Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: September 30, 2023

Finding Car Insurance After a DUI in Alabama

How much more will car insurance cost with a DUI on your record?

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In Alabama, 28 percent of all fatal motor vehicle crashes in 2021 involved drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, meaning they were driving under the influence (DUI). The state of Alabama punishes DUIs with ignition interlock devices, license suspensions, imprisonment, fines, and more penalties, even for a first offense.

But the consequences of a DUI don’t end there. You’ll also see your car insurance rates skyrocket with a bad driving record. Here’s what to expect after a DUI conviction.

DUI Laws in Alabama

Before we talk about Alabama car insurance, which will get more expensive with a DUI on your record, let’s talk about the penalties for the DUI conviction itself.

DUI Penalties

The penalties for a DUI include an ignition interlock requirement, a license suspension or revocation, imprisonment, fines, and an evaluation and possible treatment for alcohol abuse.1

DUI offense in Alabama by number of convictions within a 10-year period 1 2 3 4 or subsequent
Ignition interlock requirement BAC under 0.15: 90 days

BAC over 0.15: 1 year

2 years 3 years 4 years
License suspension/revocation length 90 days 1 year 3 years 5 years
Imprisonment length 1 year maximum 1 year maximum 60 days-1 year; at least 60 days must occur in county/municipal jail 1 year and 1 day minimum, 10 years maximum; at least 10 days in a county jail
Minimum fine $600 $1,100 $2,100 $4,100
Maximum fine $2,100 $5,100 $10,100 $10,100
Required evaluation and DUI court referral program Yes Yes Yes Yes
Points on driver’s license if no mandatory revocation 6 6 6 6


Seventeen percent of fatal motor vehicle crashes in Alabama in 2021 involved drivers with a BAC of 0.15 or higher, based on information from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

An ignition interlock, a device that tests your BAC before you drive to make sure you’re sober, is required for all DUI convictions after July 2, 2018. The requirement can be extended if any of the following situations occur:

  • You refused a chemical test.
  • You had a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher.
  • Your car crash injured another person.
  • You had a passenger under the age of 14 at the time of your DUI offense.


If you had a child under 14 years old in your car at the time of your offense, your minimum penalty will double.

Too many points on your driving record will result in a license suspension.2

Number of points in a 2-year period License suspension length in days
12-24 60
15-17 90
18-20 120
21-23 180
24 and more 365

While the points will be “subtracted” from your record after two years, that is only for license suspension purposes, meaning it could still affect insurance.

Penalties for Underage Drinkers

Unlike drivers ages 21 and older, who can drive with a BAC under 0.08 percent, the limit for young and teen drivers is 0.02 percent, as they are not allowed to consume alcohol at all. If they’re caught drunk driving, they could face a license revocation for 30 days for the first offense instead of the above penalties. The DUI will not go on historical records for insurance, but it will be disclosed to:

  • Courts
  • Law enforcement agencies
  • Attorney of record
  • Employer

While drivers under 21 will face a fine and will have to attend a DUI referral program, they will not go to jail or have to install an ignition interlock in their car.

How Long a DUI Stays on Your Record

A DUI will stay on your record indefinitely unless you were under 21 at the time of the violation, in which case a first conviction will not go on your record. You’ll see higher rates indefinitely, as average rates increase with any points on your driving record, no matter your ZIP code or credit score.

Are SR-22s Required?

Alabama does not require you to get an SR-22 for a DUI violation on its own. Rather, it requires SR-22s for crimes like driving without insurance, driving with a suspended registration, or providing false proof of insurance.3

How Does a DUI Affect Auto Insurance?

No matter the state, a DUI affects car insurance greatly, as it makes you a high-risk driver in the eyes of car insurance companies. In expectation of more insurance claims, companies protect themselves by charging you higher premiums.

Average Annual Car Insurance Premiums

In Alabama, insurance premiums will increase by an average of 67 percent with a DUI conviction on your record. See more averages from the state’s biggest car insurance providers.

Company Annual auto insurance rate with a clean record Annual rates after a DUI Percentage increase
Overall $1,066 $1,782 67%
Allstate $719 $1,619 125%
GEICO $619 $2,104 240%
Progressive $879 $2,000 128%
State Farm $817 $1,575 93%
USAA $538 $1,282 138%

Will You Be Covered?

Your auto insurance company may not cover you if you were driving under the influence at the time of an accident, as not all policies cover negligence or recklessness. Moreover, your company may choose to cancel your policy mid-term.

However, it must alert you at least 20 days before your policy expires so you have time to look for a new policy. If the company does not want to renew your policy at the end of its term, you must get 120 days’ notice, the longest non-renewal notification time in the U.S.4

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance After a DUI

If you need to find a new provider, make sure to focus on high-risk car insurance companies, specifically companies that cater to high-risk or substandard drivers.

Best and Cheapest Car Insurance Companies

The best and cheapest options are USAA, available to veterans, military members, and their families; State Farm; and Allstate. For those non-military members, learn more about State Farm’s pricing.


One alternative to getting a private auto insurance policy is to self-insure. However, this is possible only if you own more than 25 vehicles, so it’ll apply to commercial auto insurance, most likely. Plus, getting a certificate of self-insurance is at the discretion of the director of the Department of Public Safety, so it’s not the most straightforward process.

Unfortunately, Alabama does not provide an assigned risk pool for drivers with a DUI on their record. But make sure that you drive only if you have insurance, as driving without insurance could lead to additional legal penalties on top of your DUI.

How to Save

While an increase in your premium is unavoidable, use these tips to keep your costs as low as possible.

  1. Get the state’s minimum coverage requirements, which are $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person and $50,000 per accident, plus $25,000 for property damage liability per accident.
  2. Bundle multiple policies under the same provider.
  3. Ask your agent for auto insurance discounts.
  4. If you have collision and comprehensive coverage, raise your deductibles.
  5. Lower your limits.
  6. Drop coverages you don’t need, like rental car reimbursement or roadside assistance.
  7. Take a defensive driving course.


Especially if you’re under the age of 21, don’t drink and drive, even if you think you’re just buzzed. Not only is drunk driving dangerous, but it’s also illegal. Want to learn more about driving under the influence? Here’s everything you need to know, our version of DUI 101.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a DUI a misdemeanor or a felony in Alabama?

A DUI can be either a misdemeanor or a felony in Alabama. Offense numbers one through three are misdemeanors, while offense four and subsequent offenses within 10 years of the first offense are felonies. Additionally, if a DUI results in serious bodily injury or death, it is a felony, according to the 2021 Code of Alabama § 32-5A-191.

Can you get out of a DUI in Alabama?

You can get out of a DUI in Alabama if you can prove that you were not driving under the influence, like if the breathalyzer results were false or the police made a mistake like not reading your Miranda rights upon arrest.

What do you do after getting a DUI in Alabama?

You should hire a lawyer after getting a DUI in Alabama, as even a first conviction can lead to up to a year in prison. If you’re found guilty, you could also face an ignition interlock requirement, a license suspension, fines, points on your driver’s license, and a required evaluation and DUI court referral program. If you’re found guilty, you’ll need to adhere to these requirements, which is why it’s important to hire a strong DUI attorney.

How do I get my license back after a DUI in Alabama?

  1. Fill out the reinstatement form online:
  2. Pay the reinstatement fees using a credit card, cash, cashier’s check, or money order:
    • Suspended license: $275
    • Revoked license: $275
    • Drug-related offense fee: $25
    • Interlock issuance fee: $150


  1. 2021 Code of Alabama Title 32 – Motor Vehicles and Traffic. Chapter 5A – Rules of the Road. Article 9 – Serious Traffic Offenses. Section 32-5A-191 – (Effective Until July 1, 2023) Driving While Under Influence of Alcohol, Controlled Substances, Etc. JUSTIA US Law. (2021).

  2. Driver License Point System. Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. (2023).

  3. Mandatory Liability Insurance Manual. Alabama Department of Revenue. (2015, Mar).

  4. AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE FAQS. Alabama Department of Insurance. (2023).