Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: June 5, 2023

Cheapest Car Insurance in Missouri

You’ll pay less for auto insurance in Missouri than in most other states.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average cost of auto insurance in Missouri falls 13 percent below the national average, as Missouri drivers pay an average of $909 each year. To save on your auto insurance premium, we’ll tell you the cheapest auto insurance options for Missouri.

The Cheapest Car Insurance Rates in Missouri

Here are the cheapest annual costs of car insurance by companies in Missouri. But note that these auto insurance rates will vary based on your ZIP code, driving history, and a slew of other factors. Nevertheless, read about the cheap auto insurance companies based on their average cost of car insurance in Missouri.


  • Males: Progressive, $1,692
  • Females: Allstate, $1,582

Marital Status

  • Single: State Farm, $1,104
  • Married: State Farm, $1,102


  • Full coverage: Nationwide, $909
  • Minimum coverage: State Farm, $308

Driving Record

  • Clean driving record: USAA, $865
  • Bad driving record: Dairyland, $1,788


  • Excellent: USAA, $580
  • Good: 21st Century, $1,596
  • Poor: Nationwide, $1,420


  • 18 to 25: USAA, $1,277
  • 30s and 40s: Missouri Farm Bureau, $1,175
  • 50s: Missouri Farm Bureau, $1,104
  • 60s and older: Nationwide, $860


  • Current military personnel: USAA, $1,776
  • Veterans: USAA, $1,776[sup]1[/sup]

To find out the best cheap car insurance company in Missouri, get quotes from multiple companies.

The Best Car Insurance in Missouri

  • 21st Century
  • Allstate
  • American Family
  • Dairyland
  • Missouri Farm Bureau
  • Nationwide
  • Progressive
  • State Farm
  • USAA

Ways to Save

  • Opt for higher deductibles. The higher your deductibles are on your auto insurance policy, the lower your premiums. You pay a deductible before the insurance company will kick in funds for covered damages on collision and comprehensive claims.
  • Raise your credit-based insurance score. Missouri allows insurance companies to consider your credit history to determine your premium. Overall, the higher your credit score is, the more you’ve demonstrated responsible credit behavior. Credit-based insurance scores from LexisNexis, FICO, and other companies help car insurance companies figure out the probability someone will file an insurance claim and thus cost them more money to insure. Insurance providers reward people with good credit with lower rates, and vice versa. Get a copy of your own credit history to check it for accuracy. To raise your credit score, pay your bills on time, pay off your debt, apply for credit infrequently, and keep your credit card balances below their limits.
  • Ask your provider for discounts. Many insurance companies offer special discounts such as good student discounts for young drivers, multiple vehicle discounts, and discounts for bundling homeowners or renters insurance with auto insurance.



You can get a free copy of your credit report each year via

How Much Coverage Do You Need?

Missouri law mandates all motor vehicle owners and drivers have liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 in bodily injury uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury uninsured motorist coverage per accident

An estimated 16 percent of drivers in Missouri are uninsured motorists, which translates to roughly 700,000 drivers on Missouri roads.[sup]2[/sup]

To protect yourself and your vehicles, we recommend purchasing full coverage, which gives you higher amounts of per-person and per-accident protection, plus coverages beyond the minimums.

  • Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive coverage pays for damages from non-collision events, such as fire, hail, vandalism, auto theft, and falling objects.
  • Collision insurance: Collision coverage covers car damage because of collisions. Your comprehensive and collision limit can only be as high as your car’s actual market value (AMV) or what you could expect to receive if you sold the vehicle tomorrow.
  • Medical payments coverage: Medical payments coverage covers injuries to you and anyone in the vehicle with you as a result of an accident, no matter who caused it. In addition, medical payment coverage pays for funeral expenses in the event of a death. Coverage limits for medical payment coverage range from $1,000 to $10,000 per accident. The higher your net worth, the more coverage you should purchase to cover the cost of a potential lawsuit.[sup]3[/sup]

Alternative Car Insurance

Proof of Financial Responsibility

Missouri allows drivers to show proof of financial responsibility in lieu of traditional auto insurance.[sup]3[/sup] You can submit one of the following requirements to the Missouri Department of Revenue as evidence that you can and will pay for any damage you cause with your vehicle:

  • $175,000
  • Deposit of cash or negotiable securities, such as bonds, CDs, or stocks
  • Real estate bond
  • Surety bond

Certificate of Self-Insurance

You can insure your vehicle through a certificate of self-insurance from a company or religious organization. Qualifications for companies differ from qualifications for religious organizations. Companies will need to meet the following requirements from the Missouri Department of Revenue:

  • Register at least 26 private passenger motor vehicles in Missouri.
  • Submit a written request for self-insurance on company letterhead, signed by a company officer.
  • Provide financial statements from three years prior, which must include audited balance sheets and income statements.
  • Complete the Agreement to Pay Judgments form.

If a religious organization discourages its members from buying insurance, the group could apply for a certificate of self-insurance by adhering to the following:

  • Submit a written request on church letterhead signed by a church officer.
  • Provide a list of at least 26 church members who each own a private passenger motor vehicle registered in Missouri.
  • Include a notarized affidavit from a church officer (minister, deacon, etc.) certifying that the church’s religious beliefs prohibit members from obtaining auto insurance and agreeing to pay any judgments rendered against church members. The church may complete the form Self-Insurance Affidavit for Religious Groups instead of a letter.
  • Send a written explanation of how the church would pay for auto accident damages a member may cause.
  • Provide examples of how the church handled members’ past accident damages.

Both the company and the religious organization must send self-insurance requests to the following address:

    • Missouri Department of Revenue
    • ATTN: Self-Insurance
    • P.O. Box 200
    • Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200

The state usually responds to requests within a two-week period.

Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan

If you have trouble getting car insurance you can afford in Missouri, you have coverage options from the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan. To apply, you must have a valid driver’s license or be eligible to get one.

For more information, contact the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan.

  • Mail:
    • Central Region
      P.O. Box 6530
      Providence, RI 02940-6530
  • Phone: 888-706-6100
  • Email:


For quicker service, have your documentation related to not getting auto insurance, such as insurance company names and dates of service denials, handy when you contact the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan.

Missouri Department of Revenue

The Missouri Department of Revenue has a central office in Jefferson City and other offices across the state to help you with motor vehicle registration, titling, and driver’s license transactions.

  • Mail:
    • General Information:Driver License Bureau
      P.O. Box 200
      Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200
  • Phone: 
    • Driver’s license: 573-526-2407
      For other motor vehicle requests like registrations: 573-526-3669
  • Email:
  • Website:


In Missouri, you have choices when it comes to insuring your vehicle, allowing you to customize your insurance to meet your budget and needs. Be sure to explore your options thoroughly, whether it’s through private insurance, your employer, religious organization, self-insurance, or the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan. To find out more about Missouri car insurance and ways to save on your premium, check out our frequently asked questions below.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the penalty for not having insurance in Missouri?

If you drive without auto insurance in Missouri, you could be subject to the following penalties, according to the state’s Department of Revenue:

Offense number Length of license suspension (days) Proof of insurance and reinstatement fee
First 0 $20
Second within 2 years 90 $200
Third and subsequent 365 $400

Is Missouri a no-fault state?

No. Missouri is an at-fault state for car accidents. This means Missouri mandates if you are at fault in a car accident, you must pay for the other person’s property damages as well as their medical expenses. In addition, the other party will be able to sue you for both economic and non-economic damages, such as pain and suffering, they experienced because of the accident.

How long does an accident stay on your record in Missouri?

In Missouri, an auto accident stays on your driving record for three years.

Do you need a front license plate in Missouri?

Missouri law requires most motor vehicles to display license plates on the front and rear. Exceptions include motorcycles, commercial vehicles registered at 18,000 pounds or more, and historic year-of-manufacturer registrations. According to the Missouri Department of Revenue, historic motor vehicles include passenger cars, trucks, motorcycles, and RVs 25 years or older. To receive a historic motor vehicle plate, an owner must use their historic vehicle for educational and exhibition purposes and as a collector’s item, which means in parades and tours rather than everyday driving.

How many points will cause a driver’s license suspension in Missouri?

Missouri will suspend your driving privileges if you accumulate eight or more points within an 18-month period. Twelve or more points within a 12-month period will result in the revocation of your driving privileges for a year, most likely, according to the state’s Department of Revenue.


  1. From Kansas City to St. Louis, get the auto coverage you need in Missouri.. USAA. (2023).

  2. One in Eight Drivers Uninsured. IRC. (2021).

  3. Other types of automobile insurance. Missouri Department of Insurance. (2023).

  4. Proof of Financial Responsibility. Missouri Department of Revenue. (2023).