vehicle during an accident. It will also cover funeral expenses.
In Utah, your bodily injury liability insurance will cover at least $25,000 for one person and up to $65,000 for all people involved in the collision.
Optional Insurance Policies for Utah Drivers
You can get additional protection by purchasing other types of auto insurance. Utah doesn't require these policies, but they can protect you from significant financial loss.
Some of the most popular option insurance policies in Utah include:
- Collision insurance
- Comprehensive insurance
- Uninsured and under-insured motorist insurance
Collision insurance pays to repair or replace your vehicle after a collision. Many drivers add collision insurance to their policies because they don't want to pay for expensive repairs.
When you purchase collision insurance, you get to choose how much coverage you want. If you have an expensive car, then you may want to choose a lot of coverage. If your car isn't worth much, then you probably don't need more than $5,000 or $10,000.
Your premium also depends on the deductible you choose. A higher deductible will lower your premium. A high deductible, however, means that you will have to spend more money before your insurance company starts to pick up the tab.
Don't choose a $1,000 deductible unless you can afford to spend that much money out of pocket. The high deductible might help you save money each year, but it will make it difficult for you to pay for repairs after an accident.
Comprehensive insurance pays for repairs that aren't caused by a collision. A comprehensive policy will cover repairs needed because of things like:
- Severe weather
Uninsured and Under-insured Motorist Insurance
According to the most recent data from the Insurance Information Institute, about 8% of Utah's drivers don't carry insurance. If you have a collision with one of these drivers, then you might have a hard time getting compensation for vehicle repairs and medical expenses.
Buying an uninsured and under-insured motorist insurance policy makes your insurance company responsible for the expenses. Some states require all vehicle owners to carry this type of insurance. Utah does not. Still, having the policy can help after an accident with an uninsured person.
How Insurance Providers Determine Your Premium
Insurance providers look at a lot of factors when they determine your premium. Some of the most influential factors include:
- The type of car your drive.
- Where you live.
- Your driving record.
- Your credit score.
- How many miles you drive in a year.
- Your age and sex.
- The types of insurance that you want for you and your vehicle.
Companies use different criteria when deciding how much your policy costs, so it makes sense to get quotes from several providers. You might find that one company offers a lower premium than the others.
Take Advantage of Discounts
When requesting quotes from insurance providers, you should also ask them about discounts. Some companies offer discounts for things like:
- Keeping a clean driving record.
- Bundling your auto and homeowner policies.
- Installing anti-theft devices on your vehicle.
- Having a college degree.
After getting quotes from several Utah auto insurance providers, you can compare your offers to choose one that matches your budget and needs.