Find Your Perfect Policy: 866-843-5386

Last updated: October 12, 2023

Guide to High-Risk Car Insurance in Virginia

Twitter brand
Facebook brand
Linkedin brand
Reddit brand
Envelop icon

Did you know that 33 percent of fatal crashes in Virginia in 2020 involved alcohol-impaired driving? Thirty percent involved speeding, 13 percent involved distracted driving, 5 percent involved hit-and-runs, and 2 percent involved drowsy driving, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

All of these behaviors are not only dangerous but can also make you subject to fines and other penalties from authorities. With such violations on your driving record, insurance companies will consider you a high-risk driver, which means you’ll see a higher premium than someone with a clean driving record. Let’s see how much you can expect to pay for car insurance as a high-risk driver in Virginia.

Insurance Rates for High-Risk Category Drivers in Virginia

Check out the average auto insurance rates below for Virginia car insurance as a high-risk driver — whether you have a traffic violation like a speeding ticket or DUI on your record or the state forced you to carry an SR-22 or FR-44.

Average annual cost of car insurance in Virginia by offense Before offense on driving record With offense on driving record Percentage difference
DUI $777 $1,394 79%
SR-22 $663 $783 18%
FR-44 $864 $1,200 39%
Speeding $1,141 $1,397 22%


SR-22s require you to carry the state’s minimum coverage, while FR-44s, which are for more serious violations, require limits double the minimum.

Not every high-risk driver is someone who was caught speeding or driving under the influence. Other high-risk categories include young drivers, drivers with poor credit, and drivers with an at-fault accident on their record. The average cost of auto insurance for high-risk drivers across all companies is always going to be more than it would be for someone with a clean driving record.

Options for High-Risk Drivers Who Can’t Find Coverage

Not every insurance provider will want you as a customer if you have an SR-22 or a DUI on your driving record. That’s why shopping for car insurance with high-risk auto insurance companies that cater to substandard drivers is your best bet. Although your rates will still be inflated compared to someone with a clean driving record, high-risk insurers will provide the most affordable options. 


If you can’t find affordable insurance as a high-risk driver, pay the $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to the state to fulfill your financial responsibility requirement. But note that if you cause an accident, you’ll have to pay for your losses and the other party’s losses out of pocket.

When looking for an insurance company that accepts high-risk customers, get quotes from many providers. The cheapest insurance company for high-risk drivers varies based on factors like ZIP code, gender, and marital status.

How to Lower Your Premium

Even when you’re considered a high-risk driver, there are ways to lower your insurance premium in Virginia.

  1. Bundle home and auto insurance. If you’re one of the 68 percent of Virginia residents who own their home, bundling home and auto insurance can earn you a discount on both policies.1
  2. Pay per mile. Nearly a quarter of Virginia workers have a commute that is less than 15 minutes long. If you’re part of that group, or you’re part of the 22 percent who work from home, use pay-per-mile insurance to reward yourself financially for your low mileage.
  3. Take a defensive driving course. Senior drivers age 55 and older can take a defensive driving course every two years to get five points removed from their driving record. These eight-hour courses cost $100 but could save you even more on your car insurance premium by getting points removed from your record. Find a course near you via
  4. Get minimum coverage. Although Virginia doesn’t require insurance, if you buy it, you’re required to meet certain minimum liability limits. Buying minimum coverage with the limits below is your cheapest option.
Policy effective date Bodily injury per person Bodily injury per accident Property damage per accident
Jan. 1, 2022-Dec. 31, 2024 $30,000 $60,000 $20,000
On or after Jan. 1, 2025 $50,000 $100,000 $25,000

Will You Stay High-Risk Forever?

You will stay a high-risk driver in the eyes of insurance companies only if you continue to have points on your driving record. The number of points you get and how long they stay on your record depend on the severity of the violation.2 See a list of all non-commercial violations in Virginia below.

Violation (excludes commercial violations) Number of points How long they stay on driving record (in years)
Aggressive driving 4 5
Attempting to elude the police 6 3 years for misdemeanor offense, 11 years for felony offense
Authorizing a person suspended for being a habitual offender to drive and/or driving while intoxicated 6 3
Blocking access to a service facility 6 11
Changing course after signaling 3 3
Coasting in neutral 3 3
Disregarding a crossing guard/officer’s signal or a police officer’s signal to stop 4 3
Driving after being declared a habitual offender 6 11
Driving after illegally consuming alcohol (for people under age 21) 6 3
Driving in violation of a restricted license (restrictions related to physical limitation, such as a mechanical control device) 3 3
Driving on a suspended license 6 11
Driving over a fire hose or through a safety zone 3 3
Driving the wrong way on a one-way highway or street 4 3
Driving to the left of a rotary traffic island 4 3
Driving under suspension or revocation before giving proof of financial responsibility, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, driving under the influence of drugs, driving while intoxicated, or driving while intoxicated and maiming 6 11
Driving while your license is revoked for driving while intoxicated – involuntary manslaughter, maiming, or when your license is suspended or revoked, including for DUI 6 11
Driving without lights/excessive lights or driving/riding on a sidewalk 3 3
Emergency vehicle violation – death 6 11
Emergency vehicle violation – injury or property damage 4 5
Evading traffic control device 3 3
Failure to dim headlights 3 3
Failure to drive on the right half of a highway or street, or drive to the right and stop for a police/fire/emergency vehicle 4 3
Failure to give way in favor of overtaking a vehicle or when abreast of another vehicle 3 3
Failure to have license revalidated 3 3
Failure to keep to the right when crossing an intersection or failure to obey highway lane markings 4 3
Failure to obey highway sign 3 3
Failure to obey a lane directional signal or traffic signal 4 3
Failure to obtain a driver’s license 3 3
Failure to signal before moving from a curb or stopping and yielding right of way 4 3
Failure to stop at the scene of a crash – death, injury, or property damage worth $1,000 or more 6 11
Failure to stop at the scene of a crash – property damage only 4 3
Failure to stop at the scene of a crash – unattended property, damage worth over $500 4 11
Failure to stop for a pedestrian, yield right of way, yield to funeral process, or yield when turning left 4 3
Felony offense 6 11
Following too closely 4 3
Impeding traffic by driving too lowly 3 5
Impeding/disrupting a funeral procession 4 3
Improper backing, stopping, or turning 4 3
Improper driving, passing, or passing on the right 3 3
Improper signal 4 3
Improper stopping on a highway, turn including U-turn, or inadequate hazard lights 3 3
Injuring person while racing – felony 6 11
Involuntary manslaughter, including aggravated and alcohol-related manslaughter 6 11
Violating a learner’s permit 3 3
Manslaughter 6 11
Misdemeanor 6 3
No driver’s license – vehicle/motorcycle 3 3
No Virginia driver’s license or license plate for both vehicles and motorcycles 3 3
Operating a motor vehicle while suspended/revoked/restricted with a blood alcohol content of 0.02% or more 4 11
Operating an unsafe vehicle 6 3
Parking without the proper lights displayed 3 3
Passing a stopped school bus (non-reckless), to the left of an approaching vehicle, or when unsafe 4 3
Permitting an unlicensed person to drive 3 3
Reckless driving – driving too fast for conditions, 2 vehicles abreast, or failing to give a proper signal 6 11
Reckless driving – failure to stop before entering a highway 4 11
Reckless driving – faulty brakes/improper control, generally, on parking lots, passing a school bus, railroad crossing, crest of hill, emergency vehicle, or 2 vehicles abreast, racing, speeding 20 mph or more over limit or over 85 mph, or driving with an obstructed view 6 11
Refusing a blood/breath test 6 11
Speeding 1-9 mph above the speed limit posted 3 5
Speeding 10-19 mph above the speed limit posted 4 5
Speeding 20 mph or more above the speed limit posted 6 5
Unauthorized use of crossover on a controlled highway 3 3
Vehicular assault or willful stopping, impeding, or damaging a vehicle 6 11
Violation of left turn on red or right turn on red 3 3
Vulnerable road user, including bodily injury 4 5
Vulnerable road user including death 6 11


Whether you were caught driving without insurance or driving under the influence, having a high-risk designation will cause you to pay an inflated car insurance premium. However, there are ways to lower rates as much as possible, particularly if you use the strategies outlined above. However, if you truly can’t afford car insurance, keep in mind that you can pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to the state, which will satisfy Virginia’s requirement.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the requirements for FR-44 insurance in Virginia?

If you’re required to get an FR-44 in Virginia, you’ll need to get the following coverages and limits.

Required FR-44 coverages and limits by policy effective date Jan. 1, 2022- Dec. 31, 2024 On or after Jan. 1, 2025
Bodily injury per person $60,000 $100,000
Bodily injury per accident $120,000 $200,000
Property damage per accident $40,000 $50,000

How long do you have to carry FR-44 insurance in Virginia?

You have to carry FR-44 insurance for three years in Virginia, typically.

Is Virginia a no-fault state?

No, Virginia is not a no-fault state. It’s an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault party is responsible for the other party’s bodily injury and property damage losses.

Does Virginia have strict or lenient requirements for auto insurance coverage?

Virginia has lenient requirements for auto insurance coverage. It does not require its drivers to carry insurance. Rather, they can pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee instead of buying insurance. If they choose to purchase insurance anyway, the state requires liability coverage only.


  1. Housing Vacancies and Homeownership (CPS/HVS). United States Census. (2023).

  2. Moving Violations and Point Assessments. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. (2023).