Get the lowest rates no matter your age or credit score.
Get car insurance in your new state.
Let our Perfect Policy Connectors shop the market for you!(855) 939-3117Request a Callback.
No one wants to pay more than necessary for auto insurance, so we’ve rounded up the cheapest providers in Georgia without sacrificing coverage or customer service. Let’s get started.
Keep in mind that auto insurance rates depend on many factors, so the average premium for good drivers, drivers with poor credit, or drivers with a clean driving record will be different. For example, someone with even a single speeding ticket or car accident in the past five years won’t be able to get the cheapest full coverage available. It’s a good idea to compare rates from multiple companies.
|Category||Cheapest company||Lowest annual car premium|
|Male teens||State Farm||$3,452|
|16 years old||Allstate||$3,805|
|17 years old||Allstate||$3,391|
|18 years old||Allstate||$2,951|
|19 years old||Allstate||$2,759|
|Good driving record||Clearcover||$516|
|Bad driving record||Mile Auto||$1,524|
Like almost all of the states in the U.S., Georgia requires auto insurance whether you own or lease your vehicle. Minimum coverage is the bare minimum required by law, while full coverage includes uninsured motorist coverage. In Georgia, you must have liability coverage for property damage and bodily injury.
These requirements are pretty bare-bones, and for most drivers, they won’t be sufficient for events like hit-and-runs, collisions with potholes, or accidents with uninsured drivers. We recommend getting the following additional coverage.
An estimated 12 percent of drivers in Georgia are uninsured.2
If you can’t find coverage on your own, you might be eligible for the Georgia Automobile Insurance Plan (GAAIP). Every licensed car insurance agent can participate in this program to provide insurance to drivers. As a driver, you are eligible for the plan if you meet the below criteria:
The one exception is for military nonresidents who have vehicles registered in other states. They are eligible for the plan despite their out-of-state registration.3
To sign up, follow these steps:
Alternatively, you can apply through snail mail using the application at https://www.aipso.com/Portals/0/PlanSites/Georgia/GA%20Priv%20Pass%20App%20AIP4080%201-22.pdf?ver=2022-01-04-100926-373. Send it to the same address as above.
If you want to learn more, contact the Automobile Insurance Plan Service Office (AIPSO) directly.
Self-insurance is an option in Georgia through surety bonds or security deposits, and there’s no minimum number of cars you must own. However, you’ll have to provide an audited statement that includes the following:
As far as the surety bond or security deposit goes, you’ll have to meet certain amounts based on the number of vehicles you own.
|Number of vehicles||Sufficient net worth||Surety bond or security deposit|
|351 and above||$500,000||$100,0004|
We hope we’ve helped lead you to cheap car insurance in Georgia. Since car insurance is required in the state, if you can’t find it on your own accord, the state will connect you to a provider through the GAAIP. Learn more in our FAQs below.
On average, car insurance costs $105 per month in Georgia, according to data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. That is 20 percent higher than the national average.
Yes, you can go to jail for not having insurance in Georgia. For the first and second offenses, you could go to jail for up to a year. For the third offense, the state can determine the length of imprisonment.
Auto-Owners offers the cheapest car insurance in Georgia for people in their 20s, with rates as low as $861 per year. You could pay up to $2,775 for car insurance annually, though, based on your circumstances.
Car insurance in Georgia is so expensive for several reasons.
Auto Insurance. Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire. (2022).
One in Eight Drivers Uninsured. Insurance Research Council. (2021, Mar 22).
AIPSO Login Page. AIPSO. (2022).
Subject 120-2-46 AUTOMOBILE SELF-INSURANCE REGULATION. Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia. (2022).
Contact Us. Georgia Department of Driver Services. (2022).