Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: February 12, 2024

How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in West Virginia

Find out how your rates may change after a speeding ticket in the Mountain State.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

If you drive in West Virginia, you probably know that the scenic views and winding roads can tempt even the most cautious drivers to push the speed limits. However, the consequences of exceeding those limits extend beyond the immediate penalties incurred, like fines.

In West Virginia, speeding tickets often lead to higher auto insurance rates, as insurance companies see speeding violations as signs of increased driver risk. On this page, we explain how a ticket will shape your yearly premium and provide helpful tips to ensure you aren’t paying more than you must.

Speeding Ticket Impact on Insurance by Company

According to data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, auto insurance in West Virginia costs an average of $915, which is lower than the national average of $1,047.1 However, this rate increases with traffic violations, which means those caught speeding will pay more for auto insurance.

Take a look at the price differences in some average annual rates we found from West Virginia insurance providers.

Insurance provider Rate before speeding ticket Rate after speeding ticket
Allstate $2,219 $2,535
Erie $1,498 $1,506
GEICO $1,508 $1,926
Nationwide $1,517 $1,870
USAA $1,171 $1,356
Westfield $1,477 $1,700

How to Lower Premiums After a Speeding Ticket

Speeding tickets are never enjoyable, especially considering their long-term repercussions on insurance premiums. Fortunately, there are ways you can lower your premium after receiving a speeding ticket.

  • Shop around for another auto insurer. Some providers in the industry specialize in offering high-risk auto insurance to all drivers, not just those with a perfect driving record. We encourage you to explore all of your options when it comes to finding a protective and affordable policy.
  • Take a defensive driving course. Many auto insurance companies incentivize safe driving with discounts for those who complete defensive driving courses.
  • Raise your deductible. Increasing the amount you pay out of pocket before your auto insurance kicks in, or your deductible, often helps reduce your yearly premium.
  • Improve your credit. In West Virginia, drivers with good credit pay less for car insurance than those with poor credit. One simple way to improve your score is by paying your bills on time. To learn more about how credit score impacts your monthly premium, check out our page on credit scores and auto insurance.
  • Get the minimum coverage. Buying only the state’s minimum mandatory insurance coverage will help you save money. Technically, the only auto insurance coverage you must have in West Virginia is:
    • $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident of bodily injury liability coverage
    • $25,000 of property damage liability coverage
    • $25,000 of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage

Cost of Speeding Ticket in West Virginia

West Virginia legislature outlines specific penalties for drivers who violate speed limits.2 Review these penalties below:

First offense Second offense Subsequent offenses
Fine up to $100 Fine up to $200 Fine up to $500, jail time up to 6 months

It’s important to note that the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system to determine the duration of license suspensions for each traffic violation.3 If you receive 12 or more points, you’ll face license suspension.

Points accumulated Suspension duration
12-13 30 days
14-15 45 days
16-17 60 days
18-19 90 days
20 or more 120 days


If you accumulate at least six points against your license, you’ll receive a warning letter from the West Virginia DMV reminding you to exercise more caution behind the wheel.

Notably, the number of points you receive corresponds with the severity of your traffic violation. When it comes to speeding, how and where you speed will impact the number of points you accumulate. Review the points associated with various speeding-related offenses below.

Offense Points
Speeding in a school zone 6
Speeding 11-14 mph over limit 3
Speeding 15-19 mph over limit 5
Speeding 20 or more mph over limit 6

What to Do If You Get a Speeding Ticket

If you receive a speeding ticket while driving in West Virginia, here is what you should do:

  1. Plead guilty and pay the fine. Pleading guilty to your speeding ticket is the easiest route since all you’ll need to do is pay the fine. In some cases, your license may be suspended depending on the severity of your ticket and your driving record. In the event of license suspension, you can take an approved defensive driving course to lower the number of points on your record.
  2. Plead not guilty. You can choose to plead not guilty to your speeding ticket and request a contested hearing by marking the check box on your speeding ticket and mailing it to the court.


The West Virginia DMV does not accept online defensive driving courses for point reduction.

Other Traffic Violations That Affect Car Insurance

In addition to speeding, other traffic violations can cause your auto insurance rates to increase.

Moving Violations

  • At-fault accidents: Insurance companies tend to raise your premium if you cause an accident due to increased driver risk.
  • DUIs: Like in most U.S. states, driving under the influence in West Virginia results in severe consequences. In West Virginia, a DUI will stay on your driving record for 10 years, which will severely impact your auto insurance rate.


In West Virginia, as in most other U.S. states, auto insurance rates increase with speeding tickets, among other traffic violations. While the state’s average annual insurance cost is only $915 per year, a speeding violation can alter this rate. However, you shouldn’t have to pay for a speeding ticket your whole life. From defensive driving courses to raising your deductibles, multiple avenues exist to reduce the cost of your insurance potentially.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a speeding ticket considered a misdemeanor in West Virginia?

Yes, generally, speeding tickets are considered misdemeanors in West Virginia. However, more severe speed violations, like speeding in a school zone, may be infractions.

How long will my speeding ticket stay on my record in West Virginia?

According to the West Virginia DMV, traffic violations, including speeding tickets, remain on a driver’s record for five years.

How can I check the number of points on my license in West Virginia?

You can request a copy of your driving record in West Virginia through DMV Online Services or via mail or email. You can also visit any branch office DMV in person. To obtain your record, you’ll need to provide the following:

  1. A completed driving record request (DMV-101-PS1) form
  2. A valid driver’s license or state-issued photo identification

How do I pay my speeding ticket in West Virginia?

You can pay your speeding ticket fine in person, via mail, over the phone, or through the online portal at


  1. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).

  2. WEST VIRGINIA CODE. West Virginia Legislature Home Page. (2024).

  3. Point System. West Virginia DMV. (2024).