Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: March 9, 2024

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Mississippi for 2024

How much is car insurance in the Magnolia State?

Share
Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

The good news for Mississippi’s 2 million licensed drivers is that auto insurance costs 14 percent less in the state than the U.S. average. How much you’ll pay for car insurance depends on several factors, such as your age, gender, credit score, ZIP code, and vehicle type. Here’s what you need to know about auto insurance in Mississippi.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Mississippi

The average cost of car insurance in Mississippi is $1,771 annually for full coverage and $446 per year for minimum coverage. This is around 14 percent lower than the U.S. national average cost of auto insurance for full coverage, which is $2,014.

Although the Magnolia State doesn’t mandate uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, you should consider adding that to your policy because it has one of the highest rates of uninsured motorists in the country (22.2 percent). Read on to find out more about auto insurance in Mississippi.

By City

In Mississippi, as in other states, where you live plays a role in how much you pay for car insurance. That’s because the larger the city, the more traffic there is, which can translate into more auto accidents. Here are 10 of the largest cities in Mississippi with the average cost of car insurance. For example, auto insurance in Tupelo, the least expensive of these localities, is 19 percent less than it is in Jackson, the most expensive city.

City Average annual rate of car insurance
Biloxi $1,699
Clinton $1,743
Greenville $1,629
Gulfport $1,717
Hattiesburg $1,601
Jackson $1,838
Meridian $1,590
Olive Branch $1,649
Southaven $1,652
Tupelo $1,478

By Age

Throughout the United States, teenagers pay more than any other age bracket for car insurance. The U.S. average annual cost for auto insurance for teens is $4,545, while motorists in their 20s and older pay an average $1,429 per year. Keep in mind that Mississippi law mandates teen drivers age 16 and 17 must be on the auto insurance policy of their parents or legal guardians. You also should take advantage of discounts for teen drivers to save on your premium for this age group.

Age Average annual rate of  car insurance
16 $1,463
17 $2,389
18 $1,962
19 $2,340
20s $1,790
30s $1,450
40s $1,263
50s $1,234
60s $1,147
70s $1,692

NOTE:

When teen drivers turn 18, they can purchase their own car insurance policy.

By Gender

Insurers still consider a person’s gender when writing policies, but the good news is it generally has a smaller impact on the cost than other factors, such as age or where the driver lives.

Gender Average annual rate of car insurance
Male $1,985
Female $1,861

By Marital Status

Married drivers are deemed less risky to insure than single, widowed, or divorced drivers. In fact, Mississippi has the seventh-most-expensive auto insurance for divorced drivers in the nation.

Marital status Average annual rate of car insurance
Single $1,798
Married $1,643
Divorced $1,755
Widowed $1,719

By Coverage Level

Naturally, having full coverage means higher premiums, but you also have more coverage in case of an accident.

Coverage level Average annual rate of car insurance
Full $1,450
Minimum $524

By Credit Score

Mississippi allows insurers to consider your credit score when writing policies. The lower your credit score, the higher your premium will be. Research has shown those with lower credit scores file more claims.

Credit score Average annual rate of car insurance
Excellent $1,126
Good $1,304
Fair $1,493
Poor $2,495

TIP:

If your credit is less than stellar, work on raising it to lower your cost of car insurance.

By Violation

From accidents to DUIs to speeding tickets, having a bad driving record means you’ll pay more for car insurance. Some insurance companies let you redeem your record by successfully passing approved driver training courses. Otherwise, you’ll need to keep a clean record for a certain number of years before your premium will drop.

Driving record Average annual rate of car insurance
At-fault accident $2,028
Clean driving record $1,344
DUI conviction $2,435
Speeding ticket $1,660

By Company

The cost of car insurance also depends on which insurance company is writing the policy. In Mississippi, Direct Auto offers the lowest rates to residents on average.

Company Average annual rate of car insurance
Allstate $1,743
Direct Auto $898
GEICO $1,309
Nationwide $1,116
Progressive $1,555
Shelter $1,613
State Farm $1,072
Travelers $1,410
USAA $1,114

By Car

Auto insurance companies also look at the make and model of your vehicle when providing a quote. If your car is less expensive to repair after an accident, you will probably pay less for insurance versus a driver with a more expensive to repair model. You should keep that in mind when shopping for a new vehicle. Below are a few popular models and how much a driver would expect to pay on average for insurance in Mississippi.

Vehicle type Average annual rate of car insurance
Toyota Camry $1,771
Toyota Prius $1,867
Honda Odyssey $1,539
Ford F150 $1,610
BMW 330i $2,387

Cheapest Car Insurance in Mississippi

Mississippi does have many options for drivers looking for the cheapest car insurance option. If you cannot purchase auto insurance through traditional companies because of a DUI, bad credit, or other factors, you can get covered through the Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan.2

Demographic Cheapest insurance company Annual rate
Male Direct Auto $1,594
Female State Farm $1,056
Married State Farm $1,152
Single Direct Auto $1,594
Veteran USAA $1,214
Minimum coverage State Farm $348
Full coverage USAA $1,214
Excellent credit State Farm $1,053
Poor credit Farm Bureau $2,256
Speeding ticket State Farm $1,140
Accident State Farm $1,260
DUI Progressive $2,016
16 years old State Farm $3,511
18 years old Mississippi Farm Bureau $2,340
20s Mississippi Farm Bureau $3,053
30s Progressive $1,786
40s Direct Auto $1,556
50s Direct Auto $1,435
60s Direct Auto $1,391
70s Direct Auto $1,434

How to Save on Car Insurance in Mississippi

Even though as a resident of Mississippi you generally will pay less than drivers living in other states, you should explore ways to save on your auto insurance.

  • Ask about discounts. Bundling your auto insurance with a homeowners or renters policy from the same carrier can net you savings on your policy. Other popular discounts include safe driver, multi-policy, and good student. Carriers often offer members of the military, both active and retired, discounts on policies.
  • Raise your credit score. Since insurers can consider your credit rating when underwriting, the higher your score, the lower your premium will be.
  • Keep a clean driving record. The fewer infractions on your record, the less you’ll pay for auto insurance.
  • Get more than one quote. Call multiple companies to see which offer the best rate with the most discounts.
  • Drive a less expensive vehicle. High-end vehicles, such as luxury and electric vehicles, can be more costly to fix after an accident, so switching to a different vehicle should lower your cost.

Minimum Car Insurance in Mississippi

The state requires bodily injury liability and property damage liability:

  • Bodily injury liability per accident involving one person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability per accident involving two or more people: $50,000
  • Property damage liability: $25,000

FYI:

With the high number of uninsured motorists in the state, you should consider buying more to ensure you’re fully covered in case of an accident.

Fault Law in Mississippi

Mississippi is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who caused the accident is responsible for the other party’s medical expenses and property damage. Also, Mississippi has pure comparative negligence laws, which means if you and the other driver share responsibility for the accident, the costs are divided according to fault. For example, if you are 70 percent responsible for the accident, you could still recover 30 percent of the damages from the other party.

SR-22

The state requires an SR-22 if your license is suspended or you’re convicted of a serious traffic violation, such as a DUI, reckless driving, or hit-and-run. Mississippi law mandates you must maintain your SR-22 for three years after you’re allowed to drive again. Usually, your insurance provider will file the SR-22 on your behalf for a fee of approximately $20. However, you will pay more for car insurance because of your SR-22.

Recap

Being a resident of the Magnolia State means you’ll pay some of the lowest premiums for car insurance in the country. But because Mississippi is an at-fault state, you should have more than the minimum auto insurance to ensure adequate protection for you and your vehicles. AutoInsurance.com will help you find the best carriers at the best price.

Methodology

With more than 20 years of experience helping drivers find insurance providers, AutoInsurance.com has collected proprietary data on the auto insurance industry. We take a close look at this data about providers and customers, plus state-specific information, to bring you a bird’s-eye view of the average cost of car insurance in this state.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it illegal not to have car insurance in Mississippi?

If you fail to show proof of auto insurance in Mississippi, you will be charged a $1,000 penalty. You also could have your driver’s license suspended for a year or until you provide proof of insurance. Mississippi law also requires you to carry a card showing proof of insurance in the insured vehicle at all times.

What are the accident reporting requirements in Mississippi?

Mississippi requires drivers to report any accident involving injury or death, or property damage worth more than $500. You have 10 days from the incident to report it or face suspension of your driver’s license.

Can you register a car in Mississippi without insurance?

Yes, you are allowed to register your vehicle in Mississippi without insurance. However, you must have an active car insurance policy to operate the vehicle.

Is Mississippi a personal injury protection state?

No, Mississippi is not a personal injury protection (PIP) state. You are not required to have PIP insurance. The state does not limit your ability to sue for injuries after an auto accident.

Citations

  1. 14 Percent of U.S. Drivers Were Uninsured in 2022, IRC Estimates. Insurance-Research.org. (2023, Oct 31).
    https://insurance-research.org/sites/default/files/downloads/Uninsured%20Motorists%20News%20Release%201031_0.pdf

  2. Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan. AiPSA. (2023, Jun 1).
    https://www.aipso.com/Plan-Sites/Mississippi