There are many reasons why people love the Sunshine State, be it the sweltering yet liberating heat or the lack of an income tax. Despite these, there is one thing Gators and ‘Noles alike simply can’t avoid: minimum car insurance requirements. *But hey, at least there are beaches surrounding the entire state. *
So, what is the minimum car insurance in Florida, and where can you find the cheapest auto insurance quotes and policies for your needs?
Read this helpful guide for answers to these questions and more!
The No-Fault Law: A Quick Primer
The Florida no fault law makes it so that both parties involved in a motor vehicle accident have to make claims with their own insurance policies, no matter who is responsible for the incident (hence, “no-fault”).
Even so, you may still file a claim in the case that your injuries from the car accident are debilitating, severe, or permanent. In such a situation, you’ll want to have noted (or have an able member of your party note) the following details:
- License plates of both (or all) vehicles involved
- Name and insurance info of all parties involved
- List and take pictures of any injuries visible on you and your passengers
- Several photos of accident damages
Above all, be sure to keep all official documents pertaining to the case (like police reports) in a safe place, especially if you choose to pursue a lawsuit, or if the other driver gets litigious.
With no-fault laws come minimum car insurance policies.
Florida State Minimum Car Insurance
Every Florida driver needs to have proof of insurance coverage with them at all times. The state of Florida also requires it when you register your car. Of the many types of car insurance types out there, here are the only two required by the state for every Florida driver:
- Property Damage Liability (PDL) – Florida auto insurance providers must offer this type of liability insurance, and every driver must accept. The minimum coverage is $10,000, but you may want to purchase more to make sure you’re sufficiently protected in the case of a car accident where someone’s property is damaged, as those bills can rack up quickly.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – The minimum coverage for PIP insurance is also $10,000, but you may want to look into a pricier insurance policy, just in case. PIP not only covers medical expenses, but it also compensates you for lost wages and childcare costs if you were unable to work or care for your kids during recovery. PIP also covers the passengers in your vehicle at the time of the auto accident.
While the minimum car insurance coverage in Florida only includes the $20,000 total for PIP and PDL, you still may want to consider covering more bases when purchasing insurance. Floridian roads can sometimes be more thrilling than any ride at Busch Gardens or Universal, so there’s a chance you’ll want to get your hands on some of these policies, too:
- Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) – While insurers must offer this type of insurance, it’s not required for drivers. However, should you get into an auto accident, you’ll be happy you carry BIL in case medical expenses start stacking up against you. While Florida is a no-fault state, injured parties (or the family of a deceased party) may still sue you for negligence if their damages surpass the maximum coverage of your existing insurance.
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury – Even though Florida’s no-fault rule technically means everyone pays for their own damages, if the other party is uninsured or underinsured, you may want to have this policy on hand so you can cover your damages and move on with your life. Otherwise, you may have to wait a long time for the uninsured driver to pay.
- Comprehensive – Comprehensive auto insurance is exactly what it sounds like: comprehensive. Comprehensive coverage looks over everything else under the sun that might happen to your car, such as damages from natural disasters (fires, storms, or floods), damage resulting from vandalism, collision with an animal, or car replacement costs if stolen.
- Collision – Collision insurance covers damage to your vehicle upon, well, collision. Not to be confused with PDL, this collision coverage policy would take care of damages acquired during an accident for which you are responsible, so it is also recommended for anyone wanting to cover all their bases.
When it comes to auto insurance, it’s better to buy a robust set of policies even if you’re playing it safe on the road—unfortunately, you can’t control the drivers or world around you. But you can control your insurance policies. Don’t let the minimum car insurance Florida requires stop you from getting covered beyond PIP and PDL!
While you are only technically required to have PDL and PIP coverage, there are a few added requirements depending on your criminal history or ownership status on your vehicle.
These added requirements are as follows:
- If you are still paying off your vehicle or leasing it, you must carry two extra insurance policies: collision coverage and comprehensive insurance, otherwise known as full coverage. Even if not required, these are highly recommended for drivers.
- If you have been charged with a DUI, you will have to carry a bodily injury liability (BIL) policy for three years once you re-acquire your driving privileges. BIL is recommended even for safe drivers, regardless of past driving incidences.
- If your vehicle is registered as a taxi, your PDL coverage goes up to $50,000, and you are required to carry BIL coverage of at least $250,000 per occurrence and $125,000 per person.
Insurance for Four-Wheelers
Many Floridians thrive in nature, instead choosing to sport less traditional four-wheeled steeds on (and off) the road. For that reason, the Sunshine State specifies in their insurance requirements that any four-wheeled motor vehicle must be insured in some way.
- Golf Carts
- Water Bikes
- Off-Road Vehicles
- Amphibious Vehicles
When You Should Register Your Car in Florida
If you’re new to this sunny state of sandy beaches and sweaty amusement parks, one of the top items on your to-do list should be to register your car.
But exactly how long do you have to register a car in Florida?
Once you land (or drive into) every tourist’s favorite peninsula, you’ll have thirty days to register your car at the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. Before you register your car, however, you’ll have to have proof of the state minimum car insurance Florida law requires.
How to Find the Cheapest Car Insurance in Florida
Not every insurance premium is created equal. In fact, premiums have much more to do with your driving record, credit history, and personal situation than they do with your state of residence.
Here are a few factors that can affect your car insurance premium in Florida:
- Number of Insurance Claims – Usually, the more insurance claims you make, the higher your insurance rates. However, many providers give qualifying customers accident forgiveness, so be sure to check which companies offer these perks.
- Age – Most providers see age as an indicator of driving experience. In other words, the less experienced you are, the more likely you are to file an insurance claim in the future (as far as providers are concerned, of course).
- Credit Score – While some states have banned providers from using credit scores to determine insurance rates, Floridians can still suffer higher premiums if they’re struggling with their credit. That’s because a lower credit score predicts insurance losses for the company.
- Driving History – A driver with a history of riskier driving will naturally face higher insurance premiums.
- Your Provider – Depending on your insurance provider, you’ll have different policy requirements, premiums, and features. But remember, premiums aren’t the be-all-end-all of your insurance decisions—benefits and services also matter. If you’re looking at, say, Geico vs AAA, you may want to compare their roadside assistance, customer service, and discounts.
- Geography – Insurance premiums rise if your registered address is in a big city, where accidents are typically more plentiful. The cost of comprehensive coverage rises when you are in a neighborhood with higher rates of crime, as that type of policy covers vandalism and car theft.
So how do you find the cheapest car insurance in Florida? Simple: just use an online insurance quote generator like Online Auto Insurance to find and compare all the policies available to you.
Find the Ideal Insurance for You With OAI
No matter your situation, you don’t want to jump into an expensive insurance policy blindly. With Online Auto Insurance, you will find the right amount of coverage for you, receive free quotes, and compare those quotes from different providers to make sure you’re getting the best coverage for your needs.
For information that’s fast, convenient, and accurate, choose Online Auto Insurance. To get started, compare auto insurance rates in Florida now with our easy-to-use comparison tools!
Florida Physical Medicine. Florida is a No-Fault State. What Does That Mean? https://floridaphysicalmedicine.com/florida-no-fault-state/
Lorenzo & Lorenzo. A Guide to Florida Auto Insurance Requirements & Laws. https://www.lorenzoandlorenzo.com/personal-injury-guide/florida-car-insurance-guide/