Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements
State laws don’t just dictate whether you need to have car insurance, they also set minimum standards that all policies sold in the state must meet. These standards include legal requirements for the types and amounts of coverage that must come with every policy.
The requirements for your state are the minimum amount of coverage that you can buy. However, buying a minimum policy may not be such a good idea. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners warns that they “are usually not enough to fully protect you and your assets.” If you’re thinking of buying a minimum policy, keep in mind that if accident-related damages go above the limits, you may have to pay any remaining costs yourself.
The following table lists the minimum limits for the coverage types required in each state. To learn about what different types of coverage pay for, visit our coverage page.
- All amounts in the table are in thousands. So if the minimum medical payments limit is listed as “5” drivers in that state must have $5,000 worth of coverage.
- Slashes (/) separate the per-person limit and the per-accident limit. So if bodily injury limits are listed as “25/50,” the “25” means there will be up to $25,000 in coverage for each injured person; the “50” means there will be up to $50,000 in coverage total for all injuries per accident.
- If the amount is marked with an asterisk (*), it means that the coverage is automatically included in every policy sold in the state but can be rejected by the buyer in writing.
|State||Bodily Injury Liability||Property Damage Liability||Personal Injury Protestion||Medical Payments||Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Uninsured Motorist Property Damage|
*Policies automatically come with this coverage, but it can be rejected in writing.
1. May also included underinsured motorist coverage.
2. All Michigan policies come with unlimited PIP coverage.
3. Pennsylvania no-fault coverage is called "Medical Benefits," but it works basically the same as PIP.
Did You Know?
High liability requirements
Maine and Alaska have the highest minimum liability limits in the country. Both states require $100,000 in bodily injury liability per accident and $25,000 in property damage liability per accident.