Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: March 26, 2024

Guide to DUIs in Nevada

Nevada may be known for its adult playground, but that doesn’t mean DUIs are legal.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

In 2021, 3 out of 10 fatal car crashes in the state of Nevada involved drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, meaning that they were driving under the influence of alcohol and breaking the law. It’s also illegal to drive in Nevada with certain amounts of prohibited substances like cocaine, heroin, and meth. But what are the penalties for DUIs in Nevada, and how does having a DUI on your record affect your car insurance?

DUI Laws in Nevada

Let’s take a look at Nevada’s Revised Statutes, which stipulate what is considered “driving under the influence,” as well as the penalties for breaking the law.

Penalties for DUI Offenses

A DUI is a misdemeanor for first or second offenses or a felony for third offenses that occur within seven years. However, even a first offense could land you in jail for up to six months, plus more than $1,000 in fines total.1 For second and third offenses, your driving privileges can be revoked, preventing you from operating a motor vehicle for five days.

Offense number 1 2 within 7 years 3 within 7 years
Crime Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Category B felony
DUI school, course on alcohol or other substance use disorders, paid for by person Required for a BAC 0.18 and higher Required for a BAC 0.18 and higher Required for a BAC 0.18 and higher
Imprisonment 2 days-6 months in jail or residential confinement 10 days-6 months in jail or residential confinement 1-6 years in state prison
Community service 48-96 hours 48-96 hours None
Fine $400-$1,000 $750-$1,000 $2,000-$5,000
Ignition interlock requirement 185 days 1 year 3 years
Civil penalty to reinstate license $35 $35 $35
Chemical analysis fee $60 $60 $60
Suspension of registration None 5 days 5 days


An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer device for your car. It will let you start driving only if you are not impaired.

However, with a suspended registration, the state may allow you to drive if another means of transportation isn’t available:

  • To and from work in the course of employment
  • To obtain food, medicine, or other necessities
  • To obtain health care for you or your immediate family
  • To transport yourself or an immediate family member to or from school

You won’t receive any demerit points for DUI charges.2

Penalties for Underage Drinkers

Unlike in many states with harsher laws for teen drivers and underage drivers, Nevada requires only drivers under 21 to get evaluated on whether or not they have an alcohol or substance use disorder. An evaluation costs a maximum of $100, and the driver must pay for it. Additionally, if the evaluation results in an order for a treatment program, the driver must complete it successfully, as determined by the provider.

How Long a DUI Stays on Your Record

A DUI will remain on your record for insurance companies and employers for three years, meaning that a DUI can affect insurance only for this period of time. That being said, the DUI will remain on your criminal record with the state for a decade.

Are SR-22s Required?

Nevada requires an SR-22 only for those who had a lapse in insurance coverage, so you won’t need to get one following a DUI conviction.

How DUIs Affect Your Car Insurance

Having a DUI conviction makes you a high-risk driver, which translates to a higher car insurance premium regardless of your provider.

Average Costs

On average, car insurance premiums in Nevada increase by 58 percent following a DUI conviction. However, that increase can range from 33 to 131 percent or more, depending on the provider, the rest of your driving history, your demographics, ZIP code, and many other factors that affect the cost of car insurance.

Average annual cost of car insurance in Nevada Clean record DUI Percentage increase
Overall $1,848 $2,917 58%
Allstate $1,942 $2,846 47%
Farmers $1,716 $3,244 89%
GEICO $904 $1,921 113%
Progressive $1,192 $2,751 131%
State Farm $1,037 $1,385 33%
Travelers $998 $1,937 94%
USAA $994 $1,452 46%

Will You Be Covered?

Not every company caters to high-risk drivers, so your provider may cancel your policy mid-term following a DUI conviction or license suspension. That being said, it’s required to notify you at least 30 days before your policy expires so you have enough time to get a new policy and avoid a lapse in coverage, which would result in having to get an SR-22.

You’ll need this window, as finding car insurance with a DUI is much harder than it would be with a clean driving record.

How to Find Car Insurance After a DUI

To find car insurance after a DUI, you’ll need to compare quotes from multiple providers to see which one can provide the best coverage for the most affordable rates. But where do you start?

Best and Cheapest Options

The cheapest and best DUI insurance in Nevada is:


Let’s say you’ve shopped around and cannot find a provider that will agree to cover you. If that’s the case, the state of Nevada guarantees you coverage from its high-risk pool. And owners of 11 or more vehicles with the required security will be able to self-insure. Let’s take a closer look at these two alternatives to private auto insurance policies.

  • High-risk pool: The Western Association Automobile Insurance Plan will provide you with the required liability insurance if you can’t find coverage elsewhere. Use the following contact information to learn more:
    • Mailing address:
      • Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans
      • P.O. Box 6530
      • Providence, Rhode Island 02940-6530
    • Phone number: 800-227-4659
    • Fax number: 800-827-6260
    • Office hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. through 4:30 p.m. PT
    • Email:
    • Online:
  • Self-insurance: If you have a certain number of vehicles and can provide the required collateral, which is either 130 percent of your average annual cost of claims for the past three years, or the below security, you can insure your own cars. However, this option will likely apply to commercial vehicles only, as most of us don’t own more than 10 cars to begin with.
Minimum number of vehicles Maximum number of vehicles Security amount
11 50 $55,000
51 100 $80,000
101 250 $130,000
251 500 $205,000
501 750 $280,000
751 No maximum $355,000

How to Save

Now that you’ve found a provider, here’s how to get the lowest auto insurance rates you can.

  1. Get minimum coverage. The minimum coverage that Nevada requires is a total of $95,000 of liability coverage, specifically:
    • Bodily injury liability per person: $25,000
    • Bodily injury liability per accident: $50,000
    • Property damage liability per accident: $20,0003
  2. Improve your credit score. In Nevada, it’s legal for companies to consider credit score when they determine auto insurance premiums. Improving your credit score will result in lower rates.
  3. Bundle home and auto. If you’re part of the 63 percent of Nevadians that own their homes, bundle home and auto insurance to save money.4 Even renters may be able to bundle renters and auto policies with some companies.


Nevada has the seventh-lowest rate of homeownership in the U.S. The national average is 68 percent.


Although Nevada is known for its fun and nightlife, drunk driving is never acceptable or safe. Avoid state fines, imprisonment, community service, and license suspensions, as well as higher car insurance rates, by driving sober.



  2. Violation Code List. Nevada DMV. (2023).

  3. Understanding Auto Insurance. Nevada Division of Insurance. (2023).

  4. Housing Vacancies and Homeownership (CPS/HVS). United States Census. (2023).