Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: September 19, 2023

Guide to SR-22s in Virginia

Having an SR-22 is one of the rare situations in which Virginia requires car insurance.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

For most Virginia drivers, car insurance is optional. Instead, the state allows drivers to pay $500 in uninsured motorist fees in lieu of traditional financial responsibility requirements. However, one exception is drivers who need an SR-22, which is proof of minimum coverage.

If you have an SR-22, it’s because you’re required to get car insurance following a car-related offense. An SR-22 is different from an FR-44, which is proof of coverage twice the minimum. Let’s take a closer look at SR-22s in the Old Dominion State.

Finding SR-22 Insurance in Virginia

Your car insurance in Virginia will increase by an average of 18 percent if you are required to get an SR-22, which is a certificate proving you have insurance in accordance with the state’s minimum limits.

Average annual cost of car insurance in Virginia by provider Drivers with clean record Drivers with SR-22 Percentage difference
Overall $663 $783 18%
Allstate $928 $1,152 24%
GEICO $575 $744 29%
Nationwide $663 $1,193 80%
Progressive $768 $804 5%
USAA $502 $571 14%

Having an SR-22 signals to insurance companies that you are a high-risk driver, so they charge you a higher insurance premium in anticipation of future losses. In contrast, someone with no driving violations on their record will see lower rates for liability insurance and other coverages.

Guide to Virginia SR-22s

Here are the convictions in which the state would require you to get an SR-22:

  • Unsatisfied judgments
  • Failure to provide proof of insurance for insurance monitoring
  • Falsifying a certification of insurance
  • Suspension due to:
    • Driving without insurance
    • Voluntary or involuntary vehicular manslaughter
    • Perjury regarding motor vehicle registration or a driver’s license application
    • Motor vehicle felony
    • A second conviction of operating, or permitting someone else to operate, a vehicle with passengers for rent or hire without a license
    • Failure to stop and exchange information at the scene of an accident that resulted in injury or death to another person, also known as a hit-and-run1

Your insurance company can file the SR-22 with the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) electronically by using this application: Once it is filled out, it can be submitted using the following methods.

  • Email:
  • Fax: 804-367-2536

You’ll have to pay a $25 application fee and maintain your SR-22 for three years following your license reinstatement date. The form will cover your car only, not any car you drive, as car insurance follows vehicles, not drivers.

How to Find Affordable Insurance

Being a high-risk driver means higher insurance costs necessarily. But there are ways to keep your premiums as low as possible, even with an SR-22.

Take a Defensive Driving Class

Virginia will assign points to your license for various driving offenses, like involuntary manslaughter, driving under the influence, and speeding. Fortunately, the state gives you the opportunity, every two years, to have five points removed from your driving record by taking a defensive driving course.

The class could be court-ordered or optional for those 55 and older (senior drivers). The eight-hour class costs $100. Find a course at

Ask for Discounts

Depending on the insurance company, you may be able to get discounts for:

Ask your insurance agent which discounts apply to you.

Get Minimum Coverage

Even though car insurance isn’t a requirement in Virginia, if you choose to have it or are forced to, you must follow minimum liability limits, which happen to be the cheapest option for coverage. For the most savings, don’t add any additional coverages, and stick to the lowest possible limits, as detailed below.

Raise Your Deductible

If you have collision and comprehensive coverage, which apply to property damages from collisions, theft, vandalism, and other incidents, raise your deductible to lower your premium.


Make sure the deductible is an amount you could afford to pay if you had property damages tomorrow. If you can’t pay your deductible, your insurance provider won’t contribute to your repair or replacement costs.

Try Non-Owner Insurance

What if the state requires you to carry an SR-22 but you don’t own a car? Do you still have to get insurance?

The answer is yes, but one cheap option is non-owner car insurance, which has an average cost of only $438 annually. That is much cheaper than the average annual cost of regular car insurance in Virginia ($846).2 However, prices will be higher if you choose more liability coverage, have a bad driving record, or live in or near a city like Richmond or the Washington, D.C., area.

Get Usage-Based Insurance

Virginia has the 10th-highest average commute time in the U.S. at 26 minutes, according to 2021 U.S. Census data. Yet the state has the sixth-highest rate of people who work from home, 22 percent of the population. Additionally, of the drivers who don’t work remotely, nearly a quarter have a commute less than 15 minutes long.3

If you work from home or have a short commute, consider pay-per-mile, or usage-based, insurance. Strictly pay-per-mile insurance plans will charge you based on your mileage, while some programs also track your driving habits. You can save money if you drive fewer miles than average or if you drive safely, avoiding hard braking, rapid acceleration, and distracted driving.

Does Virginia Require Car Insurance?

Along with New Hampshire, Virginia is one of two states that do not require auto insurance. Of course, that’s not the case if you have to get an SR-22, which is proof you have minimum coverage. In that case, you’d need an insurance policy with the following liability limits.4

Effective dates of the policy Bodily injury liability per person Bodily injury liability per accident Property damage liability per accident
Jan. 1, 2022-Dec. 31, 2024 $30,000 $60,000 $20,000
On or after January 1, 2025 $50,000 $100,000 $25,000


The minimum coverage would apply only to property damages and medical costs of people outside of your vehicle, not you or any of your passengers. We recommend getting more coverage, including medical payments, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage/bodily injury coverage.


Want to learn more about when insurance is required in Virginia? Read our guide to FR-44s, which require higher liability limits compared to SR-22s. Or continue reading our frequently asked questions below to learn more about SR-22s in Virginia.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between an SR-22 and an FR-44 in Virginia?

SR-22s and FR-44s are required for different types of convictions and have different liability limits. FR-44s are for more serious convictions and have double the liability limits of SR-22s.

Specifics of insurance proof required in Virginia by type SR-22 FR-44 SR-22 FR-44
Policy effective date Jan. 1, 2022-Dec. 31, 2024 Jan 1. 2022-Dec. 31, 2024 On or after Jan. 1, 2025 On or after Jan. 1, 2025
Bodily injury per person $30,000 $60,000 $50,000 $100,000
Bodily injury per accident $60,000 $120,000 $100,000 $200,000
Property damage per accident $20,000 $40,000 $25,000 $50,000

Both SR-22 and FR-44 certificates in Virginia will raise your premium, as they designate you as a high-risk driver. You may have more difficulty finding coverage than someone with a clean driving record as a result.

How long do you have to have an FR-44 in Virginia?

Typically, you will have to have an FR-44 for three years in Virginia.

How do I get my SR-22 removed in Virginia?

You cannot get an SR-22 removed in Virginia unless your conviction was overturned or you satisfied a judgment. Rather, you’ll have to wait until your license reinstatement date, typically three years from your conviction date.

How long does a suspended license stay on your record in Virginia?

A suspended license will stay on your record for 11 years, according to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.


  1. Businesses. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. (2023).

  2. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).

  3. Commuting Characteristics by Sex. United States Census. (2023).$0400000

  4. Code of Virginia § 46.2-472. Coverage of owner’s policy. Virginia Law. (2023).