A presumptive fine is the amount you must pay before you go into court; the citing police officer will write it on your citation. However, the court can impose a higher fine upon conviction.
Despite being an at-fault state, Oregon requires you to buy personal injury protection. (Typically, it’s no-fault states that require PIP.)
With PIP, a victim can recover their losses from property damages, medical costs, lost wages, and child care, so long as they were less at fault than everyone else involved in the accident. However, due to the state’s modified comparative negligence law, their compensation will be diminished by their percentage of fault.
Although auto insurance companies in Oregon can take credit scores into account when issuing and pricing new policies, they cannot use credit information to do the following:
Companies are not allowed to deny coverage, refuse to renew a policy, limit coverage, or charge people more due to race, national origin, color, or religion. However, they can take into account age, marital/domestic partnership status, disability/partial disability, and gender, so long as their decisions are “based on sound underwriting or actuarial principles.” As a result, in Oregon, men pay more for car insurance, as do unmarried people and teen drivers.
Insurers must notify you before canceling or not renewing your insurance policy. You must get 30 days’ notice for mid-term cancellations, or 10 days’ notice if the cancellation is due to nonpayment. For nonrenewals, that window is 30 days.