Almost every state has a law saying you must buy insurance if you own a car, but the penalties for breaking those laws are very different from state to state. Practically every state’s penalties include a fine, and most also include the suspension of your license and registration, or both. Some states also tack on community service requirements and will impound your car if it’s caught on the road without coverage.

Some states have very harsh penalties. In New Jersey, uninsured drivers face a 1-year license suspension, $1,000 maximum fine, and community service. In Delaware, penalties include a 6-month license suspension and a fine of between $1,500 and $2,000.

Other states have relatively weak penalties. In Idaho, for example, the only penalty is a $75 fine.

Regardless of how harsh or weak your state’s penalty is, driving without car insurance is a very bad idea. If you drive uninsured and cause an accident, you could have to pay for any medical bills and property damages out of your own pocket. That could be a financial disaster if the accident is serious.

The following table shows the penalties for driving uninsured in every state.

Alabama

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $500 maximum Until proof of coverage is provided & $200 reinstatement fee is paid
2nd & subsequent $1,000 maximum 4 months & until you 1) Prove you’re insured 2) Pay $400 reinstatement fee

Alaska

Number of Offenses License & Registration Suspension
1st 90 days & until you: 1) Prove you’re insured 2) Pay a reinstatement fee
2nd & subsequent (within 10 years) 1 year & until you: 1) Prove you’re insured 2) Pay a reinstatement fee

Arizona

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $500 minimum 3 months & until you: 1)Prove you're insured 2)Pay $50 reinstatement fee
2nd (within 3 years) $750 minimum 6 months & until you: 1)Prove you're insured 2)Pay $50 reinstatement fee
3rd & subsequent (within 3 years) $1,000 minimum 1 year & until you: 1)Prove you're insured 2)Pay $50 reinstatement fee

Arkansas

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $50-$250 Until owner presents proof of coverage & pays $20 reinstatement fee
2nd $250-$500 Until owner presents proof of coverage & pays $20 reinstatement fee
3rd & subsequent $500-$1000 Until owner presents proof of coverage & pays $20 reinstatement fee

California

Number of Offenses Fine Other penalties
1st $100 – $200 + local fines Possible fees for towing/impoundment
2nd & Subsequent $200 – $500 + local fines Possible fees for towing/impoundment

Colorado

Number of Offenses Fine Other penalties
1st $100 – $200 + local fines Possible fees for towing/impoundment
2nd & Subsequent(within 5 years) $200 – $500 + local fines Possible fees for towing/impoundment

Connecticut

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $100 - $1,000 1 month & until you prove you're insured
2nd & subsequent $100 - $1,000 6 months & until you prove you're insured

Delaware

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $1,500 - $2,000 6 months & until you prove you're insured
2nd & subsequent (within 3 years) $3,000 - $6,000 6 months & until you prove you're insured

Florida

Number of Offenses License & Registration Suspension
1st For up to 3 years & until you: 1) Pay $150 fee 2) Prove you're insured
2nd (within 3 years) For up to 3 years & until you: 1) Pay $250 fee 2) Prove you're insured
3rd & subsequent (within 3 years) For up to 3 years & until you: 1) Pay $500 fee 2) Prove you're insured

Georgia

Number of Offenses Fine License Suspension
1st $200 - $1,000 At least 60 days & until you: 1) Pre-pay a 6 months insurance policy (SR-22A) 2) Pay a $200-210 restoration fee
2nd & subsequent (within 5 years) $200 - $1,000 At least 60 days & until you: 1) Pre-pay a 6 months insurance policy (SR-22A) 2) Pay a $200-210 restoration fee

Hawaii

Number of Offenses Fine License Suspension
1st $500 (or 75-100 hours of community service) 3 months
2nd & subsequent (within 5 years) $1,500 minimum (or 200-275 hours of community service) 1 year & until you prove you're insured

Idaho

Number of Offenses Fine
1st $75
2nd & subsequent $1,000 maximum

Illinois

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension Drivers License Suspension
1st $500 - $1,000 Until you prove you’re insured & pay $100 fee 3 months & until you: 1) Pay $100 fee 2) Prove you’re insured
2nd $500 - $1,000 4 months & until you: 1) Pay $100 fee 2) Prove you’re insured 3 months & until you: 1) Pay $100 fee 2) Prove you’re insured
3rd and subsequent $1,000 4 months & until you: 1) Pay $100 fee 2) Prove you’re insured 3 months & until you: 1) Pay $100 fee 2) Prove you’re insured

Indiana

Number of Offenses License Suspension
1st 90 days to 1 year & until you pay $150 reinstatement fee
2nd (within 3 years) 1 year & until you pay $225 reinstatement fee
3rd & subsequent (within 3 years) 1 year & until you pay $300 reinstatement fee

Iowa

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $250

Kansas

Number of Offenses Fine
1st $300 - $1,000
2nd & subsequent (within 3 years) $800 - $2,500

Kentucky

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $500 - $1,000 6-month license suspension & Suspension of registration & license plates for 1 year (or until proof of coverage is presented)
2nd & subsequent (within 5 years) $1,000 - $2,500 1-year license suspension & Suspension of registration & license plates for 1 year (or until proof of coverage is presented)

Louisiana

Number of Offenses Fine
1st $75-$100
2nd $100-$250
3rd & subsequent $700 maximum

Maine

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $150 - $500 Until proof of coverage is provided
2nd & subsequent (within 5 years) $1,000 - $2,500 Until proof of coverage is provided

Maryland

Number of offenses Fine License & registration suspension
Any $150 if uninsured for up to 30 days +$7 a day for each day after 30 days Until all violations are cleared & $25 fee is paid

Massachusetts

Number of Offenses Fine License Suspension
1st $500 - $1,000 60 days
2nd & subsequent $500 - $5,000 1 year

Michigan

Number of Offenses Fine License Suspension
Any $200 - $500 30-days and until you 1)Prove you're insured 2) Pay $125 reinstatement fee

Minnesota

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $200 - $1,000 1 year & until you: 1) Pay your fine 2) Prove you're insured
2nd & subsequent (within 10 years) $200 - $3,000 1 year & until you: 1) Pay your fine 2) Prove you're insured

Mississippi

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $300 Until car owner can provide proof of coverage
2nd & subsequent $400 Until car owner can provide proof of coverage

Missouri

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $300 max Until you pay $20 reinstatement fee & prove that you’re insured
2nd $300 max 90 days & until you pay $200 reinstatement fee & prove that you’re insured
3rd & subsequent $300 max Minimum 1 year & until you pay $400 reinstatement fee & prove that you’re insured

Montana

Number of Offenses Fine Registration Suspension
1st $250 - $500 None
2nd $350 90 days maximum
3rd & subsequent $500 180 days maximum

Nebraska

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $1,000 maximum

Nevada

Number of Offenses Fine Registration Suspension
1st $0 - $1,000 Registration suspended until you pay fine & $250 reinstatement fee
2nd $500 - $1,000 Registration suspended until you pay fine & $500 reinstatement fee
3rd $500 - $1,000 1. Registration suspended until you pay fine & $750 reinstatement fee 2. License suspended for at least 30 days & until you pay $75 reinstatement fee

New Hampshire

No penalty for driving uninsured unless you were in an accident and couldn't pay for the damages.


New Jersey

Number of Offenses Fine License Suspension Additional penalties
1st $300 - $1,000 1 year Community service
2nd & subsequent $5,000 maximum 2 years, after which reinstatement will be up to state officials 30 days of community service

New Mexico

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $300 maximum

New York

Number of Offenses Fine License suspension
Any $150 - $1,500 fine + $750 civil penalty 1 year minimum

North Carolina

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $50 Until you prove you’re insured & pay $50 reinstatement fee
2nd $100 Until you prove you’re insured & pay $50 reinstatement fee
3rd & subsequent $150 Until you prove you’re insured & pay $50 reinstatement fee

North Dakota

Number of Offenses Fine License Plate Suspension
1st $150 minimum None
2nd & subsequent (within 3 years $300 minimum Until you pay $20 reinstatement fee

Ohio

Number of Offenses Fine License Suspension
1st $50 90 days + $100 reinstatement fee
2nd $50 1 year + $300 reinstatement fee
3rd & subsequent $50 2 years + $600 reinstatement fee

Oklahoma

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension License plate confiscation Other penalties
Any $250 Until you prove you’re insured & pay $275 reinstatement fee Until you prove you’re insured & pay $125 fee Car impoundment

Oregon

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $130-$1,000

Pennsylvania

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension License & registration reinstatement fee
Any $300 3 months & until proof of insurance is provided $50-$100

Rhode Island

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $100 - $500 90 days + $100 reinstatement fee
2nd $500 1 year + $300 reinstatement fee
3rd & subsequent $1,000 2 years + $600 reinstatement fee

South Carolina

Number of Offenses License & Registration Suspension
Any $30 days & until you pay $550 reinstatement fee

South Dakota

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
Any $500 fine 30 days - 1 year & until you prove you're insured

Tennessee

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
Any $100 maximum -License suspended until proof of coverage is provided & $65 restoration fee is paid -Registration suspended until license is reinstated

Texas

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension Impound Fees
1st $175 – $250 one-time fine + $250 annual fine for 3 years None None
2nd & Subsequent 350 – $1,000 one-time fine + $250 annual fine for 3 years Until coverage is in place & an SR-22 has been filed $15 per day

Utah

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $400 - $1,000 Until you prove you're insured
2nd & subsequent (within 3 years) $1,000 Until you prove you're insured

Vermont

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $500 maximum

Virginia

Number of Offenses Fine License, Registration & License Plate Suspension
Any $500 maximum Until you prove you're insured & pay $500 uninsured motorist fee

Washington

Number of Offenses Fine
Any at least $450

Washington D.C.

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $150 for first 30 days + $7 each day after 30 days, up to $2,500 maximum

West Virginia

Number of Offenses Fine License & Registration Suspension
1st $200 - $5,000 30 days & until you prove you’re insured
2nd (within 5 years) $200 - $5,000 30 days & until you prove you’re insured
3rd and subsequent (within 5 years) $200 - $5,000 90 days & until you prove you’re insured

Wisconsin

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $500 maximum & $10 fine for not having proof of coverage

Wyoming

Number of Offenses Fine
Any $750 maximum

Did You Know?

Community service for no insurance

In Colorado, Hawaii, and New Jersey, you may end up having to do community service if you get caught driving without car insurance. That's in addition to fines and other penalties.