Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: May 17, 2024

Guide to FR-44 Insurance

The FR-44, an alternative to the SR-22 form, is only available in Florida and Virginia.

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

Let’s say you live in Virginia and have been convicted of driving under the influence of drugs. You’ll be required to buy car insurance with twice the minimum coverage amounts the state typically recommends. And in Florida, the requirements are 10 to 30 times higher than the state’s minimum coverage.

That’s because Virginia and Florida require FR-44s, certificates that verify you have a certain level of auto insurance. They differ from SR-22s, which require you to have only the minimum coverage in your state. As you might expect, FR-44s make getting affordable car insurance quite a challenge.

What Is an FR-44?

An FR-44 is a form that proves you have a certain level of car insurance that is higher than the state’s minimum coverage. Only Florida and Virginia require FR-44s for people who have been convicted of serious traffic violations, like a DUI or driving while intoxicated.

Required Coverage

Check out the requirements for car insurance in Florida and Virginia with and without an FR-44.

FR-44 status Florida Virginia
With FR-44 Bodily injury liability per person: $100,000

Bodily injury liability per accident: $300,000

Property damage liability per accident: $50,000

Bodily injury liability per person: $60,000

Bodily injury liability per accident: $120,000

Property damage liability per accident: $40,000

Without FR-44 Property damage liability per accident: $10,000

Personal injury protection: $10,000

Bodily injury liability per person: $30,000

Bodily injury liability per accident: $60,000

Property damage liability per accident: $20,000

Dates effective October 2007–present January 2022–December 2024


Virginia’s liability minimums will increase to $50,000/$100,000/$25,000 on Jan. 1, 2025.

Is an FR-44 Insurance?

An FR-44 form is not the same as a car insurance policy. Rather, it’s proof of insurance, which you’ll need to drive again legally after certain driving-related convictions.

What Is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility?

Another word for an FR-44 or SR-22 form is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility. With this certificate in place, if you cause an accident, you’ll be responsible for the costs of the other party’s injuries and property damages up to the limits the state requires.

Who Needs an FR-44 Form?

Each state requires drivers convicted of serious offenses to carry an FR-44.

Violations That Require FR-44s in Virginia

In Virginia, the state requires an FR-44 for those who have been convicted of the following:

  • Maiming under the influence
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or intoxicants
  • Driving while your license has been forfeited due to a conviction or a ruling of “found not innocent” for a juvenile offense
  • Violating federal law, another state’s law, or a valid local ordinance similar to the above convictions1

Violations That Require FR-44s in Florida

In Florida, FR-44s are required for DUI convictions.2

How Long You’ll Need an FR-44

Typically, you’ll have to carry an FR-44 for three years following your license reinstatement date.

Can You Cancel an FR-44?

You cannot cancel an FR-44 until your requirement period is over. Once the state no longer requires you to have an FR-44, you can contact your insurance provider to let them know your account no longer needs it on file. Your provider will remove it from your policy and your insurance costs will be lower, generally speaking.3

How Much Does an FR-44 Cost?

Filing an FR-44 costs only $15 to $25, but the real financial impact comes from increased auto insurance costs, which we’ll explain below.

FR-44 vs. SR-22

People often compare FR-44s to SR-22 forms, but there are some key differences you should be aware of.

What Is an SR-22?

An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that many states require for drivers with certain convictions. However, SR-22s require you to have only the state’s minimum insurance coverage, not the higher limits imposed by an FR-44.

Who Needs an SR-22?

Here are some examples of the states and cases that would require you to file an SR-22:

  • Georgia: If you’ve had your driver’s license revoked for three to five years and are a habitual violator of the law, you’ll need an SR-22 when you reinstate your license.4
  • North Dakota: You’ll need an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a DUI or have been stopped for a DUI and refused the sobriety test.5
  • Montana: In Montana, you’ll need an SR-22 if you have a revoked driver’s license due to certain felony convictions, including negligent homicide from driving, or if you have gotten 30 or more conviction points within the past three years.6


This list is not exhaustive, but you’ll know if you need an SR-22 because the state will require it as part of your license reinstatement.

FR-44 vs. SR-22: What’s the Difference?

The key difference between FR-44s and SR-22s is that the latter requires you to have the minimum insurance coverage the state mandates for all drivers. FR-44s require you to have higher coverage than usual. Additionally, while many states require SR-22s, only Florida and Virginia require FR-44s, and they are for more serious convictions.

The Cost of Car Insurance With an FR-44

The average cost of car insurance in Florida and Virginia with an FR-44 is much higher than what you’d normally pay. In 2020, the last time the National Association of Insurance Commissioners released data, the average annual cost of car insurance was $1,372 in Florida and only $846 in Virginia.7 But with an FR-44, the average cost was about $3,165 a year in either state, ranging from $1,419 to $4,236.

Do DUIs or DWIs Increase Rates?

DUIs and DWIs increase insurance rates no matter where you live. In fact, in our research on the effects of DUIs on car insurance, we found that DUI convictions raise rates by 80 percent on average. Aside from the obvious safety concerns, consider the financial implications before you attempt to drive under the influence.

How to Submit an FR-44

You won’t actually submit an FR-44 yourself. Your insurance company will do it for you. Just let your insurance agent know you need an FR-44, and they will contact your state’s DMV for you — provided your insurance accepts drivers with FR-44s.

Not all companies cater to high-risk drivers, which includes anyone with an FR-44, so there’s a chance your current provider may drop you as a customer. In that case, you’d need to find a company that will take you on as soon as possible so you can avoid any lapses in coverage.

Companies That File FR-44s

Consider the following companies that accept people requiring FR-44s:

  • Allstate
  • Dairyland
  • Direct Auto
  • Erie
  • Infinity
  • Nationwide
  • Progressive
  • SafeAuto
  • State Farm
  • The General
  • Travelers
  • USAA

How to Find Affordable Insurance With an FR-44

While your insurance rates will be higher with an FR-44 than without, there are ways to keep them as low as possible.

  1. Shop around: First, compare quotes from multiple insurance companies. Getting a car insurance quote won’t affect your credit score, so you can only benefit from shopping the market.
  2. Get discounts: Ask your insurance agent what discounts you qualify for. For example, could you save money by paying for your policy annually as opposed to every six months? There are easy ways to save that you may not be aware of.
  3. Drop coverages you don’t need: While you’ll have to purchase the inflated limits that the FR-44 requires, you can minimize optional coverages, like rental car insurance, roadside assistance, or collision/comprehensive coverage on an older car.
  4. Raise your deductible: As long as you have the money to spend out of pocket on any property damage, raising your deductible could be a good way to lower your rates.
  5. Improve your credit score: If you improve your credit score, you’ll see lower insurance prices in Florida and Virginia.

Can You Get an FR-44 Without a Car?

What if you’re required to file an FR-44 but don’t actually own a car? In this case, the government would still force you to file the form, meaning you’d still need car insurance or, in this case, non-owner car insurance.

Non-Owner FR-44 Insurance

Non-owner insurance covers you when you drive other people’s cars as long as they don’t live in your household. Typically, it includes only liability coverage, meaning it would cover third-party injuries and damages if you caused an accident.


To get coverage of your own injuries and property damage as a non-owner driver, you can add personal injury protection and uninsured motorist coverage to your policy. However, if you want the lowest cost of non-owner insurance, purchase only the coverages the FR-44 requires.


Whether you’ve been convicted of a DUI, DWI, or another driving offense, FR-44s are required for more serious driving offenses in Florida and Virginia. You’ll be required to file an SR-22 for less serious infractions, like driving with a license that was suspended due to a car crash. If you follow the law, you can prevent yourself from injuring others, causing property damage, losing your driver’s license, and paying much higher car insurance rates.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who has the cheapest FR-44 insurance in Florida?

GEICO offers the cheapest FR-44 insurance in Florida, with an average annual cost of only $1,791. That’s only about 30 percent more than the state’s average annual cost of $1,372 in 2020, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

How do I check my FR-44 status in Florida?

Follow these steps to check your FR-44 status in Florida.

  1. Log into the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) myDMV Portal at
  2. The Notice of Suspension will have an FR Sanction number, the first digit of which tells you what kind of sanction you have.
  3. Click the link that matches the first digit of your sanction.

Can you get rid of a DUI in Florida?

No, you cannot get rid of a DUI in Florida.

Can a first-time DUI be dismissed in Florida?

No, a first-time DUI cannot be dismissed in Florida. After a first conviction, you will be imprisoned for a maximum of six months — or, if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .15 or higher or if there was a minor in your vehicle, for a maximum of nine months. The DUI will stay on your record in perpetuity.


  1. SR-22/SR26 Financial Responsibility Certification. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. (2023).

  2. DUI Frequently Asked Questions. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. (2023).

  3. What is an SR-22? Progressive. (2023).

  4. Reinstatement FAQS – No Proof of Insurance (Multiple Convictions). Georgia Department of Motor Services. (2023).

  5. Interim Judiciary Committee Appendix H. North Dakota Department of Transportation. (2013, Dec 11).

  6. Compliance With Montana’s Mandatory Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Law. State of Montana Legislative Audit Division. (2006, Jan).

  7. 2019/2020 Auto Insurance Database Report. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. (2023, Jan).